Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Polymorph

by cameronpenner - Jam Entry

A simple game of shapes, similar to rock-paper-scissors. My best score is 813!

I decided to go with GameMaker this time round, forgot that there's no free web export, so it's download only -_-

Also, I made the whole thing using pretty much only drag and drop code! Not sure if that's an achievement or not :P (I've mostly switched to Unity C# by now)

Credits to Allen Penner for helping with the audio!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Audio(Jam)4.00
#73Humor(Jam)3.75
#181Mood(Jam)3.63
#199Fun(Jam)3.54
#199Theme(Jam)3.78
#269Overall(Jam)3.54
#320Innovation(Jam)3.31
#643Graphics(Jam)3.15
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:08pm

It was difficult to get started, but I really enjoyed the way each individual piece moved. The game felt simple and polished and there was definitely no over ambition with the project, which is good for these competitions.

Robber says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:18pm

solid game, very fun to play, my highscore so far 332

StianTheDark says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:50pm

No Linux version, can't judge.

qikcik says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Good Game :D

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:55pm

The controls are very hard, but the gameplay is nice, good job.

IDidGame says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:07pm

nice and simple, the music was good
not sure about the narrator, i think i like it?
i mean i never even told him hes my daddy in the first place :)
my finaly score is 452

ohi12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Really fun!

spiffl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:24pm

I LOVE THIS GAME
the concept is SO solid. i love the way the different pieces move, especially the teleporting square! and the way it teleports just by holding a direction and releasing instead of having to push a button or something is very smart! and of course the music and narrator are a great addition.

i do have one big criticism, though: it's wayyyyyyyyy too easy. i didn't actually *lose* the game, I just stopped playing at some point to come write this review. However, the fact that I was enjoying the movement and mechanics so much despite the lack of difficulty really says something! great job :)

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Nice game! Simple but still fun!

Lagoe says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:35pm

little tricky control... but nice game.

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:38pm

"This is why I'm going to the prom with you" "HMMMM YES." Basically Macho Man Randy Savage on a RPS spree. Love it.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Kappa has your back! Great concept, smooth animations, challenging in the later parts. Awesome!

batmanasb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Apparently Game Maker games are the least likely to run in WINE on Linux :(

ShadowTemplar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Nice game! I liked the simplicity of it very much. The music is great! The tutorial level could be a bit faster-paced, but overall I liked it very much! GG :)

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:14am

Pauuulymoooorph haha loved it

apalade says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Mmmm... polymorph. :D

It took a bit to figure out the controls but once they clicked it was easy. Clever idea!

davor10105 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:14pm

simple, but fun!

May 4, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Great soundtrack, and the graphics were nice, I liked the color palette. Once I read the help I had lots of fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]