Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Shape

by stormouse - Jam Entry

You are that circle. You can't fight back, unless you shift your shape.
[Keys]
W,A,S,D to move. Mouse to aim and shoot.
[Shape]
Circle: Click on other guy and you take his shape.
Triangle: Shoot some small triangles!
Square: You have 4-direction laser spears which give huge damage to others.
Hexagon: You have 8 shock wave grenades.
[Level]
Level 1: Deal with triangles!
Level 2: Survive!


PS:
I'm sorry that I couldn't be fully devoted to developing this game in the past 3 days for some reason.
This game is plain forward and kind of boring (yes it is)now. In the later period of development I got some wonderful ideas about the level, but I didn't finish the AI part. If you like this game, haha maybe someday those levels would come out.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#265Fun(Jam)3.44
#268Theme(Jam)3.69
#435Innovation(Jam)3.19
#697Overall(Jam)3.06
#1979Coolness24%

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:49pm

This is actually a pretty fun and unique take on the "bullet hell" game genre. The gameplay is hectic and chaotic, which adds to the fun- overall, I enjoyed it a lot and I think that it's a great game. I have no clue what you're talking about in the description with the AI, since even though the AI shapes hit each other (which adds to the chaos and fun) they all function well.
Picking a shape is a little bit stressful, but not too bad-

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:25am

Nice game!

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:41am

its realy good game

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:30am

Very nice and fun game!

JNI says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Really nice game idea and execution!

davor10105 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:27pm

the game is really cool

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:49pm

:o Hard second level. >.< Good sound and challenge. :D Nice concept.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Not sure if it was just me, but I had a lot of trouble clicking properly. Most of the time the clicks did nothing...
Still, not a bad game at all! Great work!

May 6, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Not bad! High score: 111.

I like the idea of emulating your enemies mid-combat.

There are some complaints, but they mostly relate to how stuff appears on the screen. One thing I would want to see is some kind of system that shows where enemies are going to stop and start using their attacks. Also, it's hard to tell when a bomb's hit you or not. A visual indication on the enemies of when they've been damaged would be nice too. Maybe show little cracks and things on their shapes?

Now, bugs: the square thing's OP most of the time, as long as the lasers actually hit. Sometimes they don't seem to have any effect. Also, the timing on the hexagon grenades is weird, or maybe there's a bug with firing them. Hard to say, since you don't get it for very long, and things are always really hectic when you finally see one.

I think this could made into a full release pretty easily. Make the graphics and sounds better, and add some other abilities for the different shapes to give them a different feel. For example, the square and hexagon forms might give you bonus points if you kill multiple enemies with one attack. I'd also make it so the Hexagon has a certain number of shots rather than being based on a countdown like the others, and you increase the number of shots you get by killing enemies. Maybe introduce some enemies you can't morph into, so players have to be careful about killing their "ammo."

And that's just a few of the things you can do with this concept. Good thinking!

stormouse says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 4:18am

Thank you very much @thegoofromspace! I'll try add something more to this later :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]