Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SizeBlock

by MrMegawatts - Jam Entry

SizeBlock - simple 2D puzzle-platformer. You need to transform your main character to complete levels. Now it has only 5 levels, simple graphics and dont have music but after LD35 finish, I'll develop my game until normal game.

Game was created using:
-Construct 2
-Photoshop CS6
-Paint (sometimes :D)

Contact:
megawattsco@gmail.com

Thanks for checking my game, good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#435Theme(Jam)3.47
#526Humor(Jam)2.48
#693Audio(Jam)1.98
#784Fun(Jam)2.81
#804Innovation(Jam)2.73
#851Overall(Jam)2.92
#972Mood(Jam)2.34
#1017Graphics(Jam)2.30

Comments

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:15pm

The end screen made me laugh ;-)

jdselsor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:16pm

This game was fun I like the classic puzzle game aspect of the game. I also really love the graphics I feel that they fit the game.

ThaRemo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Neat little game! It could work good as an app. It's a shame it's so short, and it could use some sounds, but the level design is nice

Conk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Fantastic! I felt it was leading up to a really difficult level, which it has plenty of potential for, really looking forward to a longer version, good job!

Thepattybeast says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Cool game, disappointing there is so little content.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Fun little game, but unfortunately is that - very little.

the shape shifting to fit through different games works nicely, but the character alignment and camera movement let it down a little (had to push against a wall to line up the last level).

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:14pm

It's nice, short an simple-I like it. Looking forward to buying the fill version on steam!

MrMegawatts says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:37am

Thanks everyone! Now Im working on new levels, fixing bugs (especially on last level) and fixing camera

unit684 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:51am

Nice little puzzle game. A cool mechanic with a lot of potential for different shapes/sizes.

Mikaza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:58am

Nice :)

dsmeathers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Nice! Well designed, fits the theme, very good progression.

SpareWizard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Very intuitive mechanics.

Dreschler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Nice :D

duskpn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Great, simple game! The concept is great and I loved how you introduced the mechanics slowly and intuitively, so the game is it's own tutorial.

The only thing I suggest is to make the block keep moving when thee arrow keys are held.

See you on Steam!

Togimaro says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:11pm

Really cool gameplay! Simple but efficient!
Unfortunately too short :(

marod says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Nice game!

kleinzach says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Good start to a game. Movement certainly felt awkward at times as it seems you don't actually have a grid which you stick to so the small block would be hard to line up correctly

davor10105 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:18pm

Love it, played a similar game years ago and this takes me back :)

Marc F. says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Nice, I Like =)

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Cool little game! Well made.

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:34pm

lol nice prototype! I hope to see it on Steam soon! :) Levels were simple and funny!

ginger9 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:36pm

In the last level, when I transform to the rectangle and try to get out, it move up a little, which makes it cannot suit the exit. Is that a bug?
And, nice game.

snowyowl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:51pm

I encountered some bugs on the last level - the small rectangle didn't line up right with the grid, and sometimes went through walls.

A nice little game. It could probably use some more complex puzzle elements - I'll be interested to see what you come up with for a longer version.

Reminds me a little of Thomas Was Alone, for the different playable characters who are all rectangles of one kind or another.

stoarch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Great game. Some fx and enemies - it will blow up.

Pecolyte says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:30pm

A successful classic puzzle, well done

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:06am

The game is too small to finish :D .Overall its fun playing it. Nice puzzle game

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:16pm

Cool idea! It's a shame you didn't get time to develop it further; I'm sure the more difficult stages would have been fun.

ajhc says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Fun little game, felt like playing Sokoban, which is good! As others have mentioned, the small rectangle moves the same amount as the standard square I believe, instead of moving the same amount as its' size, meaning it can become out-of-sync with the end goal.

More & more challenging levels are necessary of course, along with audio. To improve the gameplay I think maybe have a "do the level in the perfect number of moves" mechanic, especially when the levels becomoe more complex. Like 'Quell' on mobiles.

Congrats on the nice submission :) Good luck expanding it further!

medidog says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Thought the puzzle mechanic has a lot of potential. There was a bug in level 4 I guess (when we first meet the yellow narrow block), where I go to the destination but it did not register. And then I went out of the collision, and could not get in again. I hope this helps for your fixings, would love to play again when you fix!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:25am

Humor - 5 stars for the last screen)

MrMegawatts says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:35pm

@Pestel Crew XD

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Neat game, very unique idea for a puzzle game. It would have felt a bit better if you could move by just holding the movement key.

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:52am

nice puzzle

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]