Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The polyman

by marmpa - Jam Entry

Controls: Left,Right,Space,T

Instalation: Unzip the polyman folder and run the Thepolyman.exe

Final thoughts:This is my second LD. This game is in my opininon way better that the last one. Thank you every one for checking my game out.

Description: There is a man named poly. He was blessed by the gods with the ability to change forms. Help him win through the stages

Levels: I have implemented this feature from the start but never did mentioned it.
You can really easily make your own levels.
How?:So when you download the game and unzip it ,in the same folder there is a folder named levels and inside that .txt named levels.There you see a level!##### and #####level1.Also the same for 2 and 3. Inside the contents of level1##### and #####level1 as well as level2 and level3 there are a lot of symbols.you can rewrite the contents of that with a method.First you need to know that you can write up to 40 lines and how many columns you want.

Use: Capital B: a single rectangle with dimensions bases on game screen width and height. Capital T: is basically a capital B but with 4B width and 1B height.
Capital S: The same with T but instead of width it adds height. Capital D: is basically a 40B height and 1B width. Capital R: 1B height and 40B width. Capital E:is a T in every direction but has a property of ending the current level. The "." is nothing but refer from using any other symbol than "." cause i dint include any other symbols in my platform making class.

Conclution: You can make your own levels by writing inside the levels 40 X 100+ every character including "." make spawn a block at a number based on how many sumbold before it.The screen is basically a 40X100+ surface so if you want to spawn something at 4 position you need to write ...B insted of B. Give it a try it is not as difficult as you may thing after all i had to make it easy for myself :)

Bugs: Many of you metioned in the comments some things and i thought i should point them out so you it will not ruin your experience.
Problem: there is a bug that sometimes prevents you from moving left or right.
Solution: You jump and you can bypass those points.
Cause: I have a file named levels.txt you can check it out either on my
source or the game itself i have a folder named levels. So basically the way i generate the levels is based on that file and i believe that the platforms overlap and cause that bug.I will fix it sometime this week

Problem:you can jump on the walls
Solution: you can out of them though there is no point to do so
Cause: the same as above i believe that platforms overlap

When i started i had planned to make the human to climb but i was so focused on making some little changes on the game mechanics i had no time to do so. So you literally spam T . I tried to balance it out with making the rabbit slow but didnt work :P.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#887Theme(Jam)2.80
#994Mood(Jam)2.17
#1113Innovation(Jam)1.89
#1150Fun(Jam)1.91
#1179Overall(Jam)2.11

Comments

arhpositive says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:48am

Decent entry. But the fixed time limit puts too much pressure on the player, imo.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:33am

Decent game, could have used a replay button.

themadknights says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:49am

I don't know if that is intended but you can climb walls. I like the animation of the player and the sounds :).

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:52am

Not the best game ever but definitely an improvement over last year! The time limit is fine, I was able to beat it! ;-) There are some minor bugs (getting stuck) and gameplay/level design could be improved, but just keep working and you will become better!

Would be awesome if you take a look at our game as well!

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:35pm

This is a great second attempt! I didn't really understand the point of limiting the amount of time that you could shapeshift since you could immediately change back. Maybe if there were some puzzles that needed to be solved as the human it would have worked better.

ManuSaiz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:48pm

I like the music, and the shapeshifting skill of the kid. The game will improve a lot when you fix the bug causing character to get stuck while walking. I would also tweak the falling times, as it gets forever and causes frustration in combination with the time limit of the game and the shapeshifting time itself. I agree with Minibobbo on the time limit not adding much value to the gameplay.

Keep working and your skills will get better :) Cheers!

Venneque says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Personally, I can't handle the graphics. (just seen you dont want to rate them xD)
A bit innovative as the ... thing I assume is a rabbit is quite OP and you end up spamming T to get it asap.
I thought the timer would annoy me, and in fact it did the opposite. I'm not sure 90 secondes is realistic though. xd
Could give something good I'm sure.

bob5602 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Pretty good but I had no idea what I was doing for a while. Even once I was able to transform, everything felt very slow. I think a bit better of a pace would have livened this up!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:35pm

An ok entry! I was against the timer at first, but it added a pressure the game needed. Without it, I probably would have been bored. Good job!

Falak says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:50am

If you jump on wall you can jump again.

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:53am

I kept getting stuck to platforms or in the tunnel at the beginning, is that normal? Otherwise, the game can become a solid platformer with some adjustments, like increasing the time limit (I have a hard time thinking you can beat the game in just 90 seconds!). Also, is it just me or the transformation sound is familiar?

Good job on your second entry though! Your art is already better than my programmer art (which is why I'm very thankful for my brother's art XD), and there's no other way to improve than keep making games. Rock on!

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:33am

Not really sure what you're meant to be changing into :P i completed it! Apart from getting stuck on the geometry all the time it wasn't bad. Well done!

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:40am

Everyone thanks for the feedback and @abcdef65g the sound sounds familiar cause it is.I cut the first 1-2 seconds of digimons first opening.Hope you like it.

staircase27 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:41am

Nice idea but basically always wanted to be in the shifted form so just spammed the T button. Could be good if they had different abilities and actually being humans was needed at some points

Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:55am

Took some time to understand how to beat first obstacle (climb walls). Human form should have its own advantages (e.g. climb stairs or something)

ragnta says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:23pm

Nice idea :) , but sometimes I don't know what the player doing, because the collision is a little bit bugged :(

tayl1r says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Good work. It has some issues, but learning from it will make you stronger!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:29pm

The window was a fixed size and slightly bigger than my primary laptop resolution (secondary is my 4k), so I might have missed things above or below the main play area. Congrats on your second LD.

d3garcia says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Too slow plus you could work more on the collision system, the game idea looks great.

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Not bad for a second LD, and for a 1 man team.
You should try make the scope of the game smaller and spend more time on the mechanic and graphic in my opinion.
Watch this video:
http://gamedevelopment.tutsplus.com/tutorials/bringing-your-game-to-life-in-10-simple-steps--cms-23447
If you implement his tips, it would make your game much better.
Hope to see you in the next jam! =]

MintArcade says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:38am

Solid entry. Need some polishing ( of course ;) ), but very neat game.

schw3de says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:28pm

I like the music! Keep on going with the good work!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:00pm

You move a bit too slow, and the level design and polish could use work. Decent effort though.

Alphish says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Ooooh dear, a platformer. Not only that, but a platformer with a time limit (game-scale rather than level-scale, at that!) and very sloppy mechanics. Also, no ingame explanation for controls, so I had to check for these in game description, losing time in between. It didn't work out well. The graphics didn't really help, either (so *that* was a rabbit? O.o').

I guess you still have a rather long way to go to become a full-fledged games developer. Keep improving!

thebrainfuse says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:42am

Nice game overall, but instead of T, maybe something like Q, and also having the Restart option instead of Quit... good levels!

dollarone says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:35am

Cool little game. The timer made it into a speed run challenge, which was interesting. I made it with 1.3 seconds left :)

I liked the transformation animation and the rabbit. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]