Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

xXShapeShooterXx

by karln - Jam Entry

A tiny shooter. Takes the theme rather literally.

That's it.

Design and code is by me, Karl Naylor. Music was generously contributed by Thomas Collins (thomascollinsmusic@gmail.com), who also produced the original sound effects that I mangled to produce the sounds you hear in the game.

Changes since the Ludum Dare deadline:

* Added Thomas's email address to the title screen.

* Added a short delay on player death before the mouse button will take you to the title screen, as a friend was finding it annoying that he sometimes accidentally clicked past his score on death. I think that's an OK change as a small 'quality of life' thing, right? If you disagree, feel free to mark me down on it :)

* Similarly, made spacebar immediately start a new game after you die instead of going via the title screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#314Fun(Jam)3.38
#479Theme(Jam)3.43
#569Overall(Jam)3.22
#683Innovation(Jam)2.89
#726Humor(Jam)2.00
#740Graphics(Jam)3.00
#813Mood(Jam)2.72

Comments

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Really liked the sound effects. I never really got the hang of the different shooting modes and switching between them appropriately.

unnamed1334 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Cool game. My only complaint was it took a few tries to realize how the triangle form was being aimed.

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Love the different forms how much it can make moving harder/easier

Mieeh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Wow, intense and fun. I liked the feeling of the shooting. Got a score of 128. One critique is that the triangle shape controlled different fromt the others which threw me off. Great job on the game!

Cowa says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Didn't understand how the triangle works but nice game!

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Really cool! Once I got the hang of switching between forms depending on what shapes were on the screen I managed to stay alive for quite a while. I did make it freeze several timse though - I think it was usually when my mouse went out of viewport and I clicked? not sure exactly. Super fun though.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:37pm

This was a really hard one! I loved the different attributes of each shape. Shooting as the triangle was really satisfying but I wish I had more bullets! The pentagon made a great little tune with its bullets as it shot and the circle was a good safety.

blaclegi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Cool game! I really liked the audio and the graphics although at first it took a while to figure out how to do anything, but in the end it played well!

egos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:22pm

nice shooter the triangle is sometime hard to control

xandy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:36pm

this game concept is really nice. a better explanation of the ship types in the instructions would have been great. also the tri having 3 equally long sides makes it very hard to realize where the front is. also the game starts very hard, maybe slowly increasing the number of enemies on the screen would make it easier to learn the game. but i lied the core concepts very much!

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Geometry wars metts shapeshifting! I liked this one, but it was a lil bit too hard for my tastes.

Mr.Chippy says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:35am

I really liked it. :D

RttStudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:44pm

Really fun shoot, nice idea

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:15pm

I found the ships very hard to control but I always do with Asteroids games.

sharrackor says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:43am

Great Game! I found the triangle a little difficult to control and I would have preferred a description of what the side bars meant, but overall seems quite good.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:00pm

It was great fun doing the sound effects for this. This game turned out great! Well done.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:28am

Nice execution. only one tip : maybe controls can be improved.

Louspirit says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:31am

Nice work! Good effects - visual and music - , original abilities, a little hard but good to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]