Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Factory

by adrian09_01 - Jam Entry

Shape Factory is a game about shapeshifting shapes in a factory. The factory press is in a bad state and you've been hired to work as a turret operator. Destroy the unwanted blocks and make the shapes fit into the holes. The rest isn't your job.

The control scheme is a bit complicated:
left/right arrows - control the top and bottom turrets
up/down arrows - control the left and right turrets
W - shoot down from the top turret
S - shoot up from the bottom turret
A - shoot right from the left turret
D - shoot left from the right turret
Enter - select options in menu

All game assets were made by me while daring, almost nothing was recycled or stolen except the bitmap font, which was made by me 3 years ago.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Audio(Jam)3.89
#190Innovation(Jam)3.58
#265Overall(Jam)3.55
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#435Theme(Jam)3.47
#469Mood(Jam)3.19
#844Graphics(Jam)2.80
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Neat game.

kaype says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Groovy soundtrack, game needs scaling because i can't read anything on screen at all

help

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Nice and simple. Took a while to understand bc I'm a bit stupid, but good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Cute idea, but the fact that I have a big monitor made it pretty much unplayable at that tiny resolution. Also, shooting up didn't seem to work for me. The music was really good and I think there is potential here for a pretty cool mobile game.

It's really hard for me to say anything more constructive just because it was so small that I had trouble seeing what I was doing.

adrian09_01 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Shooting works only when the appropriate turret isn't obstructed by blocks.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:45pm

It should be a little more difficult. Also screen resolution is a real eye-strainer

Titangea says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:18am

It was difficult to play, but it was funny, good music.

draq22 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Lol nice game! Impressive innovation!

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Very fun game and I love the music. Great job!

TiByte says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Nice Game. The Soundtrack is pretty neat. Maybe the could be a little bit harder. I know the shapes are getting faster, but veeery slowly ;)

Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Really neat game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/_jtEhCyw5p8

JefePapaya says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:21am

Teach me, master!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:49am

interesting idea - sometimes you dont have to do anything to win - i like that - good job

Yetikatt says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Fantastic audio, reminded me of Transport Tycoon. Being able to upscale the graphics would have been great. But it was really fun and a great concept. Good job :)

May 5, 2016 @ 4:09am

very interesting game. Totally didn't think a game could be made like this, but it is! xD cool. nice tracks, you can select different ones in the menu. Would have liked to know my score though after i died. I really didn't ever use the bottom turret.

adrian09_01 says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 2:59pm

Thanks for all ratings and I'm happy that I'm #75 in Audio! Next time I will be the first!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]