Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Eggplant’s Dynamic Chimerization

by DAT.NOT.MY.GAME! - Jam Entry

An eggplant with mustache, that's you. You've stolen a magic crystal that is randomly switching you in a form of what you see around. For this stealing you were sent to a magical Island, whose habitants are always confront each other. Try to survive and find the way out!

How to play:
- Use the arrow buttons to move.
- Shift to shift your shape.
- Transform to the most safe form for every moment!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#86Audio(Jam)3.84
#89Graphics(Jam)4.29
#93Humor(Jam)3.63
#162Theme(Jam)3.87
#359Mood(Jam)3.33
#546Overall(Jam)3.24
#606Innovation(Jam)2.97
#837Fun(Jam)2.75

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Really great graphics and I like the song/sound effects, rating high humor for shape shifting egg plant. The problem I have is I don't understand the goal of the game or how to play, most of the time I am running aimlessly and then going to a door. It then says wrong door and I have to do the same thing again. I think their should be more instruction on how to play the game.

Soron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Nice art/audio, and amusing presentation. The gameplay is a bit tedious, though - I feel like I'm just running around aimlessly.

hippy dave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Looks cool, but I'm not really sure what's going on :)

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14am

Very fun. The graphics are beautiful. Great work!

cabezotta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:04am

Outstanding aesthetic! I didn't know what i had to do, but it was fun just to wander around the level!

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:47am

Overall quite nice even though I'm not sure what the goal is... I've been running around and always finding the "wrong door". Also I seem to have trouble getting the hang of attacking other island residents ?
But still it's quite fun with good humor :)

Chikoness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Have been seeing your updates on twitter and ludum dare page, and i'm excited to finally be able to play it xD I actually quite like it eventho I'm not even sure what I'm suppose to do LOL. Very very polished looks, greeeeat asthaetics, smooth and humorous gameplay, I love everything about it!!!

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Funny game, catches!

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:35pm

It was painfully fun and enjoyable!:D Thanks for the great work!

Pibeex says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Really fun game!

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Eggplant cool :-)

Trickman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Insanely good graphics, given the time constraint. Fun idea and gameplay, too!

Also, Eggplant looks like Dick Butt. Look it up :v

samlo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:48pm

This game is beautiful and hilarious! It took me a little while to understand what I was meant to do though. Overall quite well done!

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Overall a nice game. Had a bit of trouble figuring out what I was supposed to do. I liked the artwork and audio a lot.
Good job!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:16pm

I never quite figured out the mechanics, but I love the graphics, theme, and humor!

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:25pm

great graphics, great humor, not sure what gameplay is

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Amazing graphics and the sound is great, but I'm not really sure what I'm supposed to do... Also, I'd make the comic a little slower. It goes by almost too quickly to read.

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:05pm

I love the graphic and sounds. It created a great mood! Was a bit confusing at first though. An more in depth tutorial might mitigate that.

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:25pm

I really liked the graphics, they look awesome! The sir-eggplants look so good! I had fun but it took me a while to figure out what to do, LOL. Nice use of the shapeshifting mechanic.
I also have to say that it becomes a little bit confusing to be told that it is the wrong door, even though it increases the score.

abuzreq says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Great graphics , I liked the interaction between the other creatures in the island (How Eggplants duplicate and how wolves feed on goats)
Took me sometime to realize who beats what .
Story wise, I didn't get the reason of finding "the door" each time.

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Really great game, I can`t believe it was made in 72 hours, it`s so complete!
Congratulations to the team

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Had fun playing around in this beautiful little World.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:29am

Fun game. Good for the young ones :)

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:30pm

The music was good, but unsure what I had to do :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Nailed the presentation, absolutely killed it. Unfortunately I'm joining the choir on having no idea what I'm supposed to be doing, but it sure was fun running around making a mess!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:47pm

I don't understand the game at all. However, graphics are beautiful and there are some funny easter eggs.

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Loved the low poly artwork and the concept behind it (mating eggplants LOL). Sound effects and background music were good too.

Great entry, good luck!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Presentation was great, I already expected that from your update posts and you didn't disappoint. High marks on that, audio and mood :D

Gameplay, though, is still a bit lacking. The shapeshifting mechanic is good, but movement, specially when interacting with enemies, is a bit cumbersome. Also, the meme texts seem a bit forced and out of place most of the time.
Despite this, you did a great job, mechanics can always be polished. Nice!

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Graphics wise, this was a wonderful game. The controls and music were tight as well. Unfortunately, I didn't understand what I was doing. Sometimes my avatar would change randomly, even when I didn't press shift, and when I restarted after dying I kept respawning right next to a wolf that just attacked and killed me several times in a row.

There is definitely potential here, but a more clear goal and some tutorial type explanation would do it good. I still played for a while though, because I did enjoy running around... especially as the eggplant.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Not sure what the goal here was, but the graphics and audio are nice. I was laughing a lot at the writing, and the concept itself. The opening cinematic was pretty cool.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:00pm

What a strange little game, I liked the low-poly art

tgrehawi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Amazing polish! I don't know what to do, though

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Ha ha ha! Nice graphics, music and mechanic!! It's so funny! Great work!

