Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite Vertices

by CoderCameron - Compo Entry

#LDJAM This is a short, minimalist platformer where you play as a shape, who needs to find his lover. Unfortunately every jump he makes he looses a vertex, thus once he is a triangle he cannot jump, or else he will cease to exist.



Some information for you note. This game was made in 48 hours (More like 18 hours) In C++. With a game engine that I made, and have never tested. Expect bugs and crashes. But at least maybe an interesting story. (Though I doubt it, because I think this is one of the worst game I have ever made).

Enjoy :(

---------------------

Made by Cameron bell, age 14, 2016.

Software:

Visual Studio Desktop Express 2013
Adobe Photoshop CC
Ableton live 8

Font used: Raleway

---------------------

Instructions:

Use left and right arrows, to rotate the player
Use down arrow to move faster, and fall faster
Up arrow to jump.

---------------------

If the game doesn't run, or crashes, I apologise but please do not rate.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#13Theme4.36
#16Mood4.13
#28Overall4.03
#41Audio3.89
#103Humor3.32
#135Innovation3.74
#142Fun3.62
#149Graphics3.76

Comments

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:14am

Wow that looks really interesting champ!

TheCain says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:32am

I liked it. Reminded me of The Pretentious Game. I think after the 0 dimensional screen it should have a special game over message, instead of the regular one.

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:43am

Oh okay thanks, Too late to implement, but good idea. And good eye, because I actually played The Pretentious Game the night before, so it must have influenced me.

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:00am

Actually I did make that change. Thank you for the suggestion.

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46am

Nice job! I had seen in a post of yours somewhere that you were my age, so I made sure to come and check out whatever game you made soon. It's definitely a cool game. And far more thoughtful than anything I'd come up with for LD. :D

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:54am

Wow thanks man, that means a lot. I wasn't very confident about the idea when I first started making the game, But I guess it turned out not so bad

XAND says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59am

That was awesome. Great work. :)

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59am

I was jumping a lot at the beginning and was wondering why I kept dying

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:01am

Wow!! Good entry!!

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:07am

Thanks everyone!

undefinist says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:08am

Very interesting take on the theme! Like the music as well

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:13am

QuesxD I think I should have put in instructions, but oh well!

Dia6lo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:14am

Great narration, dude! But it was quite tediously to restart the game when I took any wrong jumps.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16am

It's crashing on my even after downloading the fix version from itch. Pretty fun and smooth up until then though. Nice work!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:20am

WOW. This was an incredible experience. 10/10

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:30am

Nice! I liked this game, great idea and cool game! 10/10

iendsl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:13am

Cool game. I love the words changing in real time and the shapeshift worked really well. The graphics are nice, minimalist. The game seems to require a perfect run in order to beat, which is frustrating and I think the narrative feels a little shallow. Really great though i am going to go again for beating it when im a little less sleepy!

Membrane says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:47am

Whoa. That was wonderful! Fours and fives only :)

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:10am

Nice concept and game does what it's supposed to from start to finish.
Strangely enough, these simple graphics and narrative put on a very nicely melancholic mood to it and that's what I like the most about it (weird).

Nice entry, thanks.

TheCain says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:39pm

More impressive still that you made the engine from scratch

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:27am

Thanks :)

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:28pm

I love it! Awesome changing title texts, I'm gonna steal that sometime :P Good music, too!

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:06am

Great game, really liked the mood and use of the theme =)

cabezotta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:27am

I really enjoyed this one! I felt something more than just fun for playing. It was the only game i've played so far with a "deep" meaning.. i think is cool that you could make something like that in so little time, no just the game itself, but the larger concept that this game has. Awesome job!

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:29am

Hmm, thought might be able to reach the end...

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:26am

Haha yes, I cant believe you guys like it. I was worried that the mechanics and story wouldn't be clear, but apparently it worked. :)

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:17am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:28am

Gladly! That would be really great Freank.

sndr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:27pm

I really love the core game mechanic. Simple, but leads to complexity at the same time. It's very elegant :)
The aesthetics are very neat and suit the theme perfectly. Nice entry!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Loved it! 5/5

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Great idea, very criative and well executed! The graphic style fits well, the music are really cool, and the mechanic is the bomb! Well done!

Alphish says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:55am

Gaaah, what's up with you people, making depressing platformers about love. You could make it not depressing, not a platformer or not about love, and yet... >.<

Eh, that aside, the game has rather interesting concept, and fits rather well with the theme of sacrifice and such, but I'd have really preferred, if, you know, I could actually reach the end with the rest of my strength. As it is now, it's all too futile, and I don't really like futility... that's just too bad. Especially since the soundtrack was pretty cool, too, and the rest of the game was solid, it's the needlessly depressing ending that spoils the thing for me.

FiSilva says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:06pm

I liked this concept, great idea and nice ending. Also nice audio.

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Really liked the mood of the narrative, the simple look and the audio (plus the concept was awesome). But I kept finding weird bugs and at some point my game reseted for apparently no reason :-/

CoderCameron says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:26am

Sorry, I have a memory leak in my code. I made the engine entirely for LD35 and made it from scratch in CPP. SO there are a few problems

MegaBrutal says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:54am

Windows-only – not rated.

avinashd says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:57am

I absolutely love how the story and gameplay are so tightly coupled together; low-vertex shapes are clumsier and every jump makes you weaker. And I'm definitely not scoring you low on graphics, because it has all it needs to work well.

The automatically changing text is a really nice touch, bonus points :)

I had this game on my waiting list but never got around to it. Phew, didn't expect to do a review with 3 minutes left :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]