Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

WaLeFi

by Strike - Jam Entry

WaLeFi is a little witch who possesses a shapeshifting magic wand, allowing her to control three different elements : water, leaf and fire.

Monsters are attacking, stealing time from people, and preventing game developers to have enough time to sleep during game jams and to complete their games !

This is a shoot them up with some puzzle elements where you must attack enemies with a stronger element than them to damage them. The same element has no effect. A weaker element will give them extra health points.

I would have loved to make a longer game, with more enemies and challenge. But those evil monsters won this time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#340Audio(Jam)3.25
#350Graphics(Jam)3.68
#391Humor(Jam)2.72
#637Overall(Jam)3.13
#708Mood(Jam)2.89
#730Fun(Jam)2.88
#930Theme(Jam)2.70
#994Innovation(Jam)2.40

Comments

zzapp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:45am

Love the artwork work, it was super cute. The game itself was challenging and fun. I just couldn't get used using leaf to destroy water, I was hoping I could break 500 points but fell short at 490 too many times and rage quit. Excellent job overall.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:26am

Controls are smooth, and looks great! Takes a while figuring out which element works against what, especially when it starts taking multiple shots to take down some enemies. Tutorial is really clear, nice of you to include controller support (didn't test it though). Music is nice but actually gets kind of irritating quickly. Great job!

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:36am

I like this game the sounds, music and graphics are very cool. But i really love the sound when i change my element, congratulations nice game bro.

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:49am

mords leur l'oeil ma sorcière bien aimée ! bravo ;)

strong99 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:21am

Nice artwork, especially the background is well done! Took a minute to understand the reason of the elements, but didn't take to long.

strong99 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:23am

Nice artwork, I loved the background, quick and easy to play. loved it

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:28am

Really love the artwork here. Beautiful game to look at, and the gameplay was straight forward and did what you expected from it. Good entry.

raphix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:59am

Ok buddy, let's go ;-)
This is a truly awesome game ! The artistic choices are coherent, everything works perfectly together, and the "particles" effect is stunning ! In terms of Emotional involvement, you get everything right !
The gameplay is also great, mixing puzzle game and shooter. you have to have good reflex to move quickly and perfectly, and a good memory to remember which element to use. And I also love the link with RPG games (Inazuma Eleven, ...) with the element system.

This game stands perfectly as it is right now, and I am truly impressed ! Three days for that level of result, you are now the real deal buddy !

For future versions, here is my feedback :
- one key per element, so that you can directly go to "FIRE" or "WATER" or "LEAF". This will give your game a more "dance dance revolution" kind of kinaesthetic involvement.
- a rethinking of the enemy waves, to work better in terms of "difficulty curves". Very quickly, you have a wave mixing the three elements. Easy to kill once you get the "rhythm", but very difficult the first time. However, later in the game, you got the same wave, but with one enemy at a time. I think this should have been before the "difficult" wave. To "teach".
- And why not considering that the enemy will not shoot (or less) unless you use the wrong element on them. And then, they can become berserk.

Well, I imagine that after such a hard work, you need some rest. So enjoy a good sleep, and looking forward for your next creation.

Rico says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Really good art, pretty hard, funny voice of main character.

okoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Well polished game.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Nice fluid movement/shooting controls and fun graphics/sound, with some nice polish. Good job!

I would have liked to have had one button per element so I could switch directly to them instead of cycling. That might be harder to pull off on a gamepad, but you could have each shoulder or face button correspond to a particular element.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:57am

It bugs out a lot, and the controls are a bit messed up (up goes down and versa vice -- kind of makes it impossible to play very long). Also, I would remove the link to the embedded web player since it doesn't work right in full screen (it cuts stuff off).

Strike says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:22am

Looks like I mapped the gamepad controls wrongly. You can download the stand alone version and remap them in the options window before the game starts. This will also solve your full screen issue. Could you tell me what's your screen resolution ? Thanks for your feedback.

Strike says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:03am

I made a very minor update to invert gamepad Y axis thanks to BrainSlugs83's review.

crucknuk says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:14am

Nice entry! The gameplay is simple but effective. I wish you added randomized waves so each game is different. Anyway, good job ;)

Strike says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:29am

Thanks for playing. I planned a survival mode at first which would have been endless and random with increasing difficulty, but sadly I didn't have enough time to implement it.

Krammetje says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:45am

Fun game to play for some time. Really like the artwork.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:16am

Good idea, nice job! Very nice graphics.

Akaboham says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Heeeeey Strike!

Love the concept and execution!

SHUMP with elemental changing twist. Reminds me of, but is distant enough from, Ikaruga.

Great job on getting it this polished in the time frame! =D

A couple of thoughts from my play-though...

---

Took me a while to get the elemental association down.
This is due in part because I lacked the visual feedback that my shots were working.
So I was thinking perhaps:
1. The earlier enemies could die with 1 hit.
2a. The on hit particle effect could be changed to give us more information (e.g. Hurt or Heal animations).
and/or
2b. The enemies themselves have a visual indication of health remaining.

---

I felt that cycling through elements was slowing me down and was having trouble remembering which element was next in the cycle.
I would take raphix's suggestion of binding 1 button per element but have that button instantly shoot rather than just switch.
Thinking more along the lines of BISHI BASHI and how it makes players tackle the mini-games of matching colors.
Perhaps this can lead to color mixing (i.e. pressing 2 elements buttons at once to shoot new element shot)?

---

That's all off the top of my head at the moment.

Hope some of these suggestions can be of use to you should you intend to expand and polish it further.

Cheers!

Strike says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Heeeeeeeeey Akaboham ! ;)

Thanks for playing my game. Let me answer you.

1. That's the case, the hp for first enemies is 1 according that you don't hit them with a weak element first. You can only heal them up to max 3 hp.
2a. Right now the enemies flash yellow if you heal them, or red if you hurt them. Maybe it's not obvious enough.
2b. That's a good idea !

Thanks for your feedback. :)

wboqm says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Really liked the audio!

Was going to comment that it wasn't clear if you hit them with the wrong element whether you needed to hit them more times with the right element (it seemed inconsistent), but have now seen your comment explaining it. I would second the thought that it could be more obvious when you heal vs hurt them (vs doing nothing).

I also found that it wasn't clear what the lose condition was; whether it was just getting hit too often or whether it was letting too many people past.

PS. you suggested a step-by-step tutorial for my game; a youtube walkthrough has been made and listed in the description. Thanks for the feedback!

Strike says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:57pm

@wboqm : awesome, I'll go watch this walkthrough as your game really intrigued me and hit my curiosity. Thanks a lot !

arhpositive says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Cool game. Cute graphics. :) I really liked the attention to detail to make every enemy have some kind of personality. Nice work.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Great game!
Weapon switch would be better for me if each weapon has it own button. Keep up the good work!!

ogre says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:07am

Like the style, controls work smoothly. A little confusing which shots destroy which things. And is she saying "Fleas" for green?

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:50am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:11pm

The controls are smooth, the art is super eye-candy, audio fits the game well and the game itself is pretty fun and theme-related. Interesting idea to mix puzzler with sh'm'ups, enjoyed it a lot. That's a great entry overall.

Eshford says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Really cute and stunning artstyle I love it!

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Very Cute! Good Artwork! Fun doing the Pew Pew Pew! :-)

Strike says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:46am

@Freank : Done, I uploaded my game on your website. Thanks for your video review.

Satyre says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Nice solid entry. The theme is clear and the gameplay challenging. The graphics are nice :) Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]