Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Wayang

by Arnage - Compo Entry

Wayang is Javanase for shadow and is the name of the classic Indonesian puppet theater which formed the inspiration for this game.

In the game you shift shapes to shift them and their shadows into shape.

Note that it is meant to be played on an android phone. It is a reasonably heavy 3D game, so it requires a sort of decent phone. It was developed on a HTC One M8 (which contains a Qualcomm Snapdragon 801) and hits 60 fps on that device, so if your phone is stronger than you should have no issues. Anything older/slower is not guaranteed to work.

Update 1.0.1: (18-4-16)
- Minor update to remove all permissions from APK, so you can run it worry free

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#179Graphics3.68
#230Mood3.28
#300Overall3.40
#358Innovation3.27
#374Fun3.27
#423Theme3.43

Comments

thnewlands says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:25am

Why does this look for my phone identity / accounts?

thnewlands says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:27am

* have those in permissions

Arnage says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:26am

Hmm, probably some default Unreal Engine reason. I'm not doing anything with it. I'll have a look if I can remove that, thanks for the heads-up thnewlands!

Arnage says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:42am

All permissions are now removed, hooray for clean self-contained APKs. And thanks again for the heads-up!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:30am

I love this one, and the fact you porte it on a mobile device is nice. Kudos!

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:35am

Looks beautiful. Idea ist cool.
Frustrating that the shapes collide with each other, so the destroy your already positioned parts.
Nicely polished game.

Pierre says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:43am

Great game, and good idea !
Sometimes, the game doesn't valid the shape while it's good.
But it's a great game, and good idea to make on android :)

Wevel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:06pm

College puzzle game, could do with some more levels

kev9318 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:08pm

cool game ! and nice port

fakeyou says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:09pm

I'm not able to play it (no android phone) but the screenshots look interesting. Would it be possible to upload a video of the gameplay?

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:07pm

It's interesting. Some puzzles are really tricky. Nice art.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Super cool phone game. I loved the graphics but it got really hard when there were more than three blocks

tompudding says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Brilliant idea, and very impressive execution. The lighting and mood fits perfectly. It gets tricky fast though!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Very pretty game! The animations are smooth and, while subtle, the sounds are very nice. I have a nexus 5 and I did experience that the screen was maybe somewhat cramped during some puzzles.

NPC23 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:29pm

That was really cool, the only issue I had was the last level got a little finicky. Because there was no way to stick the pieces together I spent a while after knowing I'd solved it trying to get the game to agree with me on that topic, but outside that it was really fun. I hope to see some more with this you did a great job.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:38am

Quiet fascinating puzzle game. make it large and launch on play store ;)

MementoGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Awesome entry! Beautiful art.
It annoyed me that the parts collide with each other.

Echo Team says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:56am

Your game was hard too :P

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:51am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Very cool. I like the design of the last level, but I got a bit frustrated because I has to fiddle around with the pieces for a while after I had solved it before it recognized the solution.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:04am

Excelente idea. I really enjoyed your game. Sadly, it's too short. I hope you can keep working on this. Last level was a bit hard to make.

ALobker says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:32pm

I would have liked a bit more snapping, but overall, awesome game!

thebrainfuse says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:23am

Tested on a Nexus 5X. Good puzzles, but i wish it was more snappy, so that once you got the right pieces together, they would become one.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]