Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Frozen Water Maze

by zoeinfp - Jam Entry

Frozen Water Maze is an unfinished (yet) game made in like ...5 hours a day because of a lack of sleep. The concept is to shapeshift a water element player.

Use the arrows keys and shapeshift using...
-d for droplet shape
-c for cloud shape
-i for ice cube shape

Will you find by yourself wich one is the best for each situation?

Libraries you'll need to play the game
---------------------------------------------------------
Python3 https://www.python.org/download/releases/3.0/
PyGame http://www.pygame.org/download.shtml
PyTMX http://pytmx.readthedocs.org/en/latest/

You'll find it finished asap on our website : http://www.celisoft.com
The celisoft team : @cel_reloaded & @zoe_infp ( Nantes / France )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#362Theme(Jam)3.58
#495Humor(Jam)2.53
#569Audio(Jam)2.75
#819Mood(Jam)2.71
#903Innovation(Jam)2.58
#912Fun(Jam)2.64
#920Graphics(Jam)2.61
#971Overall(Jam)2.75
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

Falak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:10am

We have similiar idea ^^ http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=59201

hugheth says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:31am

The concept looks really good, even an unfinished playable demo would make it easier to rate though

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:51am

Try to finish it. It looks really good ;-)

RoboOggy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:51am

i really enjoyed it man! but like hugheth said, even an unfinished playable demo would have been just a good.

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:24am

Waiting the demo to grade it, it looks cute and interesting

Haighstrom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:12pm

The idea was good and the art looks very nice. It's a shame it's not finished. I'd suggest you put your controls together (like Z,X,C morphs you into the different shapes).

Jerre says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35pm

I really tried to play this, installed all the dependencies etc, but got this:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "fwm_main.py", line 236, in <module>
FWMMain()
File "fwm_main.py", line 32, in __init__
pygame.display.set_icon(pygame.image.load(icon_path))
pygame.error: Couldn't open /assets/ico.png

on mac btw

victorljs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Nice!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Nice game

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Neat concept, looks good!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:59am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

rburema says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Thanks for the comment you left last week. It may seem like a small thing, but it really made my day after struggling with that low level engine the whole three days.

I tried to play your game, but it quickly became apparent that this would require dealing with the mess of half-installed python versions I have on this system ... :-/

The YT video still looks quite impressive for something that has max 15 hrs in it + added sleep deprivation*! :-)
(Also, 'phases' is a nice interpretation of the theme...)

*) I think every LD'er knows how /that/ feels...

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:05am

For 5 hours a day, which would mean... 15 hours of work total, this is great! Those anime eyes are adorable.

zoeinfp says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:04pm

We have work only 2 days on it, so it's 10 hours of work but we are going to make a post jam version. Stay in tune.

gelisam says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:09pm

I couldn't play your game because I couldn't figure out how to install the libraries: pip failed with "cannot import name HTTPSHandler" and I'm not familiar enough with the Python ecosystem to know how to work around this. Why don't you package your game like everyone else?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]