Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Breaking Fat

by SantiHisteria - Jam Entry

"Fight against evil doctor to break the curse and get back your original body!! If doctor's minions touch you, you'll be one of them and you'll be much slower in this moment... but not all is lost... you must find the gold key to scape."

Designed and programmed by Santi Andrade (@SantiHisteria | https://histeriagamedev.wordpress.com)

Engine: Unity 5.3

Controls:
[Left/Right] arrows to move.
[Space] key to jump.
[Up] arrow to enter in a door.

**************************************************************

Special thanks to all the authors who donate their work (free licenses) and have allowed me to create the graphics and sound of the game. They are:

Rosswet Mobile - http://rosswet.com/wp/
z11z11 - http://opengameart.org/users/z11z11
PWL - http://opengameart.org/users/pwl
Nicolas Bougère - www.z-uo.com
sithoius - http://opengameart.org/users/sithoius
Buch - http://blog-buch.rhcloud.com
Alexandr Zhelanov - https://soundcloud.com/alexandr-zhelanov
killyoverdrive - http://opengameart.org/users/killyoverdrive
remaxim - http://opengameart.org/users/remaxim
RevampedPRO - http://opengameart.org/users/revampedpro
Luke.RUSTLTD - http://rustltd.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#179Humor(Jam)3.33
#186Theme(Jam)3.80
#339Mood(Jam)3.36
#431Overall(Jam)3.35
#544Fun(Jam)3.12
#650Innovation(Jam)2.93

Comments

peter_szegedi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:15am

Cool graphics and mood, a bit too slow and the easy mode was way too hard to me (but I'm super casual ;)).

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:09am

Nice graphics but the movements are a little bit too slow.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:21pm

Thanks for your feedbacks! I wanted to slightly increase the level of difficulty for make feel the player that have to meet a challenge. Anyway I will annotate all your comments to make the game better in the future :) Thanks!

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:12pm

It's cool that you have a story, but I think the game is a bit slow. But good work!

marod says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Épica la intro, me ha gustado. Aunque he jugado en Easy y me ha parecido jodido... en hard no quiero ni imaginarmelo. Y los gráficos muy chulos.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:31am

nice graphics - move for the dudes was too slow - it was fun - nice job

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:28am

Thank you for play my game!! :)

I report that the slow moves when we touch a enemy is precisely the handicap, it's the difficulty of the game. In the future I want to create more enemies with different handicaps and make more levels designed for make use of this handicaps.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59am

Sadly controls prevented much enjoyement. Concept seemed interesting but spamming spacebar like a crazy person didn't :/

davidkanc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20am

El arte y el humor muy muy buenos. Eso si, jodido de la ostia. Tenia la esperanza que se guardara al menos el nivel pasado pero tras morir en el segundo y tener que pasar el primero he desistido xD. Felicidades!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:29am

Gracias por tu feedback @davidkanc! Parece que me he pasao un poco con la dificultad, sí :P Fíjate que para mí no es tan difícil el juego... pero supongo que tiene algo que ver el hecho de que yo sea el desarrollador xD

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:53am

The controls are hard, maybe you should have enabled parameters so we could test the game a bit more efficiently ! but I love the graphics, the skelettons and ghost look so funny

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:50am

Wonderfull! The history, the gameplay (the skeletons are too heavy but its ok) Nice work!

PulsorHD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Really nice visuals, fun music, for me the problem was the slowness of the flying monster, but that's just my style, so it's not your fault, I liked the game a lot.

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:11pm

Good game, though even the easy mode was too hard for me!

esayitch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Liked the concept of shifting to whatever enemy you touch, but the movement felt sluggish. I guess that is part of the challenge though so no complaints there :)

Something that can be improved IMo is the hitboxes, they feel too big - my character is not touching the skeleton, but it suffers a hit and changes to the skeleton :(

Overall cool entry, good luck!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:16pm

The intro is GREAT, lol! Graphics feels nice to.

Movements in enemy forms are a a bii too slow in my opinion.
Also, it's 2 hard 4 me even on easy mode. :c If you like it to be so had, at least make a checkpoint at a start of every level.

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:32pm

It's pretty hardcore on easy mode and there is a danger that the player might get frustrated very early on the game, but the concept is really cool! A little bit of balancing would make it even better! :)
I like the graphics and music as well. Good mood.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Nice graphics and level design.
I also loved the epic intro with that sense of humour.. Great work!

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:38pm

I really do like the concept of when you die, you not only lose health, but also turn into your enemy.

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:39pm

It has a fucking awesome intro, but what happens with the evil doctor, haha I need to accomplish my vengeance... Good joob. It's a bit difficult, but is right :)

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Thanks for all your feedback!! I really appreciate it and all opinions will be taken into account to improve the game in the future.

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:16pm

I really like the intro and the game is very fun!
But the progress should be saved to finish a level...

