Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Maitre D

by SeaDads - Jam Entry

As the Maitre D' at a fancy French brasserie, it's your job to ensure patrons encounter the best service imaginable. Worm your way in with the hoity-toity by showing them their seats!


The post jam build has some fixes/tweaks and some art we didn't have time to add. (Added arms for 600% more effective Maitre D'ing!)

Credits:
Barney Cumming (@Powerhoof): Art
Dave lloyd (@DuzzOnDrums): Code + Foley/SFX
Jon Murphy (@NuclearFriend): Code
Paul Dal Pozzo: Level Design
Louis Meyer (@LouisDMeyer): Music
Adrian Vaughan (@YeOldShrimpEyes): Voices

Also, check out Dave and Barney's other stuff at www.powerhoof.com

And a bonus: Barney made a post-dev diary video+playthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a2pL7eMAB8w

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.70
Fun(Jam)4.58
Theme(Jam)4.77
Innovation(Jam)4.63
Coolness79%
Humor(Jam)4.63
#8Audio(Jam)4.40
#15Mood(Jam)4.31
#23Graphics(Jam)4.58

Comments

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:25am

Easily the best entry I've seen so far by a big margin.

RttStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:35am

Really good entry, love the voice acting ahah. Really good use of the theme as a main object of your game! Great job.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:37am

Such a great idea and perfect execution. First entry I've given 5 stars across the board.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:47am

Fantastic game. It was a bit awkward to control the character at times, but I'm not sure how you could even simplify that.

I also managed to get stuck by crouching in an awkward way. I couldn't extend out of where I was stuck or un-crouch!

celia14 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:55am

The gameplay is a lot of fun, but it's the art and the whole concept that put this over the top - a worm puzzle is one thing, but a bendy Maitre D'? It's hilarious and a really fun game.

Syldarion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:25am

Without a doubt, the best game I have played for LD35, good job with this, would love to see it expanded with more puzzle mechanics.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:06am

This was amazing all around. I love the sound effects and voice acting, they really sell the setting and add just the right amount of humor to the game. Really had a lot of fun. :)

medidog says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:27am

This is wonderfully done, bravo. I loved the graphics & audio, and game mechanics are fun!

Wefiends says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:03am

This is a really great and surprisingly complete game. I love the idea of Snakebird + Platforming. Made for some really fun discoveries.

iendsl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:22am

Really amazing. Great sound, art, puzzles. Well done. The first level was tough but once i got it it felt really great.

ChimeraAnt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:10am

Great concept. I love it. No issues.

solkar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:10am

Très bien!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:43am

An excellent game! I'm loving the weird ideas the theme has brought out, and this was an superb execution there!

I did notice a lotion bottle I couldn't pick up in the top right of the level after the one with all the bombs and tables, though. A bug, perhaps?

02fc.exe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:04am

Really like this game. You should release it on Steam!

imit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:12am

This is awesome!! I saw this the first day of ludumdare, immediately fell in love. But never expecting this much fun :)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:48am

This is really good! Looks great, the voice is fun and the puzzly gameplay is interesting. Congrats!

Nesferjo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:01am

This is really fun. I love how things get crazier with every new level. Overall a good entry! Good voice acting, good graphics, absurdly fun mechanics!

gingerBill says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:01am

This is one my favourites! It's fun and hilarious!

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:06pm

Très bien! hahahahahha Art, music, sound effects, humor, mechanics... all of them rock!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Really nice concept overall, it was fun to play!

swamppenguins says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:22pm

An instant classic. What else can you expect from the Powerhoof fam?

dunin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06pm

maginifiqueeeee....

lonewookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:56pm

This is awesome! Very creative and fun! Only critique is the controls I found myself mixing them up pretty often as things got more complicated.

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Ez win

matt beckett says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:36pm

I am amaze. 5 stars across the board!

tanis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Super awesome gameplay! Love this one! It's a lot of fun!

Allorius says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Really interesting game, thanks for making it.

randomhuman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Fantastique! I couldn't believe there were so many levels, and all so well designed... Great game!

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Amazing, huge content, wasnt expecting something this level of goodness in the LD =)

Roland M says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:14am

Just awesome, really love the mood.

SojaBird says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:37am

Yep real nice entry you got here guys :)
5/5 on all easily!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a2pL7eMAB8w

subpixel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:45am

This is genius. Shear genius. A complete pleasure to play through.

the31 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:32am

Wow, great entry! Very neat mechanics, and the graphics and audio work very well with it.

A few things did hit me though: first, early into the game I accidentally pressed C (I think) and I was crouching. I assumed it was a bug (maybe part of the body was missing due to a faulty contract?) because I hadn't been shown that control yet. I managed to die on some spikes to reset, so no harm done. Some more obvious feedback would have been nice here, but it's probably an edge case. A more annoying thing I hit on the later levels were some hard-to-avoid spikes, especially late in the levels. Maybe I'm missing a strategy to reliably avoid them, but either way, annoying.

I didn't get to the end of the game, but this is something that I think I'll be coming back to later to finish.

Wahooney says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:32am

Really enjoyed this one, like the stretchy "bleh" sounds :D

tsjost says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:23am

Could you make a Linux build?

