Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Stellar Pendulum

by dwhiffing - Compo Entry

Use the mouse to fling your star into other stars. The harder the better!

However, If you stretch your stellar band too far, it will snap.

Red stars will make you grow larger and heavier, blue stars will give your band more strength.

Get as many points as you can before the time is up!




Based partially on CANO-Lab's Pendulumania.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Innovation4.03
#44Fun3.93
#289Overall3.41
#500Audio2.59
#504Mood2.88
#523Graphics2.90
#878Theme2.41
#1201Coolness48%

Comments

Charzendat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Cool game. Fun and innovative. Good job :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:01pm

I like smooth mechanics which uses this game. It could be more interesting with some features. However it's a good game. Well done ++

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:04pm

kinda hard to control but still really fun, i keep averagging around 3500 ha

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:13am

Loved the physics in this one, Could be a really great game if you expanded on the idea with enhanced graphics and sound design! Very cool start, I could see it being very addicting. :)

I'd love for you to check out my game, Tito's Revenge!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

Allov says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:16am

man, dieing is so scary, I jumped everytime with the sound lol

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:22am

25000 points :) I love this mechanic! Nice, simple graphics and audio, too! Thanks for making this game, I might come back to it :)

pkenney says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:35am

Love it - high score was 2274 but I bet you could get really good at this.

I like the simple graphics and the unassuming sound effects, the mood is right.

I love that it doesn't instruct you, and lets you figure it out.

The only problem I had after getting over the hump is the way things go from totally fine to game over instantly, so there's not so much tension building as I see things spiraling out of control... it's just already over before I know there's a problem.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:58am

innovative and unique game with controls that were a bit odd for me personally but i still liked the game!
check out my game: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Funske says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07am

Wow that was a really satisfying game. I'm hooked, the game is really fun. Sound effects add a lot, and all the animations are really well done. Great job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:06am

Physics felt really smooth! Better graphics will make this quite fun to play

MrBoxBox says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:25pm

This is an awesome game! It was really smart of you to show the player where are the next balls going to be. It adds an element of planning to your game.

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Neat game. Smooth controls and easy to understand. Keep going

JoseArias says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Very fun to play. The physics are very smooth. I enjoyed a lot. Very well done.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:48am

Great job! It was very fun and refreshing

Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:04am

I am not too sure where the theme fits into this game, perhaps that you are shifting the forces on your star? But a very nice, solid game! Virtually zero load time, playable on all platforms, responsive play with tons of fun. This is what LD entries are meant to be :)

Swynfel says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Wow ! This game was sooo cooool !

It's very innovative and it feels very polished. It "felt" very good just spinning the ball around like an idiot. Congratulations on the mechanics !

The graphics are simple, but not ugly. Pleasant "trace" visual effect. Maybe you could have either filled or removed the inside of the grey circle, the end of the rubber-band-like segment is displayed and it's not perfect (it's a details, because there isn't any big reproachable problem).

Maybe losing is a little bit too brutal ? Just showing a "fake" elasticity could have help (you show 100% force when you're actually spinning at 90%). It would make the snapping feel less random.

Good thing the next spawning locations are shown. Good "after-death" "animation" (the star bouncing feels good, it lowers your rage)

So simple but (very) pleasant game : good job ! It might be simple, but since I played for so long it means you have done your work !

LeReveur says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:20pm

It needs dexterity and attention to get a lot of points, it was fun to play and challenging, good job. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]