Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Funkenstein's Monster

by Dr. Funkenstein - Jam Entry

You are Dr. Funkenstein. Welcome to your lab. Explore the space, pick up body parts and build your monster that will serenade you. ASSEMBLE SIX BODY PARTS TO DESIGN YOUR MONSTER AND THEN IT SINGS. Bring your Funk™ to life.

#funkmonster

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#327Humor(Jam)2.88
#386Graphics(Jam)3.61
#533Mood(Jam)3.12
#534Audio(Jam)2.86
#811Innovation(Jam)2.72
#942Theme(Jam)2.67
#1050Overall(Jam)2.63
#1062Fun(Jam)2.32

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Its quiet realistic.Nice props and assets use. I like the game.Its fun to play

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:38pm

If I try to get the file from your itch page, it gets stuck loading a donation lightbox.
Please don't put LD games behind a paywall, even an optional one.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:45pm

@zenmumbler I HAVE NOW SORTED THIS ISSUE. THANKS FOR THE FEEDBACK!

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Good controls and nice level design. Unfortunately, I couldn't figure out the controls while playing the LD version. I got run, jump, and sprint, but I wasn't sure what to do with the game.

divegato says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:11pm

I rated the Jam version which obviously wasn't done. I like where you were going with it.

Supr says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Looks pretty intriguing, but I can't understand what I should do.

I like how you texturing that organ)

Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:44pm

FOR BEST RESULTS, I RECCOMEND THE BEST VERSION SINCE IT IS THE BEST VERSION. THE JAM VERSION IS GOOD BUT THE BEST VERSION IS THE BEST.

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:54pm

I guess monster designer is not a career option for me. All my monsters were ugly and weird. :P
Nice game, had fun experimenting!

h2n0 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:41pm

I couldn't really work out what I needed to do and after 5 minutes of trying I decided to check the submission page for some instructions but I couldn't find any.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:16pm

THANK YOU FOR THE FEEDBACK. 6 BODY PARTS MAKE 1 MONSTER

lumscum says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:47pm

This was so strange. I loved it.

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:03pm

That was certainly a new and different experience :) I was hoping that my monster would try to walk around after I created it! xD

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:40pm

I played the jam-version as it seems the most fair to use for rating and evaluation.

So though the game seemed quite clear on what to do and I found the first limb easily accessible, then it became obscure. I like the setting and mood, all the props made, but I couldn't find any more body parts. I think I looked everywhere, jumped on and even through some. There was a jar on a top shelf, but when I managed to get up to it I couldn't interact. Maybe all these things are clearer in the post-jam version, but if I'm missing something then I do think some more explaining in the game is needed.

I did like the experience though.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:09pm

@local minimum IT'S TRUE... THE PRE-JAM VERSION IS BARE BONES. I'D RECCOMEND PLAYING THE BEST VERSION TO GET 400% MORE EXPERIENTIAL ENJOYMENT. THANKS FOR PLAYING!

kleinzach says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Truly top notch sound effects you got there! That was great :D

blob says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:19am

Why do you keep recommending the post jam version, it's very misleading even in its name.

Couldn't find more than one limb in jam version. :u

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:35am

Only a limb in jam version :(
Great atmosphere though.
Try to catch up the schedule next time :)

aidanmarkham says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:12am

I played the updated version, and it was incredible! Probably my favorite of the ~25 games I've played! The jam version was incredibly bare bones though, so I had to rate based on that.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:49pm

@blob I RECOMMEND THE BEST VERSION BECAUSE IT IS THE BEST. DEFINITELY MORE BETTER THAN THE JAM VERSION

@aidanmarkham THANK YOU FOR PLAYING! THAT IS ALL I CARE ABOUT

Gord10 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:15pm

I liked the graphics.

davor10105 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:16pm

very fun to play!

cameronpenner says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Don't release the .pdb files with the game. Those are just for the developer and make the filesize really big.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:56pm

@cameronpenner THANK YOU FOR THE TIP. I AM ONE STEP CLOSER TO TIGHTENING MY CRAFT - THE DAILY STRUGGLE

ANTZtakeover says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:17am

Pretty good! The theme was pretty spooky! I played the Jam version so obviously some difficulties but good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]