Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Disarranged

by Sheepolution - Jam Entry

John is depressed. His thoughts are disarranged. How long can he keep this up? Will the depression ever leave him? How will his life take shape? Can he find joy in his life again? But maybe the most important question, who's messing with his stuff?

~ CONTROLS ~
Z, X and C
or J, K, L
or Q, W, E
or A, S, D

F4 to Fullscreen (Only in menu)

~ CREDITS ~
Programmer: Daniël Haazen (Sheepolution)
Artist: Sander Heijnen (Mojosaman)

------------
-WARNING-
------------
Spoilers in the comments, I recommend not reading them till you played the game
------------
-WARNING-
------------



Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.71
Coolness50%
#12Fun(Jam)4.21
#24Audio(Jam)4.18
#31Overall(Jam)4.10
#46Mood(Jam)4.07
#68Innovation(Jam)3.88
#226Theme(Jam)3.74
#257Graphics(Jam)3.85

Comments

kwmx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:06am

It was funny and amazing and the game play was fun. I hope i get to see couch man destroy other stuff

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16pm

A really fun try hard game ! I laughed so loud test it !!!

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16pm

It's COUCH MAN.
I love the song, and the cutscenes are really cool.
It's surprisingly difficult :)

Drury says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:05pm

This game is a hero in everybody's heart.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:06pm

this is just awesome, and the song is so catchy. nice work!!!!

amras0000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Intro had me laughing pretty hard. The camera on the death sequence is also pretty damn effective for mood setting.
I don't know that knocking everything down twice adds much to the game, just made me a bit confused (it didn't seem like things were being persistent and I initially thought I had to knock everything down twice in one go).

Eventually I knocked everything down that I could and the game didn't seem to register my victory. I probably missed something, but I tried punching everywhere I could with no success.

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:20pm

very funny concept, art was sweet!

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:21pm

@amras00000 Ah that's too bad. You probably missed the pan, apple or glass in the kitchen, or the shelf in the living room. I should've made those more clear.

Muciojad says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Hahah this is really good shit xD Now I can tell my mother who is messing in my room, thanks guys!

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Best game I have played thus far. Amazing! Thank you for this!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Wonderful! I laughed out loud at the premise and the couchman song. The discrepancy between the overall atmosphere and the couch action is a fantastic touch.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:33pm

I laughed my ass off for at least 10 minutes xD Love the game 10/10

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Amazingly amazing fun!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:15am

That was hilarious and unexpected. COUCH MAN!!

TheCain says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:49am

Very funny.

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:09am

Holy shit, this game had me rage quit a lot :D But I'm very proud I didn't give up and won in the end :)

Awesome game! Absolutely hilarious and also looking & sound pretty good!

It's hard as hell though, holy shit :D

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:59am

This game made my day! Brilliant humor!

Pibeex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Funniest game ever! The couch man song is hilarious!!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:51pm

This game made me laugh out loud! Very funny concept.

g12345 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:31pm

That was so unexpected and still very funny.

Like it a lot.

There were some minor nitpicks, but nothing really major.

As for the couch song... Nice song when played in moderate portions.

euske says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:15pm

OMG I HAVE TO GET RID OF MY COUCH NOW

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Wow! Awesome game! Really enjoyed it! Didn't get to the end, might try again later :)

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:39pm

It was very funny, the falling animation was hilarious. I think gameplay wise it wasn't the best thing you've come up with but I also realise that wasn't really the point, it was just a fun project with a mate. In that, you've succeeded very well. The "soundtrack" is great too.

Only think I would've changed is making the kitchen more destructable or not making it so it was salt and pepper or whatever, really small things you had to destroy, first time I went in there I couldn't tell what I had to kill at all.

Think you might be a contender for the humour medal.

Nice one.

Hyden says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Omg that was hilarious.

Obvious_San says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:17pm

COUCH MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN

Husky says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:34am

Top marked for humor lol!

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:03am

It was a really fun way to see this theme. Good job!

ginger9 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:55am

AMAZING FUNNY game :D

abuzreq says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:05am

Hilarious lol !
I couldn't punch everything twice so I dunno how it ends but hopefully the man won't suicide thinking that even his apartment is against him now :P because that would make me (even as a couch) feel extremely sorry

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:15am

COUCH MANNN

Nice job, this was hilarious! The music when you're up and about is brilliant!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:22am

Very good game! But it was hard for me to broke all items in the kitchen - it has too small items. But finally I succeed! =)

reckhou says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:09am

LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:50am

I came back to this game and finally beat it! This is definitely my favorite game so far! Loved it!

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Hahaha i did NOT see that coming, amazing! That music!

