Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

No Turning Back

by tgrehawi - Compo Entry

A strange temple of shifting stone... can you find the way?

My very short, very simple, "puzzle" game for compo. I had a lot of trouble coming up with ideas fo the theme (better luck next time), but in the end I'm pretty happy with what I have. Enjoy!

Controls:
Move: WASD
Camera: Q and E

(game hosted on itch.io, source on github.com)
https://twitter.com/tgrehawi
https://tgrehawi.itch.io/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Mood3.92
#96Graphics3.93
#129Overall3.71
#149Fun3.61
#237Theme3.71
#251Innovation3.48
#292Audio3.08
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Goutye says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Your game caught my attention yesterday. So I kept it for later. And today it was a pleasure to play it! Well executed, kinda original, different interpretation than the classic shape shift! I had fun! Good job!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Really nice! Reminds me of Monument Valley :)

mukult says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Very well executed game!

Simple game but effectively done.. nice polish!
Would have loved more levels! It was so much fun solving the puzzles. :)

A333 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Very nice mood and excellent graphics!

Just Tom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Really interesting look into player conveyance;
And it looks really pretty!

The player sometimes feels a little slow, the themeing is great and the name made me go "aaaah!" when I saw it again at the end.

It's so satisfying watching everything move, very chunky :)

M2tias says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Humor?
Such a polished game! Why don't you have more comments here? I love it, it looks, plays and sounds awesome. It's a bit short but the levels are great and there's only 48 hours anyway.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:27pm

I really liked this game. Some of the bigger levels had me wishing it had mouse support (like maybe it could highlight the ground you're selecting and when you click, he starts walking there, and maybe use the right button to pan, and the wheel to zoom [within locked bounds]). -- Overall though, I thought this was awesome. Nice work, man!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Oh, by the way, was there another way to exit, besides ALT + F4 at the end? -- I couldn't figure it out, but ALT+F4 worked for me.

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Congrats, a well done entry! I gave it a high rating.

By the way, you do not need to add the *.pdb files when packing the game for Windows.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:02am

Really nice one! The puzzle is interesting

morrilet says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:47am

Really enjoyed this one. The graphics were simple and elegant, the sounds minimalist yet informative, and the puzzles left you feeling clever. Well done.

Fierceshadow says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:58am

Very good idea, well executed! My team and I came up with something like this while brainstorming initially, but we ended up going for something else.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:18am

Awesome animations. The sound really added to it as well.

guoboism says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:49am

Well polished puzzle game! The puzzle design is neat!
Shape-shift as the changing of environment

pogo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:10pm

I really like the art direction and mood, but the theme was a little lacking. The puzzles weren't particularly challenging, but they all showed off the mechanics you created.
I enjoyed the Monument valley style camera and world.
I tried playing on the controller, which worked but didn't let me rotate the world. This didn't really impact gameplay though.

I hope you continue to work on this game, and I'm eager to play more.

peter_sc says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:25am

Absolutely loved it. Great game.

Atridas says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:17pm

your game reminds us monument Valley.

randomhuman says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Plays well, looks great, very stylish. I would definitely like to play more.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:34pm

just an excellent job - very compelling - you could take this further - great job

Insality says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:55am

ow, great game
This smooth animations of everything make me happy and enjoyed
the game is great itself, good job!

Uson Chen says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:33am

Great level design and great mood! It's pity that too quiet~

Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Get all 80 points
Innovation: 6/10 Fun: 8/10
Theme: 5/10
Graphics: 4/10
Audio: 1/10
Humor: 0/10
Mood: 0/10
Coolness: 7/10
Overall: 31/80
Good Game

GaryS says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:01pm

I thought the moving platforms was a nice enough mechanic on its own, so when the colour switches came into play it was just awesome!
Loved the feel of it, though sometimes wished the character could move faster.
I think this could be made into a really nice full length game. The playable levels are fun, but quite simple - I'd like to play some levels where it's possible to make a mistake that requires a restart, or were taxing enough that you could get stuck for a while.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]