Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

PacShifter

by jcmonkey - Compo Entry

I had a hard time this round deciding on what to do with the theme. I made a game for a mini ludum dare that had shapeshifting in it, so i didnt want to just remake that one. This is my second ludum dare,so i wanted to try something different that i had not done in the past.

So what i ended up with was a pacman clone, but instead of the usual, i decided to change the gameplay a bit.

This is sorta like a pacman puzzler game. I dont have a pathfinding algorithm made for unity yet, so i had to go with simple pathing.

I had better graphics done, but unity and the webgl would not run it from a web source. so i decided to lower the graphics down a bit and it seems to work ok.

EDIT: ok im calling this a done product, im afraid to touch it again, because something might break.

Enjoy!!!

Engine: Unity3D
Graphics: inkscape
Sound: BXFR
Music: LMMS

post your game on my google doc, and ill get to playing yours for playing mine.

twitch.tv/jcmonkey

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1rBHP29i6igikGuKxHZBGttG-TSEsKrDgcUTR95LDRHQ/edit?pref=2&pli=1#gid=0

ill be playing and rating games on stream.

PS: i can never get the game to run on this site for some reason, so is there something that im doing wrong? the game is 800x600, and its hosted on my website. if you solved this issue before please let me know so i can better help you guys to play my game. thanks!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#468Audio2.70
#499Humor2.12
#613Fun2.92
#638Mood2.65
#696Overall2.93
#714Graphics2.54
#760Theme2.86
#762Innovation2.60

Comments

Crown Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:27am

Cool concept :)

rantt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:44am

That last level was hard...lol. Fun game, nicely done :)

nickavv says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46am

This is good, kind of loose on the shapeshifting theme. Ends up just kind of being a race to do the level perfectly so you don't get trapped. Still, I liked it and was sad when it ended after 5 levels. Good job

ViKing Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:49am

Felt a bit short, but that's true of all puzzle games in Ludum Dare. Good progression through each level for learning the mechanics. Could've used another level or two with enemies, it seemed a bit silly to only have one level with them. The movement seemed a bit strange for a Pac-Man style game, but it worked. The beat in the background was a nice touch.

The concept is great, and I'd love to play a post-compo version.

Halleflux says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:27am

Nice concept, but I couldn't get past level 5. I understand that games with no leniency with their timing and motions have some appeal, but that is just too brutal.
Apart from that, nice graphics and gameplay. The music is a bit repetitive, but stays in the background.
Well done!

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:09am

I found this... Satisfying...

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:15am

Nice polish, but I felt like the controls were too floaty for the level of precision that the game required, and that made it a bit frustrating.

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:19am

That last level is really challenging!

Robber says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:35am

really dig the funky vibes and it kept me going to complete the game! an indication of how much time you have until you shift back would be nice i think, overal good job, wish it had more levels.

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:54am

Level 3 drove me crazy! The ghost shape lifetime seems different each time... in one run it last 3sec only. A bug maybe?
But nice game though :)

paradxil says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Just wanted to say thanks for reviewing my game (Shape Shift). If you want to try it again you can get more shapes besides squares by unlocking more levels. I liked your game. I did expect the pacman character to move on a grid but I did not mind it how it was. All in all it was pretty fun.

uvwar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:01am

Oh man, the last level was hard. I wasn't a big fan of the lerpy controls but it was kind of interesting on the final level there, kudos!

rynti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:19am

Cool idea, also the need for speed in this game was well introduced in the third level - up until that point I thought the light balls were more like a "key" for doors than you shapeshifting into something that can go through them. Would've enjoyed more levels for sure, but it's plenty considering it was done in 48 hours!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:02am

Nice twist on a classic game.. I enjoyed it! :)

Auroratide says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19am

Interesting idea for a puzzle game. There's a lot of potential for a game like this to be further developed, perhaps with different kinds of power pellets, and so forth. Pretty cool!

psychonull says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:25am

Nice concept. Cool game overall, good job!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:25am

Interesting idea. Tutorial was done well and puzzles well designed.

I think the floatyness of the controls makes for too many frustrating situations where you get stuck on walls and just barely can't beat a level, etc. A classic pacman style of movement would probably work better and be less frustrating.

Gametery says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:40am

Last level was really fun! I wish there were more levels. Overall great work!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:27am

Nice game! Felt good once you figured it out

sharrackor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:44am

Great game; has a simple mechanic and employs it well. Very fun and addictive overall!

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:01am

Cool concept!

Fumiko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:15pm

was some time since i played pacman, nice game, some funny levels.

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Interesting twist, but some polish would really add to the game. :) Nice job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Pacman really? Good solid game, with simple idea

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Thats a different take on shapeshifting theme i like it, that left-right ghost on level 3 really screwed me big time XD

neondx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:53pm

simple yet effective, it lacks some polish, but is good anyway

Kifuga says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:22pm

I didn't manage to solve level 5 - seems it needs you to perfectly manouver around every edge... Was fun to play!

FinGamer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Game has a very cool concept and it's nicely challenging

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Neat concept, it was hard in a good way, sound/music could use some love. More levels would be cool.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Thank you for playing mine on your stream. This is a pretty neat take on PacMan, and trying to land that last level was pretty addicting - I kept JUST hitting the last border, so it was satisfying to beat it.

Cerberus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:48pm

it was a really cool game i loved it, the controls where smooth and very responsive, the mechanic of the theme was cool and the level design was great. awesome work!!

MementoGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:12am

Good take on Pacman and the theme!
The music is very trippy hehe
Nice entry overall!

GaryS says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:16am

I liked this, especially when speed became a factor.

misson20000 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:01am

Nice job! Although a bit repetitive, the background music was good. The controls were a bit floaty and on the last level I kept getting stuck on the corners of walls, but aside from that it was a nice game!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:49am

I Love it. Nice concept and mechanic. That last level was pretty hard hehe, but I did! Congrats!

Green Soda says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:35am

PUCKKKKKK MANGGG! bruh, this is nice concept, making something new out of something :) puzzle and gameplay is great... THE LEVEL DESIGN nailed it! the level design really got it man... Font is nice and mood...

broknecho says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:35am

You have a nice start here! Could definitely expand the idea to having pellets doing a bunch of different effects. Cool to see the mashup of an old game :)

Nicely done in 48 hours!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:01am

thanks for the feedback guys!!! i will be playing around with auto level generators and pathing algorithms to help get me a great post compo game. stay tuned!!!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:42am

Runs smooth even as WebGL, I'm impressed. Clean game, works well. The only thing I'd say is that the non-grid movement makes turning corners difficult.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:24am

Congrats for complete game!

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Strong game mchanic. Thank for game!

JiiHoo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Level 5 was roadblock hard, but quite a nice game. I would have liked to have pacman controls. Also not really much shapeshifting here.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:07pm

it was an interesting concept, personally would of preferred if the solution was through a puzzle mechanic rather than just being quick

Karai17 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Great job! Novel take on Pac-Man, could have used more content. :D

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:21am

Cool game. Introduced me right into the concept gradually, which meant the later levels were enjoyable. Good job!

drazil100 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:53am

I have played pacman before sorry.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:43am

This felt a bit too close to playing pacman; I'd be interested in seeing you expand on some different mechanics. It was a bit frustrating without a visual indication of time. Overall presentation and quality were very good.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:22am

very simple yet great design. love it

Broxxar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:28am

Short and sweet, enjoyed this :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:29am

I cannot get past level 5 :( The difficulty really ramped up there quick.

I mean, yeah, its clearly derivative of pac man but thats okay because you were trying to hit it from another angle. However, I think the use of screen wrap would have gone far in a puzzle game. Of all the original Pac man mechanics I think that one would have lent the most to a puzzle game like this.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:27am

Good concept; if there was more time, I imagine more shapes would have resulted in some really cool situation and puzzle opportunities. Definitely keep at it! Removing the inertia for snappier movement might also be an improvement, worth trying out :)

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:05am

This is really difficult..I tried the last one many times and I always get stuck in the last second. There must be no mistakes made.

Patomkin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:10am

Not much shapeshifting going on here and level 5 was unnecessarily hard and ruined all the fun :/

ohmaigawd says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:42am

A very nice idea that turned out pretty fun to play :) The only thing that bothered me were the "floaty" controls that made it pretty hard to control the PacShifter precisely.

Adipson says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:35pm

nice work !

Saiodin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Kinda neat, another take on pacman. Would have been great if the character could just move restricted and not float around inside the corridors. Good job!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Interesting take on Pacman. Nice job! Very challenging.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Nice! The levels were interesting and the difficulty curve was fairly even. The shapeshifting mechanic could've been explored a bit more thoroughly but even as it is it was an enjoyable game.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Nice game! I don't remember pacman being so ... freeflowing and physics-y though. Regardless, I like the game and the stress to finish it within the time limit of the powerup. A powerup meter of some sort would have really helped!

batmanasb says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:47am

This was a fun little game, but I think the movement system is out of place. It feels like I'm a car racing through a pacman level. The pacman movement system would have felt more at home, also more levels would have been nice!

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:09am

Pacman with a cool twist, enjoyed playing it a lot. Wish you had more levels in there, we could keep on playing it for a while. Well done.

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:28am

I really enjoyed playing this. Was expecting for it to be a little longer. The difficulty level was on spot and it was very simple to understand. I think removing the acceleration from the body of Pac would made it more intuitive to control, I don't know, just guessing XD Good job! Also, thanks for commenting and rating my game.

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:55am

Very fun! :)

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Great concept and take on theme.

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:56am

Cool game! :D

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:19am

This was a really good take at Pacman! I really liked what you've done here. I didn't expect the Pacman layout had potential for puzzles with a single change, so well done there!

Got stuck at level 5, which the way it demands perfection is rather annoying. I would appreciate the powerpill to be more lenient in the time it provides you to remain as a ghost. Alternatively, design levels that are more forgiving.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Pacman has become the thing he hates the most!

PaulJs says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:24pm

The idea is good !

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Best Pac-man game out!!! Very nice!!

AsixJin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:12pm

This is a really nice concept and I'd love to see a more fleshed out rendition of this. The last stage was very challenging but I manage to beat it.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:40am

Interesting game with neat levels. Could do with more content and more polished art, but it was still fun throughout!

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:00pm

The last level was hard lol, good job! Felt nostalgic with that pacman look haha

joemid says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:31am

Can we beat this one? Yes we can- after the blood pressure rises! And after I finally got into the third room- There was a frustrated sigh when the exit popped up outside!!! Great little game!

rhastapunk says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:49am

Wow hard to beat in time after level 3 or 4 but insteresting job :D

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:00pm

Nice work. I wished to see a timer when the transformation ends. It doesn't have to be a number, maybe some visual indicators like a flash or something. The game has a lot of potential and you can add a lot of levels in the future :) Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]