Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

THE SHAPELINGS

by Fantasieleben - Jam Entry

1. Click a shape to select it.
2. Click a shapeling to shapeshift her/him to selected shape.
3. Help three shapelings to reach the goal, then click NEXT LEVEL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#295Theme(Jam)3.65
#346Fun(Jam)3.35
#535Overall(Jam)3.25
#575Innovation(Jam)3.00
#714Humor(Jam)2.06
#901Graphics(Jam)2.65
#955Mood(Jam)2.42
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Ironhead says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Cool lemmings style game. Had 1 issue where clicking reload on the 3rd level took me all the way back to the 1st level but I kept playing till i beat it so that says something.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Not bad!

May 1, 2016 @ 7:55pm

It's simple but pretty complex too, enjoyed playing the game, I encountered the same bug as ironhead but on level 4...

davor10105 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:30pm

its a quite nice concept!

adam says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Nice idea for a variation on the Lemmings theme, but I found the physics frustratingly unintuitive - particularly the way the circles accelerate up slopes. Gave up the second time I got to level 4 after I ran out of shapelings while trying to get triangles to skid to a stop in the right places and couldn't retry without going back to level 1.

suppi says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:38pm

really cute game! though the physics can be kinda weird at times. good job completing such a game in so little time!

geekguy100 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Very cool! A bit hard to grasp at first but gets fun the more you get used to it. For improvement, I would make the velocity of the object first equal to 0 after they've shifted because I had some shapes going over the edge after they've shifted.

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:36pm

A great lemmings feel! Very fun!

Thirsty says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Great lemmings style game.. easy puzzles but cool game to build on.

cynicalmonkey says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:25pm

nice twists on lemmings although some of the momentum really needs to be dialed down.

David Cookie says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:28pm

I love Lemmings game design, and you adapt it really well to the theme! Now, it just needs some more work on graphics, audio and level design and you're good for a post jam version :) Well done!

Swynfel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Pretty cool game.

Interesting ideas. I think the player had a too limited amount of shapes to choose from (two other than the circle isn't much). A least all the forms have distinct roles.

Some level resolutions seemed a little too random to me. The shapes can sometimes push the squares/triangles and make them fall down a pit, or the circles don't always gain the same speed once the pass over a triangle : that can be very frustrating. All levels depend on some luck. You could have made the triangles/squares un-pushable if they're on ground, on remove the default physics while launching a circle, it could have made the game more determinist.

On level 4 (I think ?) When I clicked on the "reload" button, I was sent back to the first level... I was a little irritated.

Good game nonetheless. Could be a lot better with some polishing. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]