Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Starship Janitor

by studdert249 - Compo Entry

Have a normally most empty ship that has suddenly grown a pesky alien infestation? Then Starship Janitors may just be the company for you!

Using the latest in Transmorferc...Trans..mogrif...Shapeshifting Technology our Janitor Bots humanely and efficiently remove these unwanted pests for a LOW LOW price*



CALL NOW!



*Price determined by magnitude of infestation and will most likely creep into crippling debt situations quickly.



---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Welcome Janitor Bot A418201849-Vt to your new life, we have a contract for you right away! Head to the enclosed location and you will find a ship that requires your services.

As per your training manual* you are equipt with a standard issue Transmogrifier and Stasis Net** to assist you with your work

*Training manual not included

**Any damage to enclosed equipment will be removed from final pay

Controls:

Move: WASD

Shoot Transmogrifier: Left Mouse

Swing Net: Right Mouse



Transform Enemies with the Transmogrifier and capture with the Stasis Net

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tools Used -

Game Engine: Unity
Sprites: Inkscape
The minimal SFX that I scraped together last minute: BFXR

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Edits:

April 18: Hour after submission end, corrected description
April 20: Fixed an issue where a couple of enemies were immune to weapon fire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#311Humor2.65
#459Fun3.14
#560Mood2.78
#593Graphics2.77
#704Overall2.92
#804Innovation2.50
#816Theme2.68

Comments

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:13am

Quite difficult, you die pretty easily, and the enemies respawn slightly too fast, but nice concept

Been says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:29am

A bit of a tough one, couldn't come close to finishing it.

Thoughts on the design. I ended up running away from enemies a lot while I tried to circle around and pick them off, and noticed that they kept bunching together. At one point I had maybe 4 of them taking up the same spot. Also, something to indicate when a small alien is about to change back would be helpful. I often tried to collect one just before it grew back into full size and took a chunk of health off.

Saymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:30am

Nice work !

Drenghel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:36am

Sounds were nice, simple but the "squick" of a captured alien just make me feel good :D
Good controls, easy to play hard to use perfectly. It's somewhat of a challenge to catch two shooting aliens close together because of our low fire rate.

Anyway congratz !

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Very hard, but fun! I did encounter a glitch though where an enemy was invincible near a wall...

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:15am

Simple, but effective. It's so fun to shoot and collect!

Kifuga says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59am

I had to experiment a bit what works best, but then I got it :) Too bad the game is over so fast... would love to have more health. Maybe put a health potion somewhere? Was fun to play! Good work!

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:02am

Fun and surprisingly strategic! You have to think about when to shoot just to delay enemies and when to move in with the net. Graphics and sound were nice and functional although a few animations would have gone a long way. Gameplay was tight!

meek says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Definitely has the fun factor for me! Found mopping up the aliens after shooting them very satisfying.

Also, I didn't expect a boss fight! Nice addition.

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:12pm

The game looks REALLY, REALLY well, plays really well, feels well, and sounds well. The whole game is really good except that I got frustrated with the controls because they were challenging, but I think that's what you were going for and it worked. Overall good game.

madk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:20pm

That was surprisingly difficult. Cool game!

Drusilla says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:16am

Great sound effects. I couldn't get one of the three eyed guys in the room to the left. Bullets just passed right through it.

studdert249 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:39am

Thanks for the support and great feedback so far!

@Drusilla, thanks for the heads up I will go and fix that bug, since collecting all of the enemies is sort of the point of the game having some that cannot sort of breaks it...

Goutye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:20pm

I liked the monster design but pretty easily killed by them >.> (Especially because you have to get nearer to capture them. They respawn at that right moment you try to capture them and you die >.>) Otherwise, nice little game!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Hempuli says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:58pm

The shooting enemies were much harder to avoid than I first anticipated. Good fun!

luquio says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:46am

Needs a little practice or ull die so fast, as my 3 first times haha :)

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:05am

Nice use of graphics and great concept. Needs some tweaking and variations

Skaz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Not as easy at it seems! Great entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]