Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Cat Tapper

by jirrev - Jam Entry

In a world where interdimensional-shapeshifting-cats have taken over the universe you are tasked with petting them until they drop. Tap their heads and gain their ramen!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#53Graphics(Jam)4.41
#93Humor(Jam)3.63
#151Audio(Jam)3.67
#388Mood(Jam)3.29
#737Overall(Jam)3.03
#826Fun(Jam)2.76
#1013Innovation(Jam)2.35
#1071Theme(Jam)2.24

Comments

okoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Well Done.

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:51pm

There should be upgrades for character and equipments... Maybe an idle weapon, hahahahahah. ^^

phi says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:21pm

Okay, either I didn't quite get the concept of the game, or this is a game about clicking on a cat hundreds of times until it disappears... The tutorial is nicely done, and the UI is well designed. Graphics and audio are very appealing, but I feel like it needs more gameplay to be fun.

Rscar says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Not sure if I just missed the upgrades, but if the game had upgrades I couldn't find them...I want upgrades! (for full cookie clicker goodness) I LOVED the art, the cats were amazing, and the music/polish were top notch as well, I just wish there was more of a game underneath haha

jirrev says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Thanks for the feedback, we were indeed planning on upgrades, even had the art, I simply didn't have the time to implement them next to my work. But we are working on another version (made in Unity) which does have the store implemented.

local minimum says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Fantastic artwork, great attention to detail and the interactions worked really nice. I outpatted a bunch of cats, gained some levels but I didn't find any use for the noodles. I was also really unlucky to get a very stubborn cat early that I only did 2 points on each pat and it had almost 1000 pats before giving up. So the randomization needs some tweaking. I really liked the audio and graphics though.

medidog says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Really cute game and graphics but there was no point in the end, as there's no sense of achievement.

pixelpotions says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:15pm

I would love to see it further developed, with itens and upgrades selection, because really, the art is pretty good and I love this kind of clickers! Very great job, awesome entry.

Swynfel says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 9:57pm

This game has awesome graphics, music, sound effects and they are no bugs or anything.

However, sadly, what's missing is the gameplay in itself. I know I'm not really into idle/clicking games, but even if you are a adept of the genre, I think you expect a little more than just clicking...

You added a "random" aspect to the spawning cats. That was a good idea, because most of the clicking games always have the same enemies, just with different sprites. You had a LOT of sprites, and random levels / life : that made the game more diverse. However, it was not always so balanced, especially in the beginning.
I would have liked a few upgrades, and a "story" in the sense that giving ramen to Pumpum (that's his name?) could actually make him say more things on the universe (or something). The game really feels uni-dimensional right now.

It's really a shame for the gameplay, because your team knows how to make cool art, and a very polished game (the help/tutorial was awesome, even the "credits" rocked).

I hope you to see your team again for the next ludumdare, and if so I hope you make a game of a genre I like more!

jirrev says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:21pm

I have listened to all the feetback you guys have given me and I totaly Agree, that's why a new updated added in the promised store that people asked me for. You can download it from the Itch.io store and it should transfer your safe over to the updated version. Do not worry, the game that was made within the time constraints is still online and downloadable for the remainder of the judging period. We are also still working on the ULTIMATE version that will run on a different engine than Game-Maker.

The Artist (Tim Schipper) Really likes the compliments and I personaly take the blame for the lack of content on game-play's end, my work and real life were kind of in the way of this jam and I personally under-performed on this jam in the respect of gameplay.
Thank you for judging and keep tapping. We hope to see you again and we hope you like the game with these minor tweeks!

Aaranos says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:39pm

The graphics and UI are great. I think it needed more substance to get you to play longer, such as upgrades or rewards for clicking.

Docjekyll says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:39am

Charming art style :3

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:43am

Very personal game. Nice game, and concept. keep going ;).
try our game plz :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

Jungle says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:24pm

I really like the graphs and the UI. Very good entry! Congratulations

methylenblub says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Really nice game, although I miss something like if you don't tap quickly you receive damage
Also i felt pretty bad attacking those cute cats :(!
The music it's also really cool!

Przekop says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:21pm

I didn't quite get where it is about shapeshifting. But those graphics were SOOOO KAWAIIIII.

Odyssey says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:26am

Pretty good, the graphics were great!

hazzahazzam says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:29am

The UI is a little busy. Needs more gameplay too.

StrayCat says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:48am

I like where this game is going, you need to work on more gameplay post-jam. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]