Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Trial 21

by mooncalf - Jam Entry

In Trial 21 you switch forms to activate different jumping behavior.

WASD or Arrow Keys to move. Spacebar to jump.

Use J/K/L to switch forms as you acquire them.

Alt f4 to kill if you choose to run in fullscreen.

Windows version is the original upload.

Web changelog:
4/23
Narrator audio should now play for everyone.
4/20
No longer renders entirely black for mysterious reason.
Fixed double jump sometimes not working on press.
Fixed map so player isn't enticed to jump off the edge of the world and fall into infinity.

Nathan Walker - @alias_elias - character / animation / level design
Andy Gainey - @AndyGainey - programming / level design
Kevin Smith - @FazJaxton - programming
Peter Jones - music
Luke Schroder - props

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#249Overall(Jam)3.57
#285Theme(Jam)3.67
#320Humor(Jam)2.90
#329Fun(Jam)3.37
#403Audio(Jam)3.13
#519Innovation(Jam)3.08
#533Graphics(Jam)3.35
#638Mood(Jam)2.98

Comments

keksx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Really cleverly done, made me smile!

Well done!

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:48pm

I was sad when the robot got deactivated :(. I laughed at the chicken animation though so you got some humor points from me :D. Overall the game feels pretty solid and the soundtrack was really good. Environment and setting took me back to 2d metroid games, I did feel a sense of isolation. Level design was also really well thought out.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Loved the chicken module :D (even if it's the hardest shape to handle). Mixing shapes to attain different area is a great idea!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:17pm

the only problem i found with this game was the controlls, but that could be just me.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Very nice! The animal influenced animations were really good, and also very funny. Having to switch forms mid jump was a clever use of the mechanic.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:51am

Haha, you really nailed the way a frog jumps.

The aesthetic was a little mismatched and strange-- a robot on what looks like a world made of plush carpet. Also, you don't really ever shape shift so much as you posture shift but thats... kinda nit picky, I know.

However, this game FEELS great to play and that counts for alot.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:20am

Just fantastic. Great animation, a cool and unique aesthetic. Great music (and even some great voice acting). And a really nicely designed metroidvania. I really enjoyed playing all the way through this -- nice work!!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:21am

Wow, very smooth platformer with interesting level design and gameplay.

Until I climbed out of the world and fell forever.

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:12am

Nice job! Chicken robot rules!

Xinelu says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:09am

Remembers me a little of Grim Fandango :)

Nice entry!

djfariel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:19am

1:16am
4/21/2016
I completed a Ludum Dare entry.

I liked this. Conceptually, finding forms to use to complete levels in a platformer is amazing. Pretty neat idea. Nice entry.

dvdagames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:28am

Great job on the level design. There wasn't any backtracking once I got a form, you managed to loop the player right back around to that earlier spot where they saw that path they couldn't access.

The sound was nice and pleasant and the animations were good. The chicken one was especially fun.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:31am

Nicely done, was expecting a combo that needed all 3!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:40am

Nice game! Controls were a little slow on the web build, but I was able to complete the game. I liked the detail in the animations of each shape.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:54am

Loved it from start to finish. Great work on the animations. Only one issue - you most definitely did NOT keep the player from falling off the world like you said you would XD

chaosBrick says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:25am

The idea of it is really nice. I don't really like the controls, but except of that you did a great job.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:27am

Nice mechanics and graphics,the animal forms were a great idea.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:45am

Hi thanks for rating my game!
Good job. Like the mood of the game a lot, but the controls could be more responsive... The artwork is a little squishy too, robot is to steril and the floor looks like foam or something like that. But I enjoyed to play it for a while!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Neat game. All those animations must have been a hard work!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Nice animations and robot artwork! Note: Maybe clarify the instructions - I almost did not figure out that you had to HOLD DOWN the space bar to do wall climb leap. I almost gave up because I couldn't not get past that second step up. After I figured it out, the game made much more sense. Fun game. Great job! I liked where you had to shift forms in midair. Clever!

luquio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:46pm

my robot ending seeing a bright light and died!

Alphish says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:20pm

I can't decide if it's rather crude or pretty smooth. ^^' The movement feels a bit clunky, but I really like how the puppet switches forms while still being the very same puppets (also, chicken form is a pleasure to watch). The music was barely audible, though, especially compared to some speech (?) at the beginning.

Personally I'd prefer if jumping was available on UP/W button, aside from Space (since it's not used anywhere else, anyway). Also, perhaps add some sort of shapes indicator, and allow switching by e.g. Q/E (previous/next) instead of somewhat inconvenient J/K/L (climber/frog/chicken). That is, if you plan to expand upon that idea later.

Also, was that white thing at the end with puppet becoming idle intended? It looked like it was supposed to be an ending, but I'm not 100% sure.

Still, pretty good job, especially the animation. ^^

FanieG says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Really liked the animation. Felt that some of the dexterity puzzles were unnecessarily difficult. Especially those that required you to change shape mid jump. Other than that it was really cool. Loved the ending!!

omidprosper says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:27pm

i like Your Animations & Art. However Jump Animation is a little Slow. The GamePlay Too...
I would Like to Be Nicer At Grabbing The Wall.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:39am

I like how the character actually didn't shapeshift, they just obtained a new power. Something different. Nice!

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Very smoth and fanny game, good work. Of course, my favourite shpae was the chicken.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Very short but nice platformer! The transformations are funny and a cool concept. The animation is fluid, if sometimes a little weird. I would love to se this developed further!

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Nice :) Very interesting movement.
There is not enough reward in the game,
it could be better with a story, or if there was some more challenge/danger

Genpaku says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:44pm

"From a core idea standpoint I think it is very similar to mine." Yea you right our games are similar but your frog looks better than my sheep :D

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Clever platforming! I will suggest that the design be a bit less predictable. After seeing the wall with the checkpoint on top of it, I knew I was going to get an upgrade to jump up there eventually. Either way, good work!

disease says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:51am

I really like the seamless switching of animation during shapeshifting.

kabel says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Nice animations, but climbing is a bit too difficult. The graphics look consistent and original, I like it!

drazil100 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:33am

nice walk animations.. I like the fuzzy ground as well.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:31am

Great entry, enjoyed it a lot. It has a pretty unique gamefeel and mood thanks to the lovely animations and memorable weird music. The concept is well executed and the level design is really nice too and it kept me engaged until I finished it.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:30am

Very solid concept, enjoyed the intuitive level design that taught me through the basics. I personally thought the combination of different to achieve more complex platforming was great. Personally, I feel the wall-jumping controls could use a little polishing, as I'm compelled to move in the direction I'm trying jump to *before* I push the jump while clinging to a wall. Additionally, I'm not a fan of J/K/L as method to change forms. Music and background graphics stuck me as pretty boring, too.

Would love to see a longer game. I believe it's in the right hands, and you all show care in your product.

General says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Video: https://youtu.be/cfSQhiXUWqg
The idea of changing the main hero's shape is pretty obvious, although it's good that the hero is actually shifting the shape.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]