Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Skate Shifter

by Chaoslab - Jam Entry

Skate Shifter!

Left Click and/or Drag on the Balloons to get more Skate Boards.

Left Click and/or Drag on the Butterfly's to Spawn Shapes.

Right Click to Spawn Skate Board's which are used to shift shapes which are collected once off screen.

Takes a few moments for Butterfly's to Spawn which will first appear as a Caterpillar the turns into a Chrysalis

DANGER! Colored ground tiles will destroy Skate Boards of the same color (once).

The Level is complete after clicking on enough Butterfly's and collecting the resulting Shapes with Skate Boards.

Pro-tip! Placing the mouse over a Chrysalis and keeping the left button down before it spawns is a good way to instantly turn the resulting Butterfly into a Shape.

Require JAVA! (No sound on iOS, play the .ogg file in VLC)

Solo effort - Code, Pixel Art and Music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#396Audio(Jam)3.15
#447Humor(Jam)2.63
#575Innovation(Jam)3.00
#784Graphics(Jam)2.93
#804Mood(Jam)2.74
#987Fun(Jam)2.50
#1011Overall(Jam)2.70
#1037Theme(Jam)2.41

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:01pm

On Windows 7, running run_game.bat briefly brings up some windows but then crashes.

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:17am

@Thunderous Echo - Stable version uploaded. Let me know how it goes.

I wrote it and run it on Windows 7.

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:25am

Ok Found an Error. Game is not loading outside of my Dev system. Working on it and will post soon as it is fixed.

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:21am

Found the Error and Debugged it. Fixed version is live.

Also tested and runs on Windows 10.

corupta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:59am

The game is kinda weird at first, but makes kinda sense later on. Also, liked the music.

MatLab says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:12am

I didn't understand anything XD

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:29am

I had to read the description before and after to play to undertand it xD.

Is kinda funny to see all this balloons and skates having no idea what to do with them. Once I got it everything made sense.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:35am

This has an interesting mix of mechanics. Since the player can just hold down the left mouse button and then move the mouse to turn bugs into shapes, you could remove the need to hold the left mouse button at all -- just let the player move the mouse around and press right click whenever they want a skateboard.

I also enjoyed the art and music, nice work!

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:32am

@Corupta - Thanks. One my new favorite tracks.

@Matlab - I updated the readme.txt and entry description text to be a bit more informative.

@sarayCow - Its all about shifting shapes on skates.

@TheMeorch - You are welcome. Nothing like see that first shape go flying off the screen on a skate board.

Once again thank you for your feed back. :-)

caelanrp says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:09am

This is one of the more esoteric entries I've played so far. I actually love games like this with little to no direction, my entry is the same way. It was a lot of fun figuring out what on earth was going on.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:42am

so many balloons! I dont know what the heck I Was doing, but i was winning and boards and shipping symbols or something off to the symbol board factory!

KodingNights says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:04am

Well that was chaotic :-)

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Understanding the game initially is very hard. It took me a while to understand that you were supposed to ship off the shapes. I have no idea how the shapes come into existence. It also doesn't feel very rewarding.

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:46pm

@caelanrp Thanks. I like it old school as well and think that is a core part of Ludum.

@namrog84 :-) Thanks man. Off to the factory with it!

@KodingNight Well I am Chaoslab.

@Kuality-Games Click on the Butterflys which then drop a Shape (symbol). Then just fire a Skate Board at it. :-)


Again thanks for the feed back, considering doing a tutorial image to help people out a bit with how to play the game and what is going on (And make it the first preview image of the entry).

taviandir says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:21am

Im gonna have to echo MatLab, "I didn't understand anything XD"

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:09am

First very confusing but after a minute I fugred it out.
But does it never stop? Think I came up to level 5 until I gave up. :3

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:11am

@taviandir Click the butter flys to get shapes, and click Balloons (left drag is easiest) to get Skate Boards that you Fire and the Shapes which then get shifted off screen.

@ZpeedTube The game has 10 levels. :-)

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:20am

Nice cute sprites.Its bit hard at first but its fun after sometime. Keep it up!

jonask says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:05am

This is too chaotic.

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:22pm

@MayankUnreal Sure is fun. Did you finish all 10 levels.

@Jonak Try running the game slowed down ( run_slow.bat ) or if you need it slower run at the command line like this.
java LD delay:20

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Well that was trippy. I'm not sure what I was doing (I understood how to play), but balloons to skateboard, butterflies to shapes, was a confusing choice of game design to say the least. It was interesting, and I do like the music, but did get repetitive after a while. I was also funny to spawn a hundred skateboards at once and watch them go nuts on the level.

Strike says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:39am

This is some crazy game XD

Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:49am

This was like a crazy acid trip, I have no idea what was going on, but I kinda liked it. :D

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:53pm

@dalbinblue "spawn a hundred skateboards at once". I love doing that too! It is the best way to get through level #8.

@Strike Thank you very much!

@Brian_Mayberry Awesome! That was the plan! I like to make abstract creations in Ludum Dare as it is a medium to explore, might as well leave the beaten path a wee bit.

Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:14am

I really like the music :)

IDidGame says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:31pm

had a lot of fun playing this one
even though playing it i kept thinking...why skateboards? why balloons? why do the butterflies turn into geometric shapes?
it's weird but has a kind of oldschool-nonsensical-charme about it, its a game after all, no need to justify everything

Chaoslab says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:05am

@davidcmcdonald Thanks. Slowly getting my 3rd album together (Chaoslab on bandcamp).

@IDidGame Shape Shifting is the inspiration. Skate shifter is the pun title joke. The Butterflys are shape shifter's which spawn Shapes when clicked on. The Skate boards then Shift the Shapes (off the screen). So its all Shape Shifting really.

Louspirit says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:14am

There were too much and too quick information for my eyes. My head is turning, really. Good job on the pixel art and music.

Chaoslab says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:34pm

@Louspirit Thanks. Had fun making the art and music for the game. It can be slowed down by running the run_game_slow file. Can also be slowed down from the command line with the parameter delay: e.g.
Java LD delay:25

pixelpotions says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Had great fun playing your game! It's almost psychedelic, the music fit the game very well. Solid entry!

MintArcade says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Nice music. Hard to understand, but once I got it - everything became fun all of the sudden. Cool game

voxel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:50am

Glorious. Kid and I liked this one a lot, despite a minimal comprehension of what was happening. Chaos. Tried to do a LP but obs didnt like the java window and cropped it funny https://youtu.be/TYUmb7a40W4

Chaoslab says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:55am

@pixelpotions Thank you!

@MintArcade It is fun when it all clicks!

@Voxel thanks for the video! Glad you and your boy enjoyed yourselves. :-)

Chaoslab says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 3:13am

Thanks everyone. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]