Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

shapescalation

by ploerre - Jam Entry

SHAPESCALATION is a 3D 3rdPerson Puzzle.

You are a basic Rectangle Character, or a Circle or a Cross.
Some of your enemies are friends. If you contact them, you become their color and shape.
But some are not. Don't run into the wrong enemies!
Watch the crowd first how to solve the level.

The Gameplay is fast and short. You can solve all 13 Levels in 5 Minutes.

I will make more Levels in future releases.

Enjoy!


****** game controls ******

Move: WASD or Arrows
Jump: Space
Pause: Escape



****** about me ******

Hi, i'm pete, this is my first LD entry.

I planned to do it for the Compo Discipline in 48h but run out of time.
Anyway for me this was compo mode, i did all the assets, audio and scripting from scratch.
I worked finally 50 hours on this game except sleeping and eating time.
Tools: Unity, Cinema4D, Beepbox, BFXR



****** releases ******

Mac version is tested.
Windows and Linux versions are untested yet but may work fine.
Web version requires Unity webplayer plugin: https://unity3d.com/webplayer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#91Theme(Jam)4.00
#171Innovation(Jam)3.61
#236Fun(Jam)3.48
#265Overall(Jam)3.55
#511Mood(Jam)3.14
#601Graphics(Jam)3.21
#611Audio(Jam)2.58
#686Humor(Jam)2.13

Comments

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:54am

Made it to level 12, but couldn't get to the end! Arg!
Love the shape/color shifting mechanic and the level design, lots of tricks here and there until you figure out which is the best course of action to get to the end.
Perhaps I would add a mouse control, in order to move the camera more precisely.
Congratulations on the game!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:55am

That game looks simple but I had really fun with it. Nice. Even that the music change by opening the menu is a good one. Good job :)

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:56am

Interesting levels.
Would be better if the W/D is strafe instead of turn around

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:07am

Very cool game, I managed to play more than intended - it's captivating fun.

recursor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:12am

Interesting game play. I felt like the controls were a bit too sensitive at times. This could be remedied by having some sort of sensitivity adjustment the player can change. Also, I think you should tell the player what shape he needs to become on the status bar so he does not have to go find it. This is a nice idea and if you add a few more game play elements sprinkled throughout the levels ( maybe a new element or mechanic every 10 levels), you could definitely entertain someone for 100 levels.

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25am

I enjoyed this very much. Pretty unique.

Citsua says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:29pm

Interesting idea but it's a shame the controls were this sensitive, I stopped at the 13th level because that camera made me rage too much :(. Still great though!

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:02pm

Very nice and fun. Interesting way you present one mechanic end turn it completly around in the next level. Nicely done.

Farelle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:33am

I like this game :) it's very simple, but I would have preferred the turning to be done with mouse, because it's hard to aim with arrow key rotation and some of those shapes are fast O.o Also that music, after some levels it really started to annoy me :o

Matzigon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Nice and simple with the shapes and colors. Good job. :)

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:50pm

This was simple and well done. I felt like a little shape ninja sneaking in to grab the yellow triangle in level 13.

I liked the floaty controls. They took some getting used to, but once I pictured myself more like I was driving a car it became easier.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Pretty tricky game, I like I how the levels were designed to make me learn the system. The music made the atmosphere kinda creepy, nice! I didn't like the wobble effect on the shapes, it made it quite jarring to look at. Nice colour scheme and nice implementation of the theme!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:02pm

I had to stop playing before I don't get to any of the other ludumdare entries :P

Henry00 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:58pm

I love this idea, mostly 5 stars! Could have used slightly better music although I liked the transforming music.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:23am

Cool concept and really fun! I played all the way through. :)

Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:13am

Please check archive with Linux bulid. It fails to open. Still I was able to play Windows version. Pretty good entry, I like how puzzle is combined with action. Music style is interesting too.

AnMorfeusz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Nice and simple game, intresting idea, good controls.

panicq says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:01pm

This is a nice game ! Well done :)

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Great entry, I think the bgm really adds to the mood! Windows version is working fine :D

orukinawa says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Simple yet really entertaining

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:38pm

I really like the use of the theme in your game. I also recommend to use the mouse to look. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]