Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Formorph

by Solocov - Compo Entry

Morph, die, repeat.

You learn how to move in the "harsh" environment. You make yourself bigger so that your "dead" body stays as a Platform for you to jump on, or you can float on water ....
Your smaller you can fit through tight gaps and sinks in water.

Use W,A,D to move around
Use S to Morph/shape-shift

Have fun, and in case you reach the "Diving level"... I am sorry ;(


AFTER COMPO:
Just to learn:
1.How many of you played through it?

In case you didn't
2.where did you stop?
3.why did you stop?

Want to improve my Leveldesign :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#142Fun3.62
#194Overall3.55
#195Theme3.77
#232Innovation3.51
#346Mood3.08
#450Audio2.74
#519Humor2.06
#828Graphics2.26

Comments

wtfrara says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Very solid and creative use of the theme. A bit tough at points but not really in an insurmountable way. Great work.

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Cool game, creative use of physics and the shapeshift element, it results in a clever puzzle

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:30pm

I eventually made it to the "diving level". I couldn't get past it though. It is very tough. I liked the music and sound effects a lot, they really added to the game's mood. I had fun completing the challenges :3.
My only complaint would be that sometimes the physics of the game did not appear to be very clear. For example, in the "wind room". It would have helped if there was some feedback on why the player is being pushed back (e.g. show small wind particles going in the direction of the wind)
Overall good job!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:52pm

The game is very fun, and that what I think is most important in a game!

Solocov says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Just to learn:
1.How many of you played through it?

In case you didn't
2.where did you stop?
3.why did you stop?

Want to improve my Leveldesign :P

cgriff says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Great game! Simple, but varied and interesting.

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Solid use of theme, and pretty fun!

swamppenguins says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:14pm

At first I didn't get what was going on, but it's surprisingly intuitive and fun!

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:30pm

I enjoyed that, good take on the theme.

Solocov, I shamefully stopped at the lava spots / climbing part as it was quite punishing when you failed, I think the lava should have been just below the blocks you can touch, not jutting out of the sides as well.

Solocov says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:47pm

@ChrisMingay Thanks for the feedback :D
I think it is a good level, but not for beginners.
The curve of skill increases drastically at these parts and let out some of the best parts (see: first GIF).

I think I should have introduced this idea more subtly instead of just going over 9000 at the end...
For the Climbing bit:
-Maybe I should have done it only with the blocks and the wind, "stop there show something else", and then come back with the climbing with some Lava spots...
For the Diving bit:
-I should have introduced diving even more without the risk from Lava, fitting through tight corridors and navigating... and then slowly add Lava...

The Level also got quite huge so yeah, should have spent more time on different levels (and their loading mechanism)... Also maybe VeryHotOrangeLava... which evaporates the body on the spot so the bodys dont cross your way :P

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Very nice level and audio design! I like the use of the dying blocks as part of the level. Good entry!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:35am

This was pretty good game! Very Innovating and addicting! I like how part of your death is part of the mission. Good work

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:37am

Interesting and challenging. Took a bit for the mechanics of "corpse stay" to come into play but was ok.

Controls are a bit too lose (jumping especially) but that could be intended.

Aside from that, I stopped after apparently looping back to the start (after some fall full of yellow checkpoints?). I saw other paths but didn't want to go through the lava/jump block upward corridor again :)

Otherwise, nice entry.

aidanmarkham says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:15pm

I liked this a lot! I didn't beat the game, because I fell into the pit that puts you back at the beginning of the game twice in a row. I think the level punishes you to hard for messing up that jump. The graphics were simple but functional, and the platforming was a bit clunky but still fun.

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Hehe, nice game :) Minimalistic art style, but we can imaging the rest ourselves :) I got to the point with the large lava pool and wondered how to get across, until it "clicked"! Nice idea! I stopped playing at the ladder part with the many red death blocks underneath.

remmy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Gosh that diving took me way too long ^^
Made it through, and really liked it, solid game :)
The mechanic of the dead blocks is at parts which are not dependent on them kind of annoying though (i constantly rammed into those underwater and the jump course before that and created new dead blocks by dying and just wanted to retry the clear course without waiting)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Amazing - creative use of the theme. Nice concept which reminds me Thomas Was Alone. Many little puzzles which we must solve to progress in level. The mood is good enough and the controls pretty simple. A solid entry. Well done ++

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42pm

I like how when you die you have to use the past game object to traverse the level. Very cool idea! Nice job! I also liked how you had to change shape to adapt to the environment.

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:10pm

I liked the variation between the different sections and the way you made incorporated the reaction each of the shape. I got stuck at where you had to jump upwards on the platforms with red blocks in the way. Did reach the top but got stuck otherwise.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Nice job. Audio was a bit distracting!

samlo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:16am

You used the theme really well! I really like both the use of auditory cues to indicate how the level works and also the fact that if you die you can interact with older instances of yourself. Solid entry!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:52am

Neat game and great level design. You did a pretty great job of slowly teaching the player the game mechanics. The only one that confused me a bit was the "wind".

Xanjos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:59pm

Eventually gave up at the climbing lava section but the mechanics were pretty solid and the level design was spot on.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Man, this was HARD! The kind of hard that makes you keep trying until you WIN. Had a lot of fun playing :D

Naca says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Good idea, but too difficult sometimes. I stopped at the climbing part, but don't take me too seriously, I'm a poor skilled player :D. Anyway, I think that part requires much more accuracy than what the controls gave me.

Remicy says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:26am

Awesome game!! Really like this!!

tanjent says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Ragequit at climbing section!!! Good idea to have dead blocks to use as (extra) stepping stones it makes for good strategizing of a part. But they got really annoying at the climbing stage because you had to wait for them to s.l.o.w.l.y. fall down so you could attempt to jump up at that ledge where you always die on the next jump (because IIRC) you had to also shapeshift for this one. But then the old you was in the way so the timing was off. This part could needed a faster timeout for the old blocks to die like some shake-the-screen-and-wipe-it-clean knob..

egos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:12pm

really nice idea and espcialy the clone option
good jobs

Larzan says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Very nice mechanic, i used the 'use your dead body' in my LD30 game, but it didn't really work that well, this here is a very good implementation of that idea.
Well done :)

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Great job. This game made me realize, every next level. With each level the physics of the character were revealed from a completely new angle.

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Brilliant. This game made me realize, every next level. With each level the physics of the character were revealed from a completely new angle.

indieyp says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Really cool mechanics

josefnpat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Solid game and gameplay. I like how you put a lot of time into mechanics and level design. Nice job!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:06am

Difficulty curve could use some smoothing and the background audio was really strange to me, but the mechanic was interesting to use and I did enjoy the use of wind as a level mechanic.

As far as level design goes, I ended up quitting because I encountered a pit filled with checkpoints that sent me back to the start which really demotivated me from continuing. At the same time though, the checkpoints being placed frequently throughout the level was very welcome.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Neat game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/ZcRqGTT86gc

Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:46am

Love the game. Great work!

3rdChance says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:54pm

nice gameplay and idea!

MestreRothWP says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:21pm

Nice level design and variations. I gave up on the low gravity section. It felt too long to be retried. Congrats for the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]