Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Heart of the Forest

by hregrin - Jam Entry

EDIT: I wrote a post-mortem on my first LD participation. You can read it here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/04/19/its-dead-jim-a-ld35-post-mortem/

EDIT 2: I added a WebGL version on itch.io! I changed main controls to WASD (instead of ZQSD) but directional arrows still work (or layout change if possible). Also playing it full screen kinda breaks it. I can't embed it here since it's more than 960px in width, but go play it there and come back to tell me what you thought!

The heart of the forest has been corrupted, and you are the one the Spirits chose to cleanse it. Use their powers to fight the corruption!

Heart of the Forest kind of a shmup. There a quite a few missing elements (sound, feedback,...) and a whole lot of incomplete stuff (animation, UI,...) due to time constraints. It is my first released game, and I've had to learn quite a lot on the fly.

But despite its flaws, I am definitely proud to have made it to the end and to be able to present you this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#382Graphics(Jam)3.62
#616Theme(Jam)3.26
#682Overall(Jam)3.09
#686Mood(Jam)2.91
#754Fun(Jam)2.85
#956Innovation(Jam)2.47

Comments

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:08am

Despite its shortcomings you managed to make a beautifully looking game. I would encourage you to continue working on it a little more since some of the missing things shouldn't be too hard to accomplish.

Sound effects can easily be generated with sfxr or downloaded from the web and there is lots of royalty free music available.

It would help to move your character away from her shadow when flying, that should give a good indication of what's happening there.

monaarc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:48am

I agree with the last comment : Beautiful game, nice to play but sometimes confusing !
Just by adding some sound and visual effects when the arrows hit an enemy, when the hero is hurt and just few more details on the animal form (distance to the ground for the eagle, wolf claws more visible)
Continue to work just a little bit on it and it will be very fun ! :D

Citsua says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:53am

Nice little game, even though the shapeshifting felt a bit useless in my opinion (like it wasn't part of the original gameplay). Nice graphics though :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:06am

Very nice little game :)

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:11am

This little girls has to have a good story behind :D

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:13am

I can't help but think you've done a nice job! I would definitely tell you to continue improving the game on your spare time as a bit of sound and a little bit of feedback would greatly improve the experience.

As a few recs, maybe have the character separate from her shadow more when she flies and maybe if that's no bother try a vertical screen? it greatly improves visibility of the upcoming enemies imho

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:20am

The graphics is beautiful, so if the change would last a little longer would be better in my opinion. I like the game and the idea of good work :D.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:58am

This is a beautiful game, I had enjoyed playing it. keep it up =)

VividReality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:10am

I really like the look and animation of you hero!

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Cute little shooter. Didn't really use the Shapeshift much but it was fun.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:51pm

I love the title drawn with a stylus, the writing is lovely. The whole thing is beautiful.

The main character model is cute. What animations that existed were smooth, movement felt good. Controls felt good.

The things I would suggest (feedback on hits primarily) is something you've already identified as something you'd intended to do but ran out of time for. That's good! You should continue to work on this and implement that feedback for the player and sounds. You seem to be aware of what elements make for a good experience for the player, which bodes very well as you learn.

Congratulations on your first game! There's a lot of stuff to be proud of here :) Keep learning, you're gonna do great in the next LD.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Nice and funny game, but it is a bit hard to control

Reisen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:06am

Good job on your first game! Graphics are nice, though the gameplay could use a bit more improvement.

It is hard to control, because the movement feels inertial. Shmups ideally should have no inertia.

Eagle form is too short and feels like an afterthought to the game. In contrast, wolf form is actually useful, because I couldn't dodge bullets properly with that control.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:45am

Nice protagonist and pretty art. Thank you for game!

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Pretty fun game with very nice graphics and animations. I just wish you had time for music and sound effects. Also, I don't know how useful the shape shifting is because I beat the game and didn't even realize that was a game mechanic... Overall though very nice job!

Gyfis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Sound and background music would improve game experience a lot. Try to add some :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Well ignoring the lack of sound and the slightly wonky game-feel :) I really liked the character design and overall art ;) It all had a nice drawn look to it, a bit more Hi-res then most games on Ludum I think :) Keep up the good work!

iossif says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:08pm

a bit more shapeshifting and higher speed may be nice. it felt a bit slow. otherwise nice!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]