Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from the Dungeon of Snor

by Weeping Rupee - Jam Entry

In Escape from the Dungeon of Snor you play as a young Wizard's apprentice who has locked himself in his master's lab while working late one night. transform into different objects to solve puzzles and gain access to other rooms in the mansion and ultimately find your way to freedom.

CONTROLS:

- Controls change depending on what you are shapeshifted as, but WASD is always for movement and left and right click will interact with the environment.

- Unfortunately, there is only a very limited number of things you can shape shift into. If we had more time we'd have loved to let you turn into everything.

- Tab zooms in and out.

- Space moves through dialogue.




HINT: you do NOT need to be near something you want to shape shift into.





UPDATES:

4/19 - many, many, crash and bug fixes. Making games is hard...
4/20 - Fixed more crashes and added a walkthrough link for those who just want to see the content and dialogue without having to worry about any pesky puzzles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#91Humor(Jam)3.64
#283Mood(Jam)3.44
#301Audio(Jam)3.33
#321Graphics(Jam)3.73
#336Overall(Jam)3.46
#362Theme(Jam)3.58
#479Innovation(Jam)3.13
#523Fun(Jam)3.14

Comments

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Interesting game. A bit too dark though (I mean the lighting.)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:52pm

FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_cursor:

Variable <unknown_object>.<unknown variable>(100003, -2147483648) not set before reading it.
at gml_Object_obj_cursor_Step_0

Clicked on a object in another part of the house.

Great Graphics

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:21pm

It is not Web build, it is Windows .exe file. Misrepresentation(

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Sorry, our mistake. Some bug fixes should be implemented now too :)

starpixie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:50am

Pretty solid entry. Hard in the adventure puzzle way.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:02am

Game crashed but the art and sound and humor were great. Lots of technical issues though

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:18am

I really liked it! Nice combination adventure + puzzle!

2Bit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:20am

Great game. I couldn't finish it since the puzzles were a bit too hard for me but I really enjoyed what I played. Really impressed with the art you were able to get out in the timeframe too.

medidog says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:27am

Really nice graphics and love the house design, I wish it can be more playable, right click did not worked for me in Firefox!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:29am

Okay, the kinks should be mostly ironed out. Get back to us if you find any more but it should be mostly okay.

@ medidog: how did you even open this in firefox? This is not a web based game. It should send you to a downloadable installer for windows..

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:36pm

It's really hard, but it's a very solid game. The graphics, music and humor were all great!

Cowa says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:16pm

The title screen reminds me of FEZ :)
But really nice graphics and atmosphere. Good job!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:39pm

I tried to become the reflective mirror and it errored out. Nice graphics.

williambsm says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Nice adventure story! I like those kind of game

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:12am

@ Aaranos uploading a fix for that crash now. Thanks for the report:)

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:52am

I really liked the art, this was a fun play. Thanks for the submission.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:03am

So very cool. Right click broke for me early on, I'm not sure why, it only worked in the beginning on the first floor. I still thought it was wonderful, the look of it was great, I loved the talking skull and atmosphere of the wizard's lair. Very nicely done.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:09am

Nice! That was well done.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:02am

Reminds me a lot of King's Quest. Great graphics and interesting puzzles.

I really appreciate having a walkthrough for LD games like this--helped when I got stuck.

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:20am

The art i love the fu***** pixel art :D hahaha i like it nice puzzles, nice game good job :D.

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:29am

Very good game. Nice graphics! Congratulations

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:34am

this was great - i loved the style, and you worked the theme in perfectly - great job

d3garcia says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:47am

Excellent work on game maker! you have a very good entry here, tip: on game maker there is an option called synchronization under global game setting, this is to avoid tearing ;)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:16am

Very funny game and FANTASTIC art work!!! Nice concept as well. I love the fact that you provided a walkthough. I also used Game Maker so I was glad to see you did the same!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:01am

Really cool adventure game, good art and sound. Although you would have liked to make it possible to polymorph into anything, I wonder if maybe that would make the game too hard? but then I guess you'd just have to be careful to make the game solvable in more than one way! Sounds like a lot of work! Anyways, great work!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:46am

Don't know what to do..The graphics is very nice.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:09pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Great game, pretty challenging, and more focused on paying attention

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Best bits were definitely the graphics and narrative humour! I found myself laughing more than once. I lost interest pretty quick though when I couldn't figure out what to do, and the noise of the skull talking was hurting my ears.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:47pm

@ QuestionableQUality

Walk thru for those who just wanna see content without the puzzles:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1XGR9y-AlfqKV1kgilnvz3MNW6DoigK0jIt8ag8Kxkhw/edit

MayMakeGame says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Pretty good game. I love how you put shape shifting into it! =3

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Really hard man, but good. =]

Green Soda says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:20am

WOW! the details on everything o_o great graphics man... It's an interesting game... puzzles are hard tho... i'd never progress without the walkthrough haha ... *EATS YOUR PIXELS*

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Yay! Adventure games! A genre not often tackled in LD's.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:08pm

This game is great! Escape-the-room are one of my favorite genres, but the humor and mood on this one made it a new thing for me. Great entry!

