Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Forge Rampage

by Riftpoint - Jam Entry

--------------------------------------------------------------

Forge the right weapon for your heroes! Slay monsters to get coins and buy upgrades. Watch out for the class change bar, when it reaches zero, your hero will change its class and you will have to forge a new weapon.

---------------------------------------------------------------
How to play:
1- You start with a hero, you have to slay monsters to get coins. Don't let the monsters hit you.

LEFT & RIGHT ARROW KEYS = MOVE
UP ARROW KEY = JUMP

2- When the class bar reaches zero, your hero will change its class.

3- Pay attention to the new class. Ex: Big Fire Viking or Small Ice Wizard

4- Forge the right weapon for the new class using the right combination of buttons
LEFT,UP AND RIGHT KEY = choose each of the attributes

FIRST ATTRIBUTE = SIZE -------> Left=Small Up=Medium Right=Big

SECOND ATTRIBUTE = ELEMENT -------> Left=Fire Up=Normal Right=Ice

THIRD ATTRIBUTE = CLASS -------> Left=Warrior Up=Viking Right=Wizard

5-Slay more monsters with the new class!

6-Spend your coins with upgrades!

-----------------------------------------------
Feedback is always welcome! If you liked this game, leave a comment :)
----------------------------------------------
DO YOU WANT TO BE IN OUR GAME AND HAVE A VERSION OF YOU AS A CHARACTER?
Rate this game, submit a comment and send a PrintScreen of your game over screen to riftpointstudios@gmail.com If you killed more enemies than anyone, you will be the winner!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#98Audio(Jam)3.80
#108Overall(Jam)3.81
#142Fun(Jam)3.65
#159Graphics(Jam)4.06
#265Mood(Jam)3.47
#293Innovation(Jam)3.37
#300Humor(Jam)2.98
#412Theme(Jam)3.51

Comments

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:26am

I loved this game. So elegant, so neat, just wonderful in all it's aspects. Thank you for bringing this into my life

seanarooni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:26am

Great job! The blacksmith minigame seems a little out of place (its two games basically), but I got the hang out it pretty quickly (despite missing your instructions on this page heh), and the wizard and viking and other modifiers & upgrades were worth it.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:46am

Please, say that this game will be released for mobile (Mainly android)!!

It's really great! I liked the graphic, gameplay, music and monsters (I love monsters haha)

Congratulations guys!

imepp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:51am

I enjoyed playing this game! The concept of creating the hero was pretty fun and the mechanics were easy to catch. The shop was a nice addition too.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:35am

I really enjoyed playing this! I agree as it's a great mobile app game! Good work :)

esayitch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Very cool concept, the game feels relatively polished for such a short time, well done :D Graphics and sound are pretty suitable too.

The only thing I would improve are the in-game instructions. It took me a while to get the hang of it.

Good luck!

Big Cow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Really polished entry, great use of theme, simple but fun mechanics. liked! :)

thephantom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:44pm

great submission :D
very cool graphics and gameplay.
I didn't like the part about remembering the right combination but over all you did a really great job.

fprawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Great job, very well put together and fun concept.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Looks great and the music is very catchy. Controls are pretty good too once you learn how to play properly. Fun! The only thing I'm not a fan of is the coin upgrade system.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42pm

Very nicely done. Keeps you coming back. I would rework the forging section so it doesn't rely on memorizing static things outside the game. Perhaps you are presented with a string of key strokes to remember for x seconds and then have to execute it. Great work!

Soron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Awesome music, lovely sprites, addicting gameplay. Your team seems to know what it's doing :).

SojaBird says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:49pm

The gameplay is easy and pretty fun, though hard since you only get 2 lives :p I only got 4 swaps max.
Swapping classes reminds me a bit of Rogue legacy.

The audio was neat.
The minigame was a bit odd at first.

Crosstales says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Just wow, the best game I played this Jam.
High polished and and addicting gameplay.

Please add more stuff to buy

TheCain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:52pm

That was ok. I had fun, but it got boring pretty quick.

egos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:03pm

well polished
the combat phase are fun
the upgrade system is a good idea but frustrating in this version

RadMcCool says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Seems pretty polished. Had fun and would totally play on mobile.

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Nice grahpics. I find it a bit strange to randomly switch and having to match the elements without showing the arrows. The first dozen shift was missed because of that. :) But still nicely polished.

