Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tangram Cookie Factory

by Folztarg - Jam Entry

Tangram Cookie Factory #LDJAM

---ABOUT----

Tangram Cookie Factory is a game were you owns a cookie factory were customer came by and ask you to do cookie in shape of animals by mounting their puzzles.

---CONTROLS---

Click on the "Recipes" icon, to select the silhouette and then mount your cookie, try to cover the whole silhouette and after that click on "Bake" button to serve the customer.

---CREDITS---

Art : Igor de Souza - @IgorFolz
Programming : Arthur Iung - @TuxLOL
Programming : Gustavo Fráguas
Music : Abstraction - https://t.co/DzkEDIcHFj

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#132Graphics(Jam)4.13
#228Audio(Jam)3.47
#348Innovation(Jam)3.28
#359Mood(Jam)3.33
#377Humor(Jam)2.75
#435Theme(Jam)3.47
#637Overall(Jam)3.13
#987Fun(Jam)2.50

Comments

Dawdawdo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:46am

This looks fun, but it would be nice if a dropbox login weren't required.

Brice says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:49am

I love the cardboard art, very cute. Gameplay wise, it was pretty hard and stressful! But that might just be me, I'm not a big fan of the diner dash type games. I was also confused about what was accepted, it seemed like I could somewhat just throw shapes on the plate and serve it just fine.

Folztarg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:52am

Dawdawdo, i'm sorry about that, we'll work a itch page so it can be downloaded from there, i'm sorry.

binarycoder says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53am

Fun game! Neat concept, was pretty entertaining. My only issue was the menu animations were too slow, which made it hard to find the shapes when crunched for time.

Folztarg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:55am

Brice, yeah about the shapes and the plate, further we'll work to improve that, is because the size of the silhouette in relation to the pieces.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:57am

The art was cool. -- Full screen didn't work right for me, it cut off the right most section of the picture, but it showed the whole thing in windowed mode.

tweedle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:02am

Unable to mount cookies. Kudos on the graphics though!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07am

Very charming!

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07am

Very nice feel to the game. Super hard to get the dishes in on time!

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:31am

Good game. the music was good and the graphics were awesome!
I had an issue at first seeing the swap recipe arrows, it would be great if they were bigger! At times I couldn't see what customers were ordering due to the cards and menu plaque. Also it was rather difficult to go from beginning to end of the recipes in good time.

Asturk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:37am

Nice idea for a game, and thas really an awesome game! The graphics and music are really well done. I really such at tangram games, though, but this really don't take out the merit for this game! Nicely done!

Gametery says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Style of the graphics was really nice. Wish there was a better way to choice the correct recipe, switching through the pages to find the ones which was ordered was time consuming and the audio of the unhappy customers made it kinda stressy. Nevertheless it is a nice approach to the theme, good job!

kleinzach says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Very hard! I really like the presentation of everything.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Well I must admit i'm a bit disappointed : I was expecting some true tangram action but the recipe shapes and triangles dont match. In the end the game main difficulty is the recipe selection not the shape themselves.
On the other end I must admit a tangram puzzle game with snapping/turning and shape checking is a hard work for a 48h jam. The main ideas of tangram / cookie is very good and I think you could build a postjam vesions with more simple cookie shape ( for start ) and true shape detector + piece snaping. Lot of work, but I the result would worth it !

amras0000 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:18am

Admittedly, I played on wine, which might have screwed with some things. If you throw a linux build up I'll happily take another look later. But unity tends to run fine through wine, so I'm going to assume the bugs I encountered are yours and not wine's.

I started off the game trying to form the tangrams, but couldn't find any way to rotate the pieces and all but 3 of them (judging by your screenshot) were offscreen to the right, where I couldn't reach them. So I couldn't cover the entire shape.

This didn't seem to matter though. Just selecting the recipe and hitting 'bake' (With no pieces on the plate) made the customer happy and satisfied.

The audio clips a fuckton. If your audio guy has a preamp, use that, otherwise either find some other way to drop the sensitivity of your mic when you record, or just hold it further away from you. People notice bad audio quality sooner than bad visual quality, remember.

And the animation on the recipe book, while kinda pretty, took ages. If I can only see two recipes at once, I'm gonna be trying to flip through that book pretty fast and if I have to wait a whole second between each flip that's just unpleasantly frustrating.

Once my first day ended, I got a "good job you won, click here to go to the next level" screen, and when I didn't click the next level button for a couple seconds, a "you lost, click here to restart" screen was overlayed on top of the first, not letting me progress.

I have to imagine this isn't your intended end user experience. Remember you're allowed to fix game-breaking bugs and reupload them, just maybe mark the new version as not the original.

amras0000 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:19am

Also, you're missing your source. Fix that asap.

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:16am

Cute art

Sabina Lis says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:13am

Nice really hard for me, maybe if there was another way to rotate the shapes, or if you could rotate both ways

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]