Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Entropy

by Steven Miller - Compo Entry

Created by Steven Miller for LD 35.

When an experimental shapeshifting cube gets into the wrong hands, the labs are filled with demonic creatures shaped from the cube. Take control of the second sample, who must take down the monsters and save the world.

Features:
12 Enemy types
24 Levels
3 Boss Fights
4 Difficulty settings
A save file that stores your settings and progress
A super awesome pause menu that you should take a moment to admire
A somewhat botched intro that runs on forever (it was supposed to have segments of gameplay mixed in, but there wasn't enough time)

Tools Used:
GameMaker: Studio
Audacity
Hydrogen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#105Humor3.31
#129Overall3.71
#158Fun3.60
#250Theme3.69
#272Mood3.22
#353Graphics3.30
#364Innovation3.26
#396Audio2.85

Comments

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:34am

This is a really impressive entry! The writing was nice, though a little long-winded (and some leaps in logic, of course), and I'm impressed you made a full intro cutscene! The gameplay was well-done and speedy. I liked the enemy types, though many of them seemed pretty similar. There was a lot of content, solid controls, a consistent and pretty nice visual style, and really good sound effects. The music seemed fine for the intro, but it didn't fit the gameplay all that well. I liked the shapeshifting mechanic to turn into a gun, and that animation for the change is lovely. Very nice work overall! Great job!

Dia6lo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:07am

Great gameplay and graphics, but IMO inro is a bit too long. GJ!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:25am

Really good stuff! Great visuals and solid gameplay. The shapeshifting was super cool but felt a little underutilized; I found it was usually better just to run around shooting. Agree that the intro was too long, but really impressive work!

hijomo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:56am

I really liked the cheesy intro. there is a lot of content here. The controls are good.

rosden shadow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:00am

Great game!

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:01am

I didn't really feel like the bullet mechanic was used as much as it should have been. Combat was a bit tedious. Intro was a really nice addition though.

timeshapers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:07am

Intro was really funny, gameplay is amazing, actually the longest I played.
I feel the level design could use some more work, fighting around pits could be a lot more interesting.
Enemy design is good and varied, first boss was great.
Graphics are neat.

Saladon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:23am

Very good game

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:23am

Wow, nice job. I was impressed that you managed to get an introduction made within the time constraints. Besides that, the gameplay was solid, and I thought the mechanic was really cool. The art seemed very well done too. The final boss was pretty tough, but I managed to beat it :)

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:58am

Funny intro, great enemy variety, absolutely cool shapeshift idea. I could easily see myself paying for a game like this!

Linver says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Am.. I thinked that it's a text quest or visual novell, and read dialogs. Dialogs are really good, but long..
And UNEXPECTED pew-pew game then xD.
You add really a lot of content.. but it's looks like three REALLY GOOD separated game parts: visual novell, gunfight dungeon crawler and shapeshift puzzle - and all tare very separated of each other, and don't work together

andreymust19 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:29pm

Made Win32-build, please

cabezotta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Great game! Very funny and entertaining! :D

doombrowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Sweet game. I really liked it. The intro made me chuckle. I didn't realize that you could shoot as a dude and not only as the gun until about 4 levels in. Very nice work overall though.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:21am

Sadly, I couln't finish this game but I'm hoping to do it soon. I really liked this. It was fun and good looking. Also the idea was really good. My only critic is that the intro was a bit long.

JALgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:23pm

I really liked the idea of transforming into a bullet. The intro was also quite nice, especially because you managed to do this all in 48 hours. I think that the levels got hard a little too quick, but perhaps I am just not very good at this game...

Jordan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Really fun to play, and nice amount of content

CarlosPidox says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:59pm

This is so great! The game feels so good, awesome job.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:11am

Awesome. Really cool and fun and a bit humorous. I havent tried it on easy difficulty yet but the med difficulty is pretty hard. Ill definitely be playing this one a bit more post rating.

