Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Spaceshift

by pokipsy - Jam Entry

**** SPACE SHIFT ****

Space shift is a Rogue-like/Shmup game in which you have to progress by switching between the three shapes of your spacepod.

Try and get to the Boss! ^^


CONTROLS:

Left click SHOOT
Right click SHOW MAP
Space THRUST
Mouse wheel SHAPESHIFT

**** Please be patient during the loading. 100 rooms procedurally spawned! ^^

**** Don't hesitate to check out the website of our Indie game currently in development. It's a nervous brawler 2/4 players! ^^

http://chop-thegame.com/en/home/

Music credits :
Music used: Remember the Dreams by Per Kiilstofte
https://machinimasound.com/music/remember-the-dreams
Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International
(http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#370Graphics(Jam)3.63
#416Audio(Jam)3.11
#451Theme(Jam)3.46
#565Innovation(Jam)3.03
#618Overall(Jam)3.16
#632Humor(Jam)2.26
#758Mood(Jam)2.81
#761Fun(Jam)2.84

Comments

Inateno says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:48am

really liked this game, and would love to see this ended with rogue feature :3
by the way, i really loved the way to move the ship

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:13am

I love the way you use the shapeshifting ability.

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:24am

Mechanics are solid and fun to use. Movement needs getting used to but works for this kind of game.
Some indication that your bullets hit the enemy woud have been nice.
Liked the music.

SeaDads says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Controls feel great and the scope is really impressive for a game jam. Nice work!

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:42pm

A solid entry, pretty impressive for a jam! I find the graphics a little too cold though, but it's kinda adapted for a space environment I suppose. The 3D assets are good, maybe it's too bright to my taste. I would love to see this a little more in the dark, with lasers and lights that would illuminate our way.
Otherwise the mouse wheel fonctionnality is top notch! It's really a "waoow" effect :o I can definitely see a rogue-like with lots of transformations using this system!

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:38pm

very solid core mechanic, also huge game for a jam, nice interpretation of the theme. Music was spot-on!
Had a bit of difficulty with controllers.

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:39pm

very solid core mechanic, also huge game for a jam, nice interpretation of the theme. Music was spot-on!
Had a bit of difficulty with controls.

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:09pm

It wouldn't play for me. It showed the Unity loading screen, then hangs and quits.

katorovitalo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:04pm

I am really impressed that you were able to create Roguelike for the jam! Making randomly generated levels can be a daunting task. The visuals look really good too and using 2D sprites with 3D models makes the whole thing pop.

My biggest pet peeve with the game is that everything just feels a little imprecise. It would have been nice to have some audio for when you hit an enemy ship or be able to see your health. I get the feeling though that if this had not been for a jam that more polish like that would have easily been in there. Overall though, good work! And good luck with your Indie Game! :)

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:41am

Good: Graphics. I particularly liked the map/floor, and you did nice work combining materials with high specular and adding lighting. You even had upgrades (and the upgrade field looks neat - and so does its menu!). Also good job on managing to create a procedural generator for this. I'm sure that wasn't trivial.
Bad: For some reason I wish both enemy units and myself were more fragile. It takes a lot of time to take them all down, and constantly hitting walls when trying to pass doors can be frustrating (I'm an awful pilot I admit). The audio fit well but some missing feedback (as others have mentioned) is noticeable.

Overall a great game, impressive thing you made for such a short period of time.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:43am

I forgot to ask, is the yellow (untextured?) thing supposed to be the boss? I failed to kill it the two times I tried, does the game end when you do?

pokipsy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:36am

@SpringCabal
Thanks for your feedback :)
I completely agree with you that the game needs more balancing on damage values, ennemies life etc.
Also, the rooms and door are problably not large enough.
I think that's why we missed to have the dynamic, responsive gameplay we intended to create.
But yeah, the scope was probably too ambitious for us two...
Finally, the ugly yellow thing is indeed the boss ^^ you get the victory screen if you kill it. We added it 30 min before the deadline :p

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:31am

Cute mechanic!

Henry00 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Just so you know, you can remove 143MB from the download my removing the debug files (player_win_x86.pdb, player_win_x86_s.pdb).

pokipsy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:45pm

@Henry00
Ah yes thanks, totally forgot that :/

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Nice!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:47pm

I enjoyed myself, but I did find myself constantly using the third level ship - I feel like there should be some other detriment than movement speed to using them. Nice work on the look, sound and feel of the game though!

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:22am

Not very nice to reestart all the game. Maybe a save point after a "boss"? Very good audio. :D Good humor. Heheheheh.

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:25am

I apologize. I messed up the window.

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:35am

Good graphic and nice music. ^^

Javabot says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:51pm

There has to be a better way of generating levels!
The shape shifting mecahnic stopped working for me after 2 shifts.
My craptop is not very powerful, so the lag was a bit too much.
Looks like an otherwise good game.

MrMordem says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Nice game, i really digged the top down 3d levels they looked very good, the shapeshifting mechanic is fun.

The thrust based controls are a bit hard to get used to though.

Other than that seems like a solid entry :)

Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Nice polished game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]