Naca says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:38pm

I don't know how to play it in Linux, could you tell me what I have to do or install?

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Don't need to tell you how awesome this game is! You already know it!

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Surprisingly entertaining :)

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:55pm

@Naca: Oh sorry, forgot to add an explanation about that, but you need to install LÖVE to play it on Linux.

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:49pm

So this is was quite the experience. I went into it expecting a deep game about depression and got Couch Man: Saviour of the Universe. Nothing much to say other than 10/10, best game.

Naca says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:44pm

I finally managed to play it, and you guys have made a fantastic game! To play something that makes you laugh simply saves your day. What else do we need? Unexpected laugh is always the best gift, so thank you :)

Solid graphics and gameplay, excellent mood, a top 10 mega-hit song, tons of fun and the surprise factor makes this little piece a complete experience for me, it's all I could ask for in a LD game. Congratulations, 5/5.

IT IS COUCHMAAAAAAAAN!!!!!

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:15pm

Very funny :)

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:31pm

I pretty much loved everything about this! Couch-man's theme song is amazing. Kinda hard but it only took a few tries to get to wreck everything around me :D

blinry says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Hahahah, loved the cutscenes and especially the song!! Really, really well done! Tried about five times to finish it, but always was seen :-(

Interface says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:38am

Fantastic entry. I finally almost got to destroy everything but failed right at the end :-( Will have to come back to try and see the ending. The kitchen is tough.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:03am

Just because you're a chair this game needs to be president.

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Very funny, well made overall, I just wish it wasn't so painful to knock off all the items.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Was totally expecting something really serious from that splash screen but instead I got to revel in the glory that is CouchMan :V (Also the stuff in the kitchen is ridiculously hard to hit)

Ildfuglen says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:52pm

That was really funny.. :D

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:58pm

What a twisted plot, very funny indeed

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Caught me completely off guard, funniest entry I've played yet, in any Ludum Dare! Great little stealth game with a really humorous premise.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:04pm

Dude this is hella funny game nice job :D
I'm gonna die watching how the couch gets caught LOL

datadazer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Couch man is a hero. His depressed owner is such a Lazy Boy. Depression is a serious issue, and my Uncushioned opinion is that Couch man suffers a much more Deep-Seated issue. Why Chaise your dreams, when your lack of identity is just Stuffed?

Hilarious game! So much fun!
5/5 Would have awkward stare down again.

blubberquark says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:15am

The reveal had me in stitches! It looks like it is a PSA about a Serious Problem and then that! Best mood, best humor!

But why do you jump?

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:45am

@blubberquark
To hit the shelf and the stuff on the kitchentable

dvdagames says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:48pm

That was definitely not what I was expecting, but it was a pleasant surprise, as was the "Couch Man" theme song.

It was far more difficult than I expected.

Overall, definitely a unique entry.

Mantlair says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Ahahaha. Can't stop laughing come on. Man, we need a "Couch Man: The Movie". I would make a funny poster if i had time B). Game is pretty complete. You can make a long scenario about it like couch is a family antique and whoever gets this loses his/her stuff. Just awesome haha.

Farelle says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:18am

lol I expected a game about depression and what I got was a hilarious game with a hilarious song :P Congratulations :)

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Five stars for humor is not enough, there are tears coming out from laughing so hard. thanks for that.

guoboism says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:48am

Funny game!

Uson Chen says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:06am

5-star fun and humor! Makes me crazy but very enjoyable!!

tomlum says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:20am

Easiest 5 stars I've given in my life. Not only hilarious but absolutely beautifully executed visually. You have a fantastic voice in games. (also props from a fellow löve dev!)

Green Soda says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:38am

I was having the feels... until i pressed the key, now im smiling the whole time playing the game HAHAHAHA

curtamyth says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:47am

I think this might be the only 5 stars for humor I've given so far. Funny game :)

SUNFURY says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:20am

That song was so awesome

dcolgan says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:04am

This is great. I love everything about it. It is really hard too. I had a heck of time trying to get that pot knocked over. I jumped around every where bu just could not get it the second time. I also thought you just needed to get the stuff in the center room. That took me enough times. The song is shocking and funny too. I loved it.

thebrainfuse says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:37am

Awesome game! This is what game jams are for... the wackiest ideas realized!

BSODDevTeam says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Delightful story about chair and depression! 10/10

peter_sc says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:36pm

That song though!

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:53pm

Super funny game, I laughed out loud with the ending cinematic. Really well-done entry, good job! :-)

P.D.: Audio was fantastic hahaha

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:05am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Sheepolution says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:52pm

@Marlus
Yeah sure, go ahead!

SoKette says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:05pm

This is amazing. COUUUUCHH MAAAAN !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]