Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The man that changed into a plant.

by Digitaldude555 - Jam Entry

A & D to move. Space Bar to turn into plant(plant can't be detected by cameras,sensors,guard) W to go up stairs.


Inspired by the game SPY on Kongregate. No sound.

I recommend using full screen if you are playing on ludumdare or play on itchio, if its not full screen it cuts off a bit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#107Humor(Jam)3.59
#459Theme(Jam)3.45
#583Fun(Jam)3.07
#587Mood(Jam)3.05
#714Graphics(Jam)3.05
#744Overall(Jam)3.02
#781Innovation(Jam)2.76

Comments

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Great game! Very fun! It's needing a few improvement (lighs, sounds, music, etc), but the context is very cool.
The end makes me laugh.

luvShape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:44pm

very fun! a agree with the last comment about the improvements. And the lvl difficulty's are very well balanced, nice work

snowyowl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Not bad!

On the first level with the cameras, I couldn't distinguish their field-of-view indicator from the background because their colours were too similar. So I found the gameplay rather frustrating.

The art is very pretty.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:01pm

A little too easy imo. But fun idea!

Hope you had fun making it =)

Raphi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Good game well done! I would like more levels, but the game has an epic end ;)

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Cool! Wish it had funny sounds too.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Awesome game!

I laughed really hard at the end. The level progression is fantastic, you showed the mechanics one at a time and then put them all together at the end making it really challenging.
I got a little bit confused at the stairs, maybe a the key to go through the stairs could be drawn into the wall or something. So i panicked a little bit both times i had to go through it.
Feeling that you could have juiced even more with just those three mechanics i think you should keep working on it and expand to make a bigger game. Maybe for mobile? I would totally play it.

Awesome work, good job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Besides the lack of sound this is a very good game. I especially liked the level design and difficulty progression.

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Nice ending! :) A bit short and moderately frustrating, which cancel each out more or less. :)

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:27am

Neat idea, even if it's a little rough around the edges. I love the art, but the main robot could use more animation. Also I got to the room with the lasers and the lasers were invisible and the background was blue for some reason. That made it a little tricky.

mrnannings says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:43pm

It's a nice game. The controls can be better, it feels like you slide and not really walk.
Forget what i came fore lol.
Nice job!

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:42pm

cool game.. fun
that 'try again' is sometimes unnoticeable cause you can still shift ..

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:58pm

good gameplay, like stealth games =)

zzapp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Nice concept and the ending was amusing, it would be cool if there was a few more levels.

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:37am

Really nice game. I would definitely like to see this game with music. And was really fun.

davor10105 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:05pm

love the artstyle, but it really needed to be longer, ive just gotten into the game and bam, its over :(

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:40pm

First off, as cheesy as tehy ware I quite enjoyed the graphics. They weren't spectacular from and objective point of view but they had a charm that few LD games have. The lack of sound is not good, but it's a thing a lot of LD games have going against them, so I can't fault you for that. The gameplay was quite simple, but pretty cool in its execution. Overall, solid entry!

frogcheese says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:51am

A pretty nice, simple stealth game. Had to back out of the game to figure out how to climb the stairs. Would've been good if the UP arrow also worked, since I automatically started using the arrow keys and found that they worked.

I found it really funny that there were "people plants" like yourself in the last room. Maybe some other spies had gone and found that they enjoyed just sitting around and being watered?

Great ending, btw. :)

Fantasieleben says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Cool game! I agree with the others that balance and level design are pretty good.

LeReveur says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:14pm

An infiltration game, nice ! I like the disguisement. :D

themadknights says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Need some polish but it's a good start. You need to try to add some sound/music next time :).

lkr says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Funny concept :)
A bit short, but fun while it lasted.

Only issue I had was when shapeshifting back from a plant in the last room, it was hard to know exactly how tall I'd be, so I ended up getting hit by the laser a couple of times until I got more careful.

bazkur98 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Okay at first I was thinking "what is the bull?" but after a few tries I kept saying, one more try, I can make it. It was much more fun and difficult than I thought it would be. Sound would have been nice. Good Job!

MintArcade says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Wow. Really cool game!

kabel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:52pm

The game didn't seem to work properly, some of the images didn't load at all, there was no sound and at one point I kept dying, even though no-one was pointing a flashlight there.
The art is nice, I wish the locations were a little more coherent.

smbe19 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Interesting game. Could be a little frustrating, especially during the last level, but the concept is solid.

Allorius says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Spy game when you turn into plant? Why not?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]