Drusilla says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:14am

I forgot about my laundry while playing this. I also didn't realize the shapeshifter could shoot without turning into a gun. Discovering that made things a lot easier, haha.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:39am

this was really nice - loved the intro and the bullet mechanic was top notch - great job

Sixteen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:38am

Incredible! Only problem I could find was when playing it not fullscreen I'd often click off the screen and minimize the game. Other than that, loved absolutely everything

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:11am

Pretty fun!!

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:58pm

​First of all, what an amazing game. The graphics look very good, the controls are tight, and the game was just very ​fun.

To give some criticism, I'd say that the bullet could have a bit more visual "oomph" when it hits something. The sound it makes is very satisfying, but it doesn't look very powerful.

That said, the shapeshifting mechanic is amazing. I'm inspired to make something like it myself, though I doubt I could do it as good as this game does it. It just feels so good to load it up and launch somewhere. The gifs don't really look like it, but it feels super tight.

Verdict: The game's great.

Thirsty says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:24am

Very awesome game! Loved the graphics and it was very fun to play.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:16am

Wow, this is fantastic! I love the chunky pixel art, and you've got super solid shooter gameplay at the core. The gun ability didn't seem very viable to me, given how long it takes to wind up and that it leaves you vulnerable when it lands (but the animation for it is great).

Really impressive that you created this much content at this quality. Great job!

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Hey this is an awesome entry. Amazing! Loved it. Maybe the story was a little boring. And it took a while to get me going. Other than that this is one of the best and funniest entriest I've played yet.(I've played over 50 by now)

managore says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:45am

This was a really great game, with a massive amount of content and enemy types! Congratulations! I agree with most of the other comments so I'll try to cover things that other people haven't said yet. The sound effect when you shoot is PERFECT, and makes shooting feel really, really good. The big, chunky bullets you fire are great, too. The cursor was a bit hard to see sometimes, especially when the background was also green or when lots of stuff was on screen at once. Like others have said, turning into a gun looked great but didn't feel powerful enough. I would have liked if you pierced through enemies until you hit a wall, so you could attack multiple enemies at once if you lined it up well. Landing face to face with a massive enemy as your transformation ends meant it was a very risky attack!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:11am

Very nice shooting game!

batmanasb says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:47am

Oh my gawd man, that review caught me off guard! I freaken love you! And sorry Gamemaker hates my OS :(

MementoGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:53pm

So much content! Intro, 3 bosses, plenty of rooms. Very impressive!
I wish you put more puzzles with the gun mechanic.
Nice entry!

Wefiends says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:41pm

I really liked this and would've played it for much longer if I wasn't streaming. A really cool idea that felt great to play. Obviously, some level design, more animations, and overall polish could've been great, but the fact that it works without those things is impressive. Great job.

May 2, 2016 @ 1:15am

Really impressive. I'm always greatly impressed by how much you manage to swing into a weekend. Solid gameplay, lots of interesting levels that are successfully gooey.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:21am

I really liked....
1. The textures
2. The mood and narrative you're able to create by setting up the characters and dialogue, and giving us little plays
3. All the animations and styles of each monster
4. The satisfaction of turning into a gun and slamming into the nearest monster

Thanks so much for making this!

Rscar says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:37am

Just finished playing through, that last boss was super tough! All-in-all really excellent work though, the mechanic was really fun, and the enemy/bullet types were all great, definitely had that Gungeon feel, which is a positive (though possibly a little aggravating, thought I was done with the bouncing pillar things...they haunt me)

In my opinion, I feel like the bullets could have been slowed down a bit and have done more damage, the game felt very frantic at times and less dodge-based bullet-hellish because of the amount of things on the screen. I think one of the most important parts of a game like this is when a player dies, they know it's their fault. That part of the game feedback cycle wasn't really there for me. But again, all just balance opinions.

Game felt very polished overall, and despite the intro being a little long-winded as you mentioned, it was a really great touch. I like games with balance and trade-offs, and the mobility vs damage vs positioning trade-offs coming from the primary mechanic were wonderful.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]