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Really funny intro, but the actual gameplay is hard as hell xD Even in the easy mode.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Gran intro y ambientación, pero muy difícil, si se moviera algo más rapido, más fluido, acostaría menos llegar donde te has quedado atascado, el espacio debería hacerte volar algo más y sería perfecto.

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:16pm

I spend 5 minutes to realice the door closes again when you transform back in the way to exit.

Nice intro !

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:39am

Nice visuals and gameplay! Good sounds and music for the style of the game.

kallotec says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:31am

Awesome intro! And fun game :-) great job!

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:06am

I like the attention to detail in the graphics, specifically the flying monsters in the background, it was a nice little touch that many would usually ignore. Gameplay wise it was pretty tough, especially with the flap bird flying guys, but I enjoyed it, good job!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:41am

Fun game, I enjoyed both levels.

seveca95 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:04pm

La música y el arte molan, pero me parece que le falta dinamismo a los movimientos, como por ejemplo a la bola voladora que parece ir lenta y subo muy poco. PD:soy un manco :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Nice gameplay and idea, really good game.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Funny platofrmer game about limited mutations with pretty pixel art graphics and epic music.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Funny concept and writing. Art and audio were also really good. The game was fun but it was also frustrating to have to go back and get the key if I bumped an enemy. Cool intro cinematic.

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Cool game! The art style is very cool too I think it was a little hard.

Udell Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:06pm

I loved the graphics and the story, but the intro was waaay too slow. I also found it quite difficult to move around once I'd transformed, and the player seemed to have very low horizontal movement speed considering how high they could jump, which made it feel kinda sluggish.

Nicely polished, and felt like a real game.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:51pm

It was a bit too hard for me (which is funny because I also made a platformer that is too hard!). Anyway I really liked the intro and the idea in general, I think it was quite a unique idea to lose health and turn into the enemies. You can probably do a lot with that idea, like maybe there are different solutions to levels depending on which order you touch the enemies

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Liked the graphics, the concept and the music really takes you to the action. The intro is amazing...

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Doctor... Changing my metabolism... I'm dead xD great game

Roland M says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Good graphics but yeah it was to slow and and really hard for me couldn't pass level 2

midgard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Cool graphics and mood but the intro was too long and uninteresting. Also I didn't like spamming spacebar so much, but overall good game

buen curro!!!

clementd says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:43am

So much epicness in the intro. Graphics and music are nice, but your not rated on those. It's not an easy game but the fun, humor, the theme are here !

teamross says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Cool mood and concept, i enjoyed a lot.
Sometimes the controls worked a bit weird, but overall nice entry!

samlo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:39pm

I really liked the art/sound/overall concept, but having to go back to the utter beginning of the game because of a missed jump felt a little harsh. I wish either there was an unlimited number of body changes/mutations (making that the health bar discourages people using your cool mutation system!) or that the game had checkpoints per level. Overall that was a really funny, well put together game though! nice job

macronoid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Dude, the game's sooo hard xD. I like the feel of the walking fellas but I think the controls of the flying dudes are somewhat broken.

Also, considering this is a game for a Jam where the people aren't willing to grant your game a lot of time (specially if it's this hard :P), I would let the player restart the level insted of starting all over. I beat it, though ;)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Great game! Loved that intro! I think it would be better to have checkpoints in the future updates of the game when it will grow because dying and starting from the first level isn't very pleasant. Anyways, notify us if you update your game cause I can't wait to get my niceass body back and kill the doctor lol

pzeronow says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Was at the door of the first level trying to go through it after I got the key but I was totally unable to open it and got a gameover after the time ran out. I tried 'Enter', 'E', 'F', 'Space' but none seemed to do the trick :( I really liked the game mechanics and usage of the theme.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Hehe, funny backstory! I found the controls a little clunky, and it was annoying to get back to the difficulty select screen every time I died.
Nice interpretation of the theme! :)

JoseArias says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Muy buen juego! Muy pulido y añadiendo mas personajes se pueden hacer puzzles muy interesantes! Gran trabajo!

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Some background and levels made me think about Flashback, overall really great and fun, but too slow, even if you wanted to make it like that because of the "Fat" ^^

Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:28pm

One of my fav' entries so far ! The intro is especially great, the game is eye-candy and I enjoyed the Level Design. Nice job on all categories.

pjimmy says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:54am

Nice, fun game, cool visuals, you should include a life meter to avoid repelling your players from the instant game over screen

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:24am

A nice little game that has some good ideas behind it. I found the movement a little slow, and the flying mechanic was kinda wonky to me. Even on easy I struggled hard.

StaNov says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:45am

Where is the graphics category to rate? I would appreciate some checkpoints. Or at least restarting current level on death. Now it puts me to the very beginning...

