Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Hasardeux

by Llucile - Jam Entry

I originally wanted to enter in Ludum Compo but was busy with another jam the same WE... BUT I LOVED THE THEME SO BADLY I decided I couldn't just do nothing, so I started to work on the Ludum right after work this monday.
I usually do the ludum in team, so this is my first game ever as a solo. I didn't do any graphics and didn't have any idea about how to do the sounds.

The game I realised during this short time is called Hasardeux, which means Randomized/Not Sure in french cause I think randomness might actually be a cause for loosing this game.


RULES :

You control a circle with your keyboard arrows.
Every time the circle moves, it shrinks.
In order to keep your circle alive, you have to eat the other circles which are smaller than yours, which will make your circle grow bigger (like in Agar.io).
But be careful not to eat the circles which are the same color as yours ! There going to make your circle die faster.
Oh and another tricky thing : sometimes the background will take the exact same color as your circle... Cause it's funny to move an invisible circle.

Play the game in your browser, try to survive the longuest time possible (time will freeze when you don't move) and report your score here !

Tech stuff : P5js, javascript, html, html5, paint.net, font from Microsoft

Bug fixes :
- [19/04] the time was acting weirdly : it is now fixed
- [19/04] you have to hit the edge of a circle to eat it currently. It was supposed to be overlaping circles eat condition... : now fixed
- [19/04] (not sure) no more memory leak, eaten circles are freed from the memory
- [22/04] Scrollbars are no longer triggered by the use of the arrow keys when playing in the browser

Bugs to be fixed :
- time was displayed in the format mm:ss:mm but due to bugs it is currently displayed as ms. I'd like to bring back the previous format.
- sometimes when you lose (game over) white edges around the circle are not displayed.
- timer has been reported as indicating big negative values

Future : I would like to release the game on a more polish way later this spring. So every feedback would be really appreciated! Don't be afraid to be really detailed on things you think should improve or features that would be nice!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#599Innovation(Jam)2.98
#713Fun(Jam)2.92
#910Overall(Jam)2.85
#915Mood(Jam)2.54
#920Theme(Jam)2.73

Comments

Remicy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Interesting concept! Very fun little game! :D

DiFFtY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:40pm

That was way easier once I read the rules hahaha.

I liked it, that was a nice and not so easy agar.io-type experience! The fact you always have to check for the color of what you're eating make the whole stuff way harder and interesting.

About the invisible ball feature, just one thought : you bastard. ;p

Great work!

(is it normal if the timer reports a big negative milliseconds time ?)

Llucile says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:56pm

@DiFFtY nope it is not ! Did you play such a long time there was an overflow ? ^^ I would be flattered !
I will investigate, the timer is not supposed to stay in millis anyway. Thank you for the feedback :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Gameplay could have been smoother and the field larger, but not a bad execution of a good idea.

aeai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:03pm

I like the concept, the "same color circles bad for you" idea was a neat one:) In one instance after a minute or so it's went unresponsive so I needed to kill it before it eat my browser:)

kleinzach says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:04pm

I started out with wasd, and my timer would just go up but I wouldnt get smaller. Woohoo highscore! Also Doing this happened to crash the game once.

When I played it like a normal person, I had fun! I like the way you can think about all of your small movements to optimize your path.

AngerFork says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Very fun! Would love to see this as a puzzle game sometime! And that invisible ball thing...mean.

Swynfel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Cool ! Was interesting to play.

It was a bit simple, but it's already impressive for a one day work (makes me jealous).

Very straight-forward mechanisms, and even though it's simple it creates many different possible scenarios. Interesting isn't it ?
"When you're bigger = the harder it gets" is a good thing, but you could play this game indefinitely once you mastered the art of absorbing small circles. Maybe make the game harder and harder ? Having less colour after a certain time ? Spacing the circles more and making them smaller ? Making weaker regeneration ? (You're the designer)

Sometimes the randomized spawning circles spawned in the wrong places (that means right next to me / on me while being are the same colour as me), and so it can be a little frustrating, but I guess that's why you called it Hasardeux !

Good Job ! And good luck for your other jam's results (I'm sure it's a good game as well)!

Llucile says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:17pm

@aeai heard your feedback. I added some lines in order to help the garbage collector. Hope it helps !

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Original, a bit of sounds and art will make this prototype to a good level :) hope to see the polished version :)

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:19am

Creative idea. It seemed like an action game at first, but once I got the hang of it I appreciated the strategy element of it. My record was around 12,000ms.

psyxose says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:28am

Interesting game and innovative. I liked it.

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:15am

Congratulations! I loved the concept and it was fun!
I also did my game with p5.js and is nice to see others exprimenting with it. :D
One thing:
On the embed when pressing the arrows the page scrolls up and down. You may like to check: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8916620/disable-arrow-key-scrolling-in-users-browser to avoid (it worked for me)

Llucile says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:53am

@VictorDoval Thanks ! I'll check that asap :)

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Simple but interesting concept!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:50am

Simple but interesting game. I like the minimalist look of it. I got I'd love to see this expanded upon :)

torcado says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:59am

nice concept! i really liked the colors too. and the invisibility mechanic is interesting

Big Cow says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:17pm

This is actually one of my favourite games of LD35 so far. Pure, simple and really fun gameplay, gets you thinking of different strategies.

tomlum says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Interesting mechanic. A bit buggy with the background color occasionally. Could use some flair to the core mechanic though, like a story besides it just being circles.

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:22pm

That was really fun! I definitely echo the other comments about the same-color backgrounds being evil, but I kinda love it at the same time. Nice job!

spiffl says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:08am

Solid!! Great idea and well-executed for such a short timespan. As others have said, the same-color-background idea is clever and very mean haha. Good job :)

ZirconCode says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Very innovative! Didn't read the rules but got the hang of it after a quick few tries, love the idea, good balance of complexity and simplicity in the gameplay/rules.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Quite interesting concept! The time-is-frozen-when-you're-not-moving-trait is a really nice touch! It's like a frozen action game :) Like it!

medidog says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:48pm

It looks fun, but I think that there is a bug that makes the ms into minus which I do not understand what it stands for :D Also a lot buggy on the controls. I wish, at the beginning of the game, the circles respawn faster than it is.

Llucile says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:35am

@medidog Hi ! Thank you for your feedback. May I ask what browser were you using ? I am not experiencing any "buggy controls" on the diverse setups I have tried (Chrome, Firefox, several windows computers) so far, so I don't really know what to look for and fix.
For the timer which displays ms into minus, I haven't experienced it so far neither, but I still can find some buggy cases, so I hope it will be fixed when I fix these.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:41pm

74.725 s. is the best I got. Nice concept, and the "same color kills you" adds a lot of strategy challenge, good job ! :)

ponk says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:51pm

CoooOOoooOol :3 !

badia_r says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:43am

Nice concept!

syst3m_ERROR says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Pretty challenging game. Would be fun to see how you could make more complex puzzles following this mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]