Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Befitting Perpetual Owl

by hijomo - Compo Entry

Gain more edges and shapeshift to a higher form.

Controls:
WASD/arrow keys to move
SPACE to shoot
ESC to reset

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#306Humor2.67
#407Audio2.82
#463Theme3.36
#495Innovation3.06
#593Mood2.73
#694Fun2.79
#786Graphics2.39
#838Overall2.68

Comments

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:18am

Can you make a webgl export?

ogre says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:49am

Would very much like auto-fire (hold space bar or just always on). Hard to keep mashing fire so much.

TP2k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:10am

Didn't understand how to play it :(

Linver says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:10pm

Your Game has so tricky controls, like my xD Try to use:
transform.Translate(%coords%, Space.World);
Fonts is so crazy - i can't undestand it.
But it's playable. It's the first step.

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:53pm

The movement is smooth

egos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:03pm

hard to understand what to do But nice idea

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Tricky bun fun once I worked it out. I thought the score was in a different language until I concentrated on it. Love the idea of the evolving asteroids feel and there is a nice risk reward to it. Auto fire would be lovely too. Nearly wore out my space bar! :)

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:56pm

1971 by spinning in place and wearing out my space bar. I like the number of edges as life idea. :)

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Good stuff!

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:20pm

not sure about the graphics, but the idea could work if u keep working on it

FanieG says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Liked this. Hard, but fun. Would have prefered to play with a controller. Really liked the sound. Sometimes died without knowing why?

docteurSid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Cool idea !

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Auto-fire would be an improvement. I like the idea of getting more guns as it progresses.

MikeTheWayne says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Once I got the hang of it, it was nice to play. Apart from the font used for the score, and the fact that nothing really seems to happen when you die, it was enjoyable!

James Coote says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Took a bit to work out, but quite fun. As others have said, required a bit more mental effort than I'd like to get into the mode of spamming spacebar thoughtlessly and concentrating on actual navigation otherwise.

Probably needs a bit more to make it interesting, like the background image making a difference (like whichever colour you're in makes a difference, or maybe from time to time, the lines on the background image come out of the image and form walls that affect both yours and the enemy's movements).

bablawn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:32am

Whoa! Enemies spawn on me make me sad :(.

But holy cow once you get used to how the shapes move its pretty fun.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:27am

My wrist is getting sore from mashing the spacebar. Nice take on the theme... it worked out really nicely.

hippy dave says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:47am

Fun! A good, simple idea, well executed. Looks nice, my only complaint with the presentation is that the sfx are so much louder than the music.

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Interesting concept, would be good with auto fire so you don't have to mash space. Like the sounds.

arhpositive says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:02am

Decent idea, but the execution could've been better. There's room to improve here, you should work on it.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:39am

i dont really get it :( maybe my fault

dunin says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:54am

It's so unfair that more you lose, more you will lose, but it's the fun of the game (it's so cool when you are a square and kill everyone...).
I don't know how to qualify the background...
3210!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]