Orion Dev says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:35am

Great game man! Really funny and well done :)

pkenney says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:25am

Very nice atmospheric story puzzle game! Looks and sounds really nice and I liked the mood.

I'll report a couple of issues I saw:

I got a crash when got the painting to do something, here's the error:

FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_painting:

Variable obj_player_treasure.fall_speed_max(100025, -2147483648) not set before reading it.
at gml_Object_obj_painting_Step_0


I also was able to glitch up into the bedroom from the starting room by turning into the mouse, running up the left wall, and turning into the guy then clipping through the ceiling.

Issues aside, loved it!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:35am

@pkenney
Thanks for the crash report! We'll get on it asap :)

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:44am

Cool entry, but it's hard to understand which forms you can take

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:27pm

Great entry!

Nice graphics style and gameplay design!
There is a bug that I reflected the bullet but the bullet did not hit the skull... It leads to nothing :(

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:36pm

@ Cliff Lee(CL)

SPOILER:
The bullet/fireball hits the wall to break you out :)

Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Looks like there's a lot going on here, but I couldn't figure out how to open doors. I liked the humour and the idea of shapeshifting into stuff you find, and the fact that it's an adventure type game.

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:41pm

I've only played few games of this genre, so it was very hard for me to get through the game. This entry is very complete. Also, thanks for commenting on my entry.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:41am

This is an enjoyable game overall.

The puzzles were interesting and the house design was pretty cool. The audio, in general, fits the game well and the humor is nice.

I think you're using game maker so one tip is to draw the text from talking in the GUI event so it draws on the bottom of the screen instead of under the character. Use the variables from the views system to figure out the middle of the screen and draw it from there.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:51pm

@ kiesenverseist

thanks for the tip-- actually we used this technique for the tabbed out view (which was originally the only view in the game)

we added a 'zoomed in' view very last minute and decided it looked nicer with the high sprite resolution of some of our artists work. Suddenly, this became the default view because we liked it so much and we simply drew the text to the player object because we knew he would be in the center of the view and at the time we were struggling just to get the game working and figuring out the puzzles-- finding where the actual zoomed in view's center was wasn't a super big priority during crunch time.

Still it would have been nice, eh? Thanks for playing!

Gord10 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Very nice work, I loved the mood.

curtamyth says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:00am

Solid game, great graphics. I had a bit of trouble with the puzzles though, it can be a bit hard to see the keys

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Nice game design,great concepts.its fun

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Pretty solid entry, and I may say I got impressed with the whole amount of cool art you did for it!
Unfortunatelly I checked the walkthrough and found that I should be able to go upstairs as a rat, but I couldn't :/
Still loved the entry, did a really great work!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:22pm

@pixelpotions you need to be human to use doors.

MrMordem says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Nice point and click, good graphics and music,the humor was good as well, the puzzles feel kinda hard to figure out without the walkthrough

yet still solid controls and concept :)

rjhelms says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Great job! This is a really solid "mini" adventure game - good puzzle design, humour, sound and graphics.

My only criticism is that having to react quickly to the bullet at the end felt a bit "cheap" after getting used to being able to experiment at my own pace up until then.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Neat looking game, even though I got stuck pretty quickly.

Skaz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Pretty impressive entry! Lot of arts and sounds here!

Couldn't get to far because of the controls, being on a AZERTY keyboard lead to difficult time.
Suggestion: think about non qwerty keyboards!
What I usually do to get inputs:
key_var = keyboard_check_pressed(ord("A")) or keyboard_check_pressed(ord("Q"))
Or simply use arrow keys over wasd.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:37pm

@ rjhelms

"My only criticism is that having to react quickly to the bullet at the end felt a bit 'cheap' "

Then we've done our job as character designers-- Snor is an asshole :)

TheCain says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Pretty good point-and-click adventure game. My biggest issue with it is that some of the stuff I wasn't aware I could shape-shift into.

blackoptics8 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:18am

XD I really thought that was the ending but I played through it one more time and realized what needed to be done... You may want to put bounds around the top and sides of the attic.
Great entry! c'(^w^c')

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Couldn't make it too the end, but your pixel style is nice!

ReactorScram says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:18pm

I had the cat eat me a couple times and I got to be a fairy which was really cool.

I got stuck after getting the sink water, couldn't find where to use it. It wouldn't put out the furnace nor the candles on the wall. There is a lot detail (like reading material by the toilet) but it's hard to tell how things interact at a glance.

I give it a good rating for graphics and overall. The dialog seemed to advance in random ways regardless of what I was doing at the time.

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:20am

It's a shame you can't shapeshift into more things, but the idea works. The puzzles are very obscure and hard to understand at first, but the idea is still cool!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]