Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Paranormal Investigator

by kwmx - Jam Entry

Play as a paranormal investigator, and hunt the shapeshifer. But, be careful, you only have one bullet!

The game:
There are various objects around the house, and the shapeshifter is one of them. Every one minute the shapeshifter will change his location, and will transform to another object. So you need to memorize the objects and their location in order to find him. You have only on chance if you chose the wrong object, you will lose.
-Entropy Developments
http://entropyd.com

Programming:Faisal Al-Hisan @KwMx
Art: Khaled Makshoush @5ldo0on


Music: https://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?isrc=USUAN1500065
Sound effects:
http://soundbible.com/1988-Gun-Cocking-Fast.html
http://soundbible.com/1998-Gun-Fire.html

Version 2:(Post-Jam)
Some minor bugs and glitches fixed:
Linux:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/82l44atpbs2bp0b/Paranormal%20Investigator%20-%20Lin.zip?dl=0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#252Theme(Jam)3.71
#283Innovation(Jam)3.39
#309Humor(Jam)2.95
#382Mood(Jam)3.30
#423Fun(Jam)3.27
#431Overall(Jam)3.35
#533Graphics(Jam)3.35

Comments

Draft says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:38am

Great game. Well realized. It's a good idea.

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:44am

Nice game! Turned out to pretty difficult (and occasionally very simple when the shapeshifter appears in a previously completely empty space). I like the idea - good work.

Somnium says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:15am

Nice idea, I loved the concept!

The object descriptions was a nice touch.

Mr MadCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:20am

Simple idea, but I like the realization.

PulsorHD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:14am

The game seems fun, but I couldn't finish it, because when I moved graphics seemed to glitch, there were some small details that caught my notice like the giant bathtub, but it didin't ruin the gameplay. You nailed the theme, but I think the black out should happen every 30 seconds instead of 60.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:17am

I love the concept.

At first it seemed to me very difficult. I like also the descriptions, it was a nice touch

taviandir says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:16am

Difficult! After 4 attempts I still have no idea how to tell what is the shapeshifter. Maybe I'm too tired after the Jamming ^_^;

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Ha! took me 5 blackouts to catch the little doosh, i memorized the whole house lol pretty fun

kostik1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:33pm

I didn't really understood, what's happening, but playing it was really fun

Karai17 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:31pm

Great game! You could expand this by adding more progression. :)

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:00am

This one is pretty sweet, the mood felt perfect with the investigator's little "backstory" and the creepy music. If you ever make a sequel you could make it more horror-y as the levels progress. Cool job!

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:38am

All in all I like this game. It was really difficult at first because there were so many things in the level that I had to try and memorize but I did eventually notice something out of place and caught the monster!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:54am

HE WAS THE BOX THE WHOLE TIME I KNNNNEEEWW ITTTTT

batmanasb says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:38am

Ha, I learned the trick! You have to count all the "groups" in each room. (ex: 2, 2, 1 or 4, 2, 1, 1) And then after the first blackout, just walk by each room to find the disturbance in the pattern[force]!

Suggestions: Some objects stand out too much, like soda in the bathroom! GTFO soda, I know who you are! So maybe try to stick to bland items that fit the theme, like another sponge or something that belongs there. Also, and more importantly, the diagonal movement is broken, which makes scanning each room before the first blackout a little hard. In other words, pressing 2 directional keys at once does something different/unpredictable for each pair of keys.

But these issues are minor for an LDJAM, and the game and concept were really great!

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Really like that you have to memorise everything. Reminds me a little of prop hunt, in a good way. :)
Hard at first but after a few tries I started to get the 'shape shifter' fast! :D

rjhelms says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Really cool! Nice take on the theme - there's been a few games that I've played so far that take things in a similar direction, but this is one of the better executions of it I've seen.

The descriptions of some of the items made me laugh - a good unexpected source of humour for sure.

zookatron says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Really well done! The area was just the right size to be challenging but still possible to track down the enemy. The first time I realized something that I had tracked was missing gave a great "Wait... THAT WAS THE SHAPESHIFTER!" moment! Overall very easy to learn, understand and play, great game!

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Enjoyed playing this a lot! Nice the way it randomises every new game so you can play repeatedly :)

marod says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Nice game!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:34am

Huh. Found this game to be pretty easy: I figured out what was the shape-shifter within one blackout on the second play-through.

I think the core concept is pretty good. Personally, I thought it was a little too simple, and could use some help extending the idea with more elements. I also wasn't a big fan of the strictly-top-down-view, as it made it harder to discern certains objects from any abstract shape. A more old-school Zelda-like perspective would have helped.

I really loved the text on each individual object. They're silly, but do a whole lot to give the game some personality. Think I got too distracted with it when I played the first time.

kwmx says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:40am

Hello everyone, we at Entropy Developments would like to thank you for all of your feedback. They were all helpful and motivating for us to work more on this game. We did fix some issues that were really important to us. The game might be a bit more difficult to some players. The very obvious object issues has been resolved in V2. Please do note that V1 is the jam version and rating should be based on V1. However, after you rate and would like a bit more taste of a more polished game V2 would be the answer.

Note: we estimate that around V3 everything will be polished and UI will be fixed with some more issues that we are aware of.

Steven Pinto says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:36am

Well the idea is definitely original and iI like how every item is detailed, good work on the art and music too :D
But the only thing I fell is it lacks feed back and that is a bit of a piss off :/
Overall its a good game and all the best (:

Gjarble says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Very neat! I love the concept, and the difficulty feels balanced (aside from the obvious-object problem, which you appear to have already fixed).

masterkrepta says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Really enjoyed this. I was able to find it after 3 blackouts. I loved the music, it set the mood perfectly. My only real dislike was the brown character outfit on top of the brown floor was kind of distracting, but it didn't ruin the experience for me.

cheshire says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Cool but little bug with Linux version

Khaoz_Fang says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]