Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Goddamn Server

by Nordic Ninja - Compo Entry

You're priest. Something went wrong with your church's server.

Go to the basement and check what happened to novices who was watching for server is up.

Don't be afraid of monsters: they are probably not exist when you don't look at them.

Be afraid of your weapon.

Controls:
* Space — Attack (there's two types of attack, try both of them!)
* A and D / Left and Right — move
* W / Up — jump

Tools:
* Engine: Construct 2 (HTML5)
* Graphics: Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#330Humor2.58
#777Mood2.11
#854Graphics2.15
#886Fun2.29
#915Innovation1.84
#931Theme1.61
#934Overall2.29

Comments

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:51am

Tough! :) some sounds would really help bring this together

liva says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:53am

It's okay.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:15am

I like it, quite challenging!

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:16am

I like the conversation the vampires have and I agree some sounds would have added tons to it. Good Job

vini60 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:18am

Nice little game. Doesn't firt the theme though.

maleero says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:34am

That's one sweet nipple ring saber. I didn't see any shifting in it :(

corupta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:36am

Liked the father drawing. Hard game - kinda. For some reason it actually felt scary.

remmy says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:41am

got to the normal(?) ending :) i didn't quite understand how that other attack is supposed to work and how i should not look at the enemies/be afraid of the sword. There was that bar which sometimes filled a tiny bit, seemingly at random - it pretended me from attacking when enemys jumped on top of me and i still have no clue what its purpose was or how to fill it.

SoulBound says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:43am

Very Challenging and fun.

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:49pm

I liked the theme, humorous

purrpurr says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:52am

This game is brutal! A nicely accurate representation of working in IT as well =p

AngerFork says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:59am

Controls were a bit weird, but loved it otherwise!

Shael says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:00am

A walking animation and some sounds would make the game more enjoyable.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:09am

I had fun playing around with this. Making the jump height vary based on how long the jump button is pressed could make the controls feel a little tighter. Once enemies hit you, they tend to jump right on top of you or move left and right almost at the same speed you move at, which can be a bit frustrating.

I really like the second attack -- it took a while to discover it, but the tension of putting yourself in danger and rapidly pressing attack to hopefully attack in time is really nice.

tomlum says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:02am

Pretty clean solid platformer

Mixer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:21am

Haha, the story behind it was funny. Didn't really get the theme/graphics in the game though.

themadknights says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:54pm

The game is quite good but it lacks of music and sound effects. Try to add a few of them in your next game, it will improve the result :)

ragnta says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Nice game! :) But I missed the shapeshifting :o I think, the vampire killed every time before that :) It's a little bit hard for me :(

pjimmy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Funny, but rough

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Just missing the audio but other than that, it was a cool little game!! It was challenging for sure! Nice work!

denycetm says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:41am

After the first run through I was wondering if my sword grew when I killed a novice. Is that true? I think more feedback on the players current state may be needed.

fauche_j says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:59am

Kind of difficulty. but its really nice .

marmpa says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:56am

Really nice game.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Pretty hard!

terryg says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Funny intro. I was able to find the server, but not the password before I gave up. The sword was fun, and I like how the monsters just disappear into the floor. I didn't see how it fit the theme, maybe if I got further.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:06am

Pretty fun game.

danieldsj says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:39am

The story is hilarious. I liked some of the characters faces, but other graphics were lacking. Good effort.

bentglasstube says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:29pm

It wasn't clear to me how the alternate attack was supposed to work. The game was interesting though and the platforming was pretty well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]