Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tale of a Shifter

by jelch - Compo Entry

Simple mouse interface - should work with touch devices (mobile) as well.
Shifting changes your stats in battle.

I was pretty disappointed in the theme, but had fun and learned a lot.

Made in Construct 2.
Music with cgMusic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#105Graphics3.91
#154Humor3.11
#169Mood3.41
#210Audio3.28
#327Theme3.57
#517Overall3.16
#636Innovation2.84
#806Fun2.57

Comments

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:56am

Didn't understand what was going on. I shifted but all that ever happened was I 'missed' my attacks

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:13am

game: good idea, nicely drawn, intuitive, always in motion - fun to play!
screen layout: area for opponent graphics too small, buttons appear more important
There could be something showing the "hit" and more actions... nice work! 4/5

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:17am

Wow, what a unique art style. It's kind of cool that there are no visible stats in combat - you have to base your strategy on the way your body parts look.

rockybdubs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:17am

cool art

pdonegan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:33am

Good game, I thought the graphics were very cool. I however, wish i could see my stats and how they changed when i shifted.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:37am

It was really hard to get what was going on at first. The music and art style are really cool and interesting.

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:44am

I really like the paper+pencil drawing theme.
Pro-tip: whenever I shifted the legs, I seemed to have dodged more of their attacks than usual, but when I shifted my torso, they seemed to have had an easier time hitting me.

I wonder if it depends on the monster type whether to shift certain parts or not?

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14pm

I like the idea and the way you present this game. The art style is very humorous.

luvShape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18pm

nicely drawn

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Great concept! I really love how the art and design combine. My only complaint is the lack of feedback for what each shape did.

ThommazK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:22pm

I love the art style! Hotel Dusk meets doodle time. :)

Didn't have much of an idea of what was going on, just shifted enough until I wasn't hit and started to do some damage. Cool entry.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:57am

Love the art, did not understand the gameplay though. But a shapeshifting RPG is something I would love to see more of!

Upwily says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:08am

wery cool look, but confusing gameplay and mechanics

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:08am

Lovely art style, I love the sketchy background. The game itself needs more player feedback, I didn't know what I was doing right, or wrong. I killed the first enemy then the game wouldn't load the second stage for me. :(

emanuelesan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:52pm

nice game, reminds me of kingdom of loathing somehow

IvanFon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:08pm

GREAT

h2n0 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:41am

I was unable to rate the game because I couldn't get it to work under a Linux environment.

LinealGames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:03pm

There was no life bar for the enemy or myself and had no clue what I was doing

plko says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:16am

Oh, the graphics are too impact for me(but I love), I think I need to do a san check(1d100>=40, 0/1d20+5).

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:57pm

dont really get how to win, but its nice graphiks

qu2 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:32pm

The game seemed to freeze after just the first enemy for me :( Also, I agree with others that more feedback for user interactions would be great. Love the art and music though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]