Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

shape_Shifter

by RadMcCool - Compo Entry

Simple and hopefully obvious game.
Use WASD to move your shape within your grid
Use ARROW KEYS to set the shape
Match the shape and location to continue, fail and its gg.

BUILT FOR QWERTY KEYBOARDS SORRY IF YOU'RE ON SOMETHING ELSE :(

Started with blank project in unreal and done most of the work in there, made simple meshes in 3ds Max and simple sound effects with bfxr.

ADDED VERSION WITH SPEED SETTINGS, NOTHING SUPER TOUGH OR GAME CHANGING JUST SOME PEOPLE WERE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SPEED BEING TOO SLOW...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#331Theme3.56
#422Audio2.79
#505Fun3.06
#566Innovation2.94
#570Overall3.09
#700Graphics2.56

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:59am

wow interesting game it was quite cool!! =)
play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Ogniok says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03am

Challanging and simple, this is a very strong entry

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:41am

Not bad!

I would suggest finding a way to start the game with the keyboard. Clicking restart and then moving my hand over to the arrow keys felt awkward.

Otherwise, great!

Ramayana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49am

It's a cool & fun game.
Very basic but doesn't need more!
Too bad for others than QWERTY keyboard users!

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:51am

Hey, that was pretty fun! I like the two-handed controls, and the way the # slides into the other # as a visual indicator of time. I think the speed could ramp up to make it more challenging, I played 20 matches before I called it quits. Nice use of the theme.

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:21pm

Pretty interesting and fun concept. But it was way too easy. Got all the way to 100 and the speed reset back to slow. Ended up quitting because I couldn't lose.

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Nice to see some entries done in UE4 ;p~

RadMcCool says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:34pm

yeah just found that speed rreset bug. it literally makes no sense

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:00am

Very well built, simple though.

RadMcCool says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:15am

BUG SQUISHED
when setting a new speed i had a branch node asking if an int was <= 15. if true it set the new speed for this specific enemy grid, however if false it done nothing to default speed thus why it looped back to starting speed. feel both really dumb (for making it like that) and really smart (for fixing it)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Very simple, but interesting concept! It took me some time!

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:53pm

It is too easy. I was just staring at my screen waiting for the next one.

arhpositive says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:00pm

A simple concept. It's implemented cleanly. There are many other entries which just tell you the buttons for changing a shape without telling you which button is assigned to which shape. Therefore, the tooltip on the bottom right made things much easier.

knason says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Interesting concept I liked this, maybe you should speed up the game a bit and get it a bit more challenging, but overall good job!

drazil100 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:03am

Needs Music. but fun concept

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:07am

Really challenging but you can get used to it after spending some time. Love the usage of the theme, too bad I can't hear music though

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:21am

Fun little game.I like the concept

Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Simplicity is a virtue, and you've done well to make a suitable game from the theme. It reminds me a bit of the Brain Wall/Hole in the Wall gameshow, which is a fun point to start off from too!

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:15am

Interesting idea

Louspirit says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Very good idea and nice animation. I tested the fixed version but in hard I would have expected even more speed :)

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:36am

Simple, but really challenging! With some polish here and there you could turn it into a pretty nice game (or totally make it a rage game :P).

Controls are pretty effective and it's really nice to test your coordination!

Good entry! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]