Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shifters

by Autovelop - Compo Entry

Shape Shifters is a game where you launch "shifters" in order to shift the weight of shapes. Levels are completed when a shape touches the surface. Certain levels have shapes that have buttons attached. Once there are no buttons left on the shape to push and the shape touches the surface, the level is completed.
#LDJAM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Innovation3.87
#144Humor3.13
#196Graphics3.63
#225Fun3.47
#243Overall3.47
#250Audio3.17
#272Mood3.22
#559Theme3.23
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:11am

Good game, I missed the restart button on the last level.

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:52am

LOL!
respect for how you implemented the idea - that wobbling is really cool and looks realistic (in terms of physics) - graphics and audio are a matter of taste ;)
great job!

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:14am

Loved the partial effects and the look of the level. I would have liked some ingame instructions, but really that is a small thing on what is a really good entry!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:53am

quite fun, would like to see more levels

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:36am

Thanks for playing! I don't know how I missed that restart on the last level, sorry about that. I will put in in-game instructions and add more levels as soon as possible.

FenyesJ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:49pm

8/8 m8

zugende says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:16pm

Awesome!! I love this kind of games!!! I love the shaders, graphics and physics!!

IDidGame says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:10pm

simple, looks great, thumbs up

seanarooni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:50am

I really like this, I loved the art, style, and mechanic. I had a lot of fun figuring out what I was doing on the first level, I thought you did a good job teaching me to play without any direct communication. I enjoyed the minimal audio.

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:33am

Simple, fun, cool graphics.. I enjoyed the audio :)

JefePapaya says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:41am

Wow! Reaaaally liked your take on the theme. Shift the weight of shapes ;). Kind of resembles my game using rocks to shift the position of the castles. Kudos

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:04am

I was disappointed when the game was over so quickly, so that's always a good sign! The physics were satisfyingly good and the art style fit well.

The music was a little repetitive.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:14am

The physics mechanism is quite interesting to watch.

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Feels fun and even though this is the first review I'm wrinting this LD, I feel that it definitely is a different take on the theme than most of the games in this LD. Congrats!

Regarding the choice of graphics: First run I found it difficult to figure out why the bodies get stuck in mid air, until I managed to see that it's an object in the foreground that they're stuck on. My guess is that the edges of the shape are blending too much with the background image.
Anyways, congrats! :)

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:43am

Cool idea and well implemented ;)

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

jk5000 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:06am

Wierd and super great.

Autovelop says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:17am

@Freank, sorry for only coming back now, but you are more than welcome to add it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]