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Easily the best entry I've played so far - incredible job. Absolutely love the sound design!

JOK says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Perfect! Really impressed this is a jam game. Felt very complete in gameplay, audio and graphics. And so many levels! Best game thus far!

Ellian says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:17am

WOAH this game is amazing. Amazing graphics, amazing sounds (kudos on the fake french bits, it's great), amazing level design and amazing code.
Controls are a bit messy to remember but MAN this felt great. Played to completion, no bugs in sight... amazing.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:51am

Haha this is amazing, how do you even come up with this idea? Brilliant mechanic, allows for some pretty interesting puzzles, though i have to say that the jumping-higher-while-deflating thing feels very awkward. Really enjoyable all around though, great work!

Carpetwurm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:03am

Honestly I had a great time playing this, didn't beat it but hey it kept me busy for 13 minutes, and that's more than most internet games I play can say.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:34am

Great concept and game overall. Loved the art style and squeaky balloon sound effects, as well as the snooty voices.

There were a few times where it was difficult controlling the character, but mostly it was just getting the hang (haha) of hanging from the character's head, or my hands getting mixed up on WASD vs arrows. Also...what kind of restaurant has spikes on the floor!?! ;)

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:40am

Really loved the audio it was very fun. Great mechanic, cool level design, and charming artwork. One of my favorites so far!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:43am

Great game! Nice use of the theme, funny humor, and polished execution. Well done!

icefallgames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:48am

Definitely one of the best I've seen in the jam. Hilarious, innovative, and fun! Always kept me cracking up to see how contorted I could make him!
And the sound effects... brilliant.

SeaDads says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:10pm

The spikes on the floor were originally bottles but the artist just couldn't make them dangerous enough so we resorted to good old restaurant spikes.

SeaDads says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:16pm

I just put up a linux build. Hope it works!

MisterMortal says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Holy cow, this is amazing! Mechanics are unique, gameplay is fun and the voice acting killed me :D Bravo, well done!

Gord10 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:01pm

I admired it! Unique and funny, the best entry I've played so far. I'm going to post it on my FB page.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:57am

Wow, this is one of the best LD entries that I've ever seen and the first one that I think I've rated perfect. Totally on theme, great graphics, hilarious sound. Congrats.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:07am

Stunning on just about every level. Super charming and cohesive art and audio, with a fun and surprising core puzzle mechanic.

"Uncouth" is my new favorite game over message.

luvShape says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:09pm

humor top top!! love this game, love it.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:36am

Tres bien! Magnifique!
Really fun core mechanic and your level design took great advantage of it.
It goes without saying, but the voice acting was wonderful.
Actually just in general, audio feedback was really satisfying.

knason says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Brilliant! Well done! I had really fun playing this game! Nice graphics as well. Great job!

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:41am

Great game! A real treat to play

Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Such a clever game, really liked the way you used the theme. The levels were also well designed and progressed at a great pace to learn all the rules.

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Good Game :)

Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Pssst - you are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_9jcWfVDXg

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Stunning and charming and just extremely well done. I don't know what more to say. I played maybe ten levels or so. The only thing that may possibly be something to work on if you plan to make a full release of the game is the variation of the puzzles. Most levels were kind of solved more or less the same way. But for the scope of an LD game I am by no means complaining. The fact that you could walk with A/D when your feet didn't touch the ground if your head/body was grounded was also a bit surprising. Great game. It could easily be extended by also serving different types of food and that these have requirements on how they need to be balanced. Or add time to it so you have to stop the customers from wandering off. Just some thoughts.

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Just awesome! One of my favorite games on this LD!

DifferentName says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Great game. You get all of my 5's

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:55am

Simply brilliant - so impressed. The character sound effects slayed me :D

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:12am

This is a fantastic entry. I did manage to find a bug, if you stretch into ceiling in some cases you get stuck and just kind of dangle there.

micahcowan says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:42am

FYI, Linux build doesn't work out of the box... I unpacked it, plus the window one, and then ran the Linux binary (TheMaitreD.x86_64) from within the Windows directory.

The message I get when running within the Linux directory is "There is no data folder". Obviously that's incorrect, but maybe some items are missing from within there?

micahcowan says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:46am

...and I'm wrong, that only got me slightly farther. I notice all the level* files are missing from the Linux one; perhaps that's part of the issue?

micahcowan says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:34am

(However, the Windows build did work out of the box on Ubuntu Xenial, using Wine. Fantastic game! Hope you plan to put it on Steam!

Docjekyll says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:39am

Fantastic fantastic fantastic. It's no stretch to say this is one of the best LD games this time around. Can't wait to see what you guys serve up next time.

managore says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Well this was absolutely amazing.

PabloLeChuck says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:18am

Just amazing... great work

gurkenlabs says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Brilliant! I'm absolutely glad to have played this jewel and given you your deserved rating before rating time was over! The later levels were also pleasantly challenging :)

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:01am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Steven Pinto says ...
May 11, 2016 @ 8:13am

Great concept and well finished game for the jam! congratulation on the rank and all the very best :)

May 15, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Congratulations, very nice game! It seems we had a similar idea, but your execution is much better. :) Well done!

dropeyou says ...
Aug 27, 2016 @ 6:46pm

It's a really great job. Keep moving folks!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]