Nice game anyway :)

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:17am

Nice one! A bit hard but cool.
Graphics are nice, however, would have been better to get all sprites from a single artist instead of mixing a lot

martymon says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:52am

great graphics and EPIC intro! I liked the whole shape shift/lives mechanic thing you got going. I didn't find easy too difficult.I finished it on my 3rd go.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Amazing intro, so the contrast to the gameplay made this unintentionally funny.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:34pm

I really like the idea of turning into one of the enemies whenever you touch them (of course, in my own game you become a tile!). My suggestion is that, if you intend to expand this game, you could think of another consequence for shapeshifting too much instead of just dying. For example: if the character touches too much two different enemies, he will become a mix of them both, with fuzzy controls and stuff.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:01pm

RAD!
Cool artwork, nice use of the theme, and nice music!
Well done!

JefePapaya says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Awesome entry.
Really good and polished game. The only thing I miss is being able to start over at the farthest level you got.

Kudos.

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:23am

It was way too hard
When I realized that when I die it starts from level 1 I gave up :(

Nice Intro and idea!

curtamyth says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:59am

Took a few tries but this was pretty fun! I wished for more levels but I understand the time constraints and all things considered this was a good jam game.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:05am

awesome mood and graphics... especially the animation and UX design... the game however, is not noob friendly but i managed to go through the steep difficulty curve... :)

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:30am

Not all that hard, really. As soon as you figure out the level's puzzle, it's quite easy.

Even if you did only use free/open assets, I few like you could have chosen ones with a more unified look.

The main mechanic is interesting, and could potentially lead to fun levels. However, the game didn't play well... The player jump was too high but too short, flying with the ghost felt weird (instead of as if the creature was actually flapping its wings)...

All in all, it was a nice entry, specially for your first time. :)

Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:53am

Easy mode is pretty hard, it's tough to avoid enemies, particularly with the bouncy flight if you end up accidentally hitting a ghost. Took me a while to figure out that I could fly with the fat ghost by hitting space fast enough, I thought it just had a very low jump at first.

I did manage to get to the 2nd level once, but died pretty quickly and did not manage to finish the first level again.

That said, the intro was pretty cute. I liked the idea of having to deal with the abilities of the transforms rather than them being strictly voluntary, and it was an interesting health mechanic. You could even choose to sacrifice a "hitpoint" to get a particular ability if you wanted to, which is a neat idea.

I think my favorite little detail was the smaller/faded monsters in the background.

Nice entry! :)

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Nice game ! Good music !

mikedirl says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:26am

Great graphics, and the intro was really enjoyable. I liked the mood of the game. It was very difficult though.

bazkur98 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:32pm

Not too bad! Intro was exceptionally nice but perhaps a bit long (yes I know I could skip it). It was a bit difficult, but otherwise fun.

jordgubben says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Very neat intro. Really digging the backgrounds.

3rdChance says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:45pm

The intro makes it interesting. I like the idea and gameplay, sometimes a bit too hard.=) The ingame music could be better.

graebor says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Nice graphics and audio, found it pretty difficult even on easy mode :)

Gord10 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Very nice work! It would be perfect if it was easier. And restarting is kinda hard, we died a lot.

May 1, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Sadly, it's too short! I wanted to keep playing and destroy the evil doctor! The game was too easy when I discovered how to fly when converted to one of those flying creatures.

LeReveur says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I really like the mood of this game, you should make more levels and try to sell it ! :)

PinkIndian says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:50am

The intro was amazing. Nicely done! And good thing you added the timer, because without it the game would had been too easy. Good example of how a small element can make a big difference.

May 5, 2016 @ 9:40am

I got scare by the intro. Great intro and awesome graphic. The movement is a bit slow but overall cool game!

APantaloni says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:52am

The morphing into an enemy idea is cool and it's well done. Having to restart from the first level is a little frustrating. Enjoyable entry!

ragnta says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Nice game :) , but a little bit slow, and hard for me :(

oparisy says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Nice classical platformer, liked the graphics, cool music too. Didn't have the patience to get past the second level though: I would have liked some kind of checkpoint to avoid redoing everything each time.

retrograze says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:35am

Wasn't bad. I liked how smooth the platforming was, and the animations were all nice. The story is something you really don't see in a lot of LD games, and it's a nice touch of humor.

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:38am

I loved the intro. The music. The dialogue. Really great. Other than that though, there were only two levels. I beat it on hard first, then easy just to check there weren't any hidden levels.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:29pm

This is pretty challenging, losing the key after you get hit is really frustrating, and you might as well just restart if you hit a skeleton at any point. I did make it through the first level eventually and the second one was more enjoyable to me, felt more like it had a puzzle element to it. Would've liked to see it expanded, the idea definitely has potential. Nice work!

mandrjam says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Cool concept, only thing that bugged me is that the hitboxes on some of the enemies seem to large(or the player?)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]