Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Henkan Pachinko

by AnaGF - Jam Entry

Make the ball reach the golden box at the bottom!

Instructions:
Click on boxes to change its shape between square and triangle.
On each level you have a limited number of shifting moves.
When your boxes are ready, launch the ball!
If you get stuck or you lose the ball, retry!

Good luck!

Credits:
Developed by Ana Guillen Fernandez & Manuel Guillen Fernandez

Ana: Art, Programming, Game Design
Manuel: Art, Game design, Audio Hunting

Music:
"DIYTechNOOO" by mathgrant
"Oceans a Return" by Gonzalo Varela
"Electric Donkey Muscles" by RoccoW

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#253Fun(Jam)3.46
#444Overall(Jam)3.34
#542Humor(Jam)2.44
#549Innovation(Jam)3.05
#555Theme(Jam)3.34
#584Graphics(Jam)3.25
#638Mood(Jam)2.98

Comments

Marcellus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:36pm

4 levels only and ... AN ADD BEFORE YOU CAN PLAY THE GAME ? What the hell guys !

Game is nice, too short but nice, too bad we can't rate the music it was the best part.

It's the first time I see adds before playing a ludum entry.

Here is an enlarge your penis pic to support my comment.

http://www.virilityex.net/images/buy/virility-ex.jpg

AnaGF says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Thanks for the comment. Ads removed, Gamejolt puts ads on all games by default, forgot to quit them

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:50pm

Great use of the theme, the game mechanics works pretty nice, maybe this would create a good mobile game, because is very simple and addictive, good job.

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Funy game ! Gg

Linver says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:47pm

You should, I think,
1. Make ingame background and textures moar monotonous, but moar contrast - it slow level decide.
2. Add new shape switchers or interactive objects - moar and moar boxes is bad idea.
3. Try to reach 5-9 objects on one pizzle. (by human's short memory size)

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Music was quite good. Background art was good. I actually enjoyed the game. I did want more levels, but it's LD, so I understand. Really, if problem is that four levels isn't enough, that's a good sign IMHO. I actually think it was max fun.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:43pm

Clever idea! Very nice

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:06am

Nice idea. I liked the visuals and the music.

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:15am

Neat and fun!

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:18am

Game is short, music is great, and I don't know why, but it reminds me of Peggle.

ceosol says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:52am

That was a really fun physics game. Nice job!

cabezotta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:37am

Fun game! Very simple but effective use of the theme!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:05am

Thanks for the comments and votes!
Some of the ideas you have posted are really good, maybe I could develop this further and design more levels.

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:29am

Good looking game, loved the music

monaarc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:37am

MORE LEVEL PLEASE ! It's too short !
I noticed something disturbing when you shift back to the initial shape of a plateform it's considered like a shift, so you have to click on "retry" and restart all the configuration you made.

The graphics and music are cooooooool :)

Now add more kind of plateforms and levels with 2, 3, 4, 5 balls and this will be a very nice mobile game !

AnaGF says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:00pm

I had not enough time to make more levels, but I may upload a post-jam version some day or another!

Kinth says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Fun little game, a refreshing take on the theme. I love the background image on the machines.

It is a little too short and a it easy but an idea with a lot of potential.

Fumiko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:20pm

I like the background texture, really nice

Rafos Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:37pm

I like how you use the theme, it's fun. I hope you update the game with more levels.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Vibrant and cute! The choice of music was really good; puzzle games like this need rather driving music to keep the energy up.

Adipson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:02am

nice ambiant and atmosphere ! nice work

Rakowu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:29am

Funny and nice game. Good engine and logic. Best part was when I had to retry becouse of that:

http://imgur.com/gallery/fLQWgZC/new

Good job :D

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:00pm

Nice screenshot. Sometimes shit happens.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:07pm

Pretty fun game! Though I will say it was a bit easy for me XD Some levels I was able to win with a few shifts left. Overall, good, fun game!

Anikki says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Simple but enjoyable.

Crosstales says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:50pm

The game is nice and looks polished!
Good work!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:41am

Pretty fun, but much too short.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:30am

Looks very polished, had fun playing it! Well done.

joemid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:46am

Beat the game- I could keep going!

mrStrings says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:53am

Hello! Loved the octopus drawings :)
The puzzle design is interesting even though it's rather simple. Would be awesome if you expanded it into more levels to see how deep the concept can be (I'm curious about it).

By the way, what does the title mean?

Also, sorry for the merchandising, but just in case you are interested in playing our game and find nothing in my profile, that's because it's in my teammate's account.
You can check WolfBit here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:22am

Thanks for the comments!
Well, about the title... Pachinko is a japanese gambling game, where a small ball falls in something simillar to a pinball. It is a completely random game, but we thought it could be nice a game that consists on changing a Pachinko's obstacles, so we decided to keep the reference.
Henkan means something similar "to transform". The truth is we tried lots of titles, and maybe "Henkan Pachinko" isn't coherent on japanese (because we don't know japanese), but sounded good and had some relation with the game.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:54am

Neat little puzzler.. could be better with more levels and mechanics..

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:08am

Really enjoyable - great mood and a simple but sweet concept. The difficulty curve of the puzzles was pitched just right. You could make a nice full game from this basis. Good work!

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:32am

Makes me think of the countless hours I spent playing Peggle - big compliment! I like that you removed something usually so essential to this type of game ("the randomness") and I did not think anything was missing at all. I'd play more of it. The UI could have used more work to make the game feel more polished.

hregrin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Nice game, cute graphics, simple controls. What's more to ask? Great job :)

bar0net says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:58pm

Curious little puzzler. Very original

celia14 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Fun and cute! Too bad there's not more levels, I was just starting to get addicted. :)

luquio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:32pm

nice use of physics and the shapeshift of the boxes! I would suggest to make the number of shifts availables a Little more visible cuz i discovered it on level 3, maybe should read carefully the description haha

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:10am

Fun game. Would have loved to see more levels but a solid entry nonetheless.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:26am

simple but really effective

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:13am

Great! I would love to see more levels, the game ends when things are turning interesting. I see a lot of potential here.

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:51am

Nice puzzle and surprisingly challenging. I love the background painting too :)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:14am

Really a great game!!

Nice art, great music and clever puzzles. Would be wonderful if there are more levels, I'd play all, but great job guys! ^_^

KitsuDev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:07am

i love the game and the art, is not so hard but i enjoyed the game a lot!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:28am

Quite simple but well executed! Some levels I could solve them without using all my shifts, I'd like it to be a little more demanding in that aspect haha. But it's a game really easy to understand and you can play it with very little explanation, that's a victory on design already. Way to go!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Short but well made game, nice idea for the theme. Maybe for a second version you can add new mechanics or feature that stop/change de movement of the ball. Also, for a new version look for other music: after a while it's pretty annoying for a puzzle-game. Good job!

Naca