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:17am

Pretty cool little game. Liked the music.

OU GDA says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:39am

I really like this game. It's simple, challenging, and fun. I think it's cool that you have to forge a weapon.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:05am

Nicely done!

Loved the fact that this game had both fitting music and good sound - not many entries do - and the visual style was good too.

Complaints:

It's possible to roll the exact same class again. This happened twice for me so it's definitely a thing. If you roll the class you have, the game should just keep re-rolling until you get something with at least one quality that's different.

I don't really see what you get from forging your weapons beyond a risk of death your first couple times, so I'd take that out. I also didn't like how bats kinda move a bit when you're entering the class shift screen.

There doesn't seem to be much point to being Normal. I think I'd change that to Lightning and give Lightning attacks like a chain-lightning effect? Or cause lightning to strike down on you whenever you hit something, effectively working as an attack on any bats that might be above you? Or maybe Stone and give the character a temporary health that goes away if they get hit or class-shift again? Just a couple guesses at what might be fun.

Finally, when you're a Big Wizard your attack rate goes way down, which actually tends to *decrease* your DPS. I'd make it so the attack rate goes UP as a Big Wizard, and DOWN as a Small Wizard. That way there's some point to being a Big Wizard.

I'd also make it so the Wizard's attacks curve upward into the air instead of disappearing, so Wizards have a better chance against bats.

Just some thoughts to keep in mind as you flesh this out. This game is legit, and I really hope you build on it from here.

samlo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:19pm

I really liked the music, artstyle, and Tempest noises haha. I however don't find the game very playable. Certain class combinations are broken in that they can't damage enemies (I got big-normal-wizard at one point and his magic missiles just flew over enemies heads). The blacksmith minigame feels very out of place - the game might be more fun if it was removed entirely. Almost all the games I played ended with a failure of the blacksmith minigame because its way too much to remember 3 different attribues with 9 different key presses. If you do want to keep that, maybe make it so that instead of killing you, nailing the blacksmith minigame just provides a damage boost or something like that.

Overall I think the game is a cool idea, I just wish it was more distilled.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:34pm

So funny! And I love the music!!

Odyssey says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Fun but wasn't explained well, plus the combat is a bit unintuitive

LostViking says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Great game, the only thing I didn't like was the slow starts when I had everything maxed out.

johnasebok says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:50pm

I enjoyed the art direction and music. The characters and enemies all seemed well made and had a professional polish to them which is something that is rarely seen in a short gaem jam.

redwizard says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Very nice game. Too fun. Congratulations.

pjimmy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Cool use of the theme, clean visuals

Aaranos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Good art and concept. I feel like more control over the player would have made it more fun. The shop should also be placed after death for convenience.

morrilet says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:29pm

This game was fantastic. It felt so complete and it really sucked you in. Incredible entry.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Cool game. I loved the humor and the use of theme, great entry!

Idorrac says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Nice graphics and music. The gameplay is quite challenging and fun. I think the blacksmith part is sort of out of place... It is not particularly fun or challenging.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Soooo much fun!!! It took me a second to figure out how to collect the bonus but I got it!!! lol THE FIRE ROCKED! nice game

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:26am

Great potential, I was confused how to play at first.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:36am

This was awesome! Very fun and very high replay value. I like how it takes some effort to shapeshift. For improvement, you can make the timer for shapeshifting move faster as the game progresses, making it harder.

ployer says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:30am

nice work, fun to play

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Fun game with good graphics. The game play was well tuned and although the blacksmith thing took some getting used to. Would be nice to be able to go to the shop when you die rather than from the main menu. Overall a great entry.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Very cool entry you have created! Sound make the mood!

The learning curve is to high for me.
- Slime should be killed on fist strike
- Player should have more health (health bar)
- Give at the beginning, on start of class change hint what button should be pressed

Congrats for your great entry. Keep up the good work!

guoboism says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Really enjoyed the game! I like those simple game with upgrade. Also the class change system is nicely designed in this game!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Very nice looking game! It took me a few tries to kill all the enemies and see what would happen next, the blacksmith minigame was confusing as I couldn't remember what buttons to press...

Overall, it's a nicely polished game :) Good job!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:36am

great casual variation. jump and hit the ennemies at the nice is a cool idea

ocarson says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Good little game, feels quite complete, the shift between classes mechanic is pretty cool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]