Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Water&Fire

by chrras - Jam Entry

Water&Fire is a simple game, originally created for the compo, but because of several problems with the programming, it ended up in the jam.

You control a cube, which can shift between a Fire Shape and a Water Shape. Different obstacles requires a shapeshift, while others don't. It is up to the player to figure out.

This is my first proper game, and it's not that big or complicated, but I really wanted to participate in this LD. I would really appreciate some feedback, but please understand that I am no great programmer :-)

Enjoy!



---------
Controls
---------
Move - A and D or arrow keys
Jump - Space, W or up arrow
Shapeshift - Shift
Exit - Esc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#818Theme(Jam)2.94
#861Fun(Jam)2.71
#901Graphics(Jam)2.65
#926Overall(Jam)2.82
#1013Innovation(Jam)2.35
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

IcyLava says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:59am

Interesting concept. Sometimes jumping doesn't work, which is a bit frustrating when trying to jump over enemies. It would have been nice to have some checkpoints. I didn't get too far, it's kinda hard, but I liked it. Good job on your first game :D

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Super cool game, loved the music ;D

JALgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:37pm

I agree that the jumping is a bit unreliable. Does this have to do something with the physics that are applied to the player object? Apart from that, the game felt hard, but not in a bad way.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Game doesn't work on Ubuntu 15.10 :( "Aborted (core dumped)" it says

zugende says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:46pm

the jumping did not work for me. Seems to have a 2s delay. :)

ANTZtakeover says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Really great concept! Really needs some polishing though!

The M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:18pm

The game is quite nice for being your first game. I had the same issue with jumping as others have reported, but with some more work and some more levels you might have something :)

chrras says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Thanks a lot for the feedback! That is really appreciated. The jumping problem is already fixed (not in the version uploaded here), and I am currently working on adding checkpoints and making more levels. I plan on continuing to work on this project until next Ludum Dare :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]