Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Private Tom, Dick, or Harry

by randomhuman - Jam Entry

Liars, cheats, and criminals cannot hide from a Detective who could be anyone...

Click to move, talk to people and open doors. Click the "Shift" button to take the form of a suspect and elicit new information from other characters, but be careful - you can only shift three times! When you know who the guilty party is, click the "Accuse" button to point the finger...

Follow me on twitter for updates (I'm working on some graphical polish and a third level) and future games:
https://twitter.com/randomhuman

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#52Mood(Jam)4.05
#61Humor(Jam)3.84
#182Overall(Jam)3.66
#226Theme(Jam)3.74
#245Fun(Jam)3.47
#254Innovation(Jam)3.45
#315Graphics(Jam)3.74

Comments

Gyfis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Loved this, the game mechanic, art style, music, dialogues. Wish there were more levels. Great Job!

joekinley says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Great game, but I could easily cheat ^^

JefePapaya says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:15pm

The art is amazing.
Awesome atmosphere.

Kudos.

Drury says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:33pm

This is a really great concept, I'd buy a full game with this mechanic.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Interesting mechanic and I loved the humour. Shame it's a bit short though.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Really liked this! Lovely music and art, innovative and interesting gameplay. Would like to see more levels!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:15am

Good one, great music and very interesting dialogues. I left wanting more hehe

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:19am

Very well designed game. I wish if it was more. Nice graphics and sound effects

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:34am

Wow I loved your game! Very good take on the theme but i wished it to be a little longer. This another game from a previous ludumdare came to my mind while playing it;

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=11045

merzlot says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:54am

Perfect mood of noir film, good job. :)

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:48pm

The concept is interesting and well executed. The writing and the humor is great, and the music adds to the atmosphere. The art is also very fitting. Overall, a very cohesive and good game.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Fantastic atmosphere and excellent writing, wish there were more levels... MAKE MORE LEVELS! :P

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:14pm

One of the best games I've played so far, I just wish there was one more level :P

tompudding says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Loved the pixel art and the shading. The dialogue was also great!

drazil100 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:07am

8 Bit detective game. Love the concept.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:50am

Oh this is such a clever idea! So much potential, would love to see it expanded. Brilliant writing, too. Great work, full marks!

axoona says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:34pm

I really liked the game, you NEED to add more levels! :)
Great mood, graphics. Perfect

davor10105 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:36pm

great stuff, well put together!

Louspirit says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:43am

I really like the mood and humour! Really fun to try talking to everybody with different forms.

CaptainPilot says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:48am

Really strong mood to this one :) I didn't get how to advance after a level ended for a while - turns out you needed to click on a character, which confused me because you never had to click on the character to advance the dialog at any other point.
Still, looks excellent, fun to play and a really interesting idea that I've not seen done before! Rated highly and would recommend :)

randomhuman says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:47pm

@CaptainPilot You should be able to click anywhere to advance at that point. But, I probably should have made an explicit "continue" button, same as on the failure dialog. Thanks for the feedback!

May 2, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Thanks for your comment in our game!
Nice entry, the minimalistic pixel art is really well done, the illumination effect and the music fits perfectly, nice dialogs with cool humor... feels pretty polish in general, one of the best entries i have tried this jam, good job :)

Nesferjo says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Well-developed idea. And I like the noir mood! Also, music is cool ;)

APantaloni says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:33am

Short but really nice and funny, I'd love to see this expanded upon.

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:33am

the mood is amazing :) good job interesting concept, a little more polish and mechanics, this'd be too great :D

May 8, 2016 @ 3:30pm

Really nice game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/IgqbHpL7wxo

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]