Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Druid 5000

by AuthorX - Jam Entry

This is my third LD attempt, and the first that I feel I completed. The Druid 5000 is here, and may the fastest shapeshifter win!

A race for 1-4 players, change your shape to match the terrain and keep up your momentum. Each of 3 forms will be fast on one terrain, faster on another, and bogged down and slow in the third. The keyboard controls are listed on the instruction screen, and in theory gamepad controls work but I found that Unity would randomly decide which # each gamepad was assigned, so only connecting one control may let you control player 2 or 4.

The only thing I had to cut from scope, and would have added if I had more time, was a jump button (dive for the bird) to avoid obstacles, which would have enabled an auto-run mode to see how far you can go without hitting an obstacle.

The graphics, of course, are extremely basic but I would not have been able to produce much better if I had more time.

I feel pretty good about my progress for only having done development during these last 3 jams, but in the future I hope to practice gamedev and make more solid projects on my own time so the next time I can make something more substantial or polished.

Note: made in Unity, playable with Unity Web Player or as a Windows download.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#355Theme(Jam)3.59
#619Fun(Jam)3.03
#642Innovation(Jam)2.94
#707Humor(Jam)2.07
#858Overall(Jam)2.91
#987Mood(Jam)2.24
#1016Graphics(Jam)2.31

Comments

urfbound says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18am

Nice multiplayer game! I like the use of the theme a lot, and how it's a little open to interpretation in spots. The fact that in spaces running and flying are a little more comparable adds to the tension. A great laugh when playing with a friend or two (I think multiplayer really adds to the 'Humour' value 100% of the time). One recommendation I would make is that each player should appear on a different 'lane' in the raceway to give a better sense of where each particular player is when more than two are playing. Maybe it would also be good if each player had a different track, or powerups were available, so you always felt like you were in the race. I really liked the graphics in your game, and I think the 2D characters on the 3D backgrounds really made them pop. The sprites you made were also great in my opinion. I liked that they also helped drive home whether or not you were in the right terrain too. Great design there.

Had a lot of fun with your game! Thanks for the submission - hope you had fun making it :D

CalmKai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:21am

Good game!

ayewyn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:27am

Has potential.

AuthorX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:51am

Thanks for the comments! I did think about moving the players to the sides if there were more than one (part of the reason it is extra wide), but that would have required moving around the stream in the forest area so the fish didn't swim through the ground, and that was a little more work than I wanted to do.

saucygames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56am

GG, local coop all the way!!!!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:12am

Simple idea but well done!

tweedle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58am

Really neat game! Shifting to keep up your speed was a little tough at first, but I quickly got the hang of it. Multiplayer racing game using with a shape-shifting theme: I like it!

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:17am

Solid idea and execution. The art-style seems to complement the game very nicely.

lanestp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Really neat racing game. I like that it is somewhat more forgiving. (A lot of these games are 1 hit death this LD) Great job!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:39am

Neat idea, challenging but fun. Great job!

retrograze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:41am

I like it! I couldn't test out the multiplayer (no friends hahaha), but the game was really fun regardless. Love the MS Paint graphics, too! It was really well done, and I enjoyed it!

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:49am

I like the game idea! Very cool!!! Congratulations, especially the multiplayer feature! ^^

maartene says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Clever game! The rock-paper-scissors mechanic actually adds some strategy: do I accept the suboptimal shape if it means less "switching"? I could only play this game single player. I believe online high scores would help with single player. As it currently stands I have no idea how well I'm doing.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:50pm

This is pretty fun with more people. I would've liked more feedback on how effective my current form is on my current landscape. The tiniest sounds can make your game a lot better.

Gametery says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Tested it as single player, i'm sure the multiplayer option makes the game even more entertaining!
Nice interpretation of the theme, a racing game wouldn't have come to my mind. Keep up the good work! :)

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:18am

Nice concept, but need better graphic

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:10am

nice entry! graphics could do a little more... interseting tho :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]