Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Critter Creation

by edgeofcode - Jam Entry

CRITTER CREATION

You are a mad professor in need of a lab assistant/companion. Being the unbalanced genius that you are, you’ve decided to cook one up in your lab. Guided by the voice in your head, point and click to create your critter. Be mindful of your decisions, or your critter might end up a monster!

Most of the graphics are made by us, but a couple are from pixabay.com, and most of the audio is from freesound.org

Follow us on Twitter
@edgeofcode
@gwenhyver

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#48Humor(Jam)3.88
#226Theme(Jam)3.74
#253Mood(Jam)3.50
#257Innovation(Jam)3.44
#402Overall(Jam)3.38
#453Fun(Jam)3.24
#601Graphics(Jam)3.21

Comments

serp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:39am

I get an error when trying to view the webgl app.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50am

Cute little game

lanestp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:55am

Neat little game. I'm amazed by the amount of content you put into this game. There's a lot of genuine cleverness in this game. Awesome!

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:06am

@serp Not sure why you got an error - which browser are you using?

serp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:25am

got it working after restarting my browser. After hard work the critter I put my heart and joy into turned out pure evil xD gj

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Nice game! I made a cute little monster haha. Good work!

docteurSid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Nice cute game :3 pretty impressive content !

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Nice game. It is really fun to play! Good job.

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Fun little game. Not the most innovative mechanics ever but you really used them to it's full potential. Great job!

ragnta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Cute monsters :) Nice game :)

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Very fun critter creator! :D The writing was fun and even though I assume you didn't make the audio yourself (as it's not in the rating) the sounds fitted really well and were timed right.

I can't think of anything negative to say so great job! ;)

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:47pm

Nice! I like the idea! Good work.

3rdChance says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:48am

It entertained me. Nice dialogue ;)

terryg says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:43am

I saw Molpe the first Siren's youtube video of your game and had to play. I LOVE the amount of content you put into this. It is very fun and well written. The graphics are great. Nice entry. Very funny.

Molpe says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Hello, hi! Yeah, I played, recorded, loved it! I alway enjoy games where I can play as a mad scientist ^^

Here is my let's play: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rq7gAVMGGJQ

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Nice little Game:)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]