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:46pm

It's fun but I really don't know what I'm doing XD

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:55pm

I am not sure where the infamous doors are, but I like the graphics and the shifting mechanic of this game. The music seems to fit well and the little models are great. I appreciated the little things too, like "Leeeeroy Jenkins."

Overall, honestly, it's pretty cool - I've never been an eggplant in a game before. Nice submission.

Drkr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Eggcellent game, although I question the mating mechanic.

Nesferjo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Hm..., I don't really know what to do in this game haha but the art style is cool, the audio as well, I like the mood.

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:13pm

So the presentation for this project was great. I loved the rancho-esque music and the graphics and sound effects were really quite charming. The gameplay for what it was (or at least what I got out of it which was run around looking for doors trying to get a high score) really kept my interest longer than expected. Not to say the game was bad in any way, just that the mechanic was really quite simple and repetative. I did enjoy the timed shifting which kept the pace and interest up. It would be good if you developed this further and made a real game with a slightly more complex mechanics set behind it is what I am saying. Other than that, really solid entry!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Looks nice and makes me happy. I had no idea whats going on here though honestly, its a hot bunch of nonsense.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:17am

That was hilarious! Becoming an eggplant and mating with others was gold!

cudabear says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:10pm

There is an impressive amount of models and animations in this game! Everything seems so full of life, well done! The music compliments the game well, sound effects are perfectly used, and in general the environment is awesome.

The gameplay, however, is a bit strange. I guess I'm supposed to run around and hide until a door appears, and then the level gets reset and I do it again? It's not the most fun or engaging, and sometimes you get screwed over by the random shape-shifting mechanic. Rather than hiding with other creatures of your shape, it seems it's best to just hide in a corner.

This is a great entry that looks and sounds great, but has gameplay that needs some work. Well done!

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Nice game. Fun shapeshifting mechanic! Though the door objective was less interesting than the rest, replacing it by surviving time scoring could be an option. Good work anyway.

siryakko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:44pm

That art direction OMG! Love the main character and the concept, really perfect base for a complete awesome game

blinry says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Wow, really amazing graphics and audio! The goal is a bit unclear, and movement feels tedious.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:51am

Really nice graphics and characters! I love the eggplant with the little mustache haha I could never find the right door tho

Aaranos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:21am

Game is quirky but it needs some kind of guidance. I played at least ten rounds and still didn't know what was going on.

Asturk says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:29am

Very really good graphics. The game is also very good, but its still confusing sometimes to what enemies exacly can you attack or even about the goals of find the door (sometimes it really takes a while for the door to appear). But thats a very good idea for a game, hope you can really upgrade this further!

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:45am

Hello! Good game.

Loved the mustache eggplants fauna. The music was good, the mood was fantastic and graphics were really nice.
The gameplay has its problems: the interactions and objectives weren't clear enough and didn't feel juicy to play.

The project has potential, good job and keep working!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:51am

Pretty good game. i like the music and the graphics :D

Ironhead says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:32am

Eggplants with mustaches! How can you go wrong with that!? Haha, Well done!

pyokoanarogue says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Weeeeeird game ... but very well made!

jordgubben says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:56am

@.@ ^.^ {*}_{*}
(No words can express my feelings right now)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:13am

Weird, definitely weird :) Looks really nice and is funny. What exactly I'm supposed to do I cannot say, but it was enjoyable nonetheless.

hunttis says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:31pm

What is going on here?! :D

Ok, nice visuals, funky music, didn't really understand what to do :D

SemiColon says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Very nice graphics and interesting choice of characters. The goal was not entirely clear, as everyone has said, it seems the main mechanic is 'running around until you find the wrong door'.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:49pm

I love the art and the whimsical mood you created with the music and bright visuals. Nice work!

avocadojoe says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:05pm

nice game.

Gamescalation says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Indeed, nice graphics and sound - though I had actually no idea what was going on or whatever I should do ^^

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:56pm

I didn't find this door I was looking for, but it was fun to try ! :D

Yazara says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:11pm

The graphics, especially the animations, are awesome :)
And the audio fits perfectly!
I didn't really understand my objective though, what's up with this "Oops, wrong door!"?

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Very coole game with cute art. The theme implementation is also good. Keep up the good work!

KairosXIII says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:02am

Love the art and audio. Reminds me of Toejam and Earl with the door concept. Good job!

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Gorgeous graphics but I can't understand the gameplay. Which shape has the advantage over which shape and what am i supposed to do. I did not understood what caused me to die. Maybe some more explanation would be welcome ;)

Yakka says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:43am

I'm not sure to have understood everything but the mood was fancy!

torcado says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:19pm

graphics are very nice. but i have no idea what i'm doing. im just randomly walking around only knowing that theres some door and i can change shapes in a RPS type system. this coupled with the game randomly yelling memes and 'XD so random' humor at me, makes for a very confusing experience.
but the sounds and visuals are very good.

Uson Chen says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:50am

Funny, though a little bit confusing. Great graphics and audio.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:23am

Really great graphics and I like the sound FX. It was painfully fun and enjoyable. Well done ++

Sabina Lis says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:09am

That eggplant character is great, they are all about the love. Regarding the game, i didn't know what to do, every time i got to the door it said wrong door :(

Xanjos says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Nope idea what I'm actually supposed to do in this game but I enjoyed the rather surreal premise.

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:18am

It's pretty confusing as to what is going on, but it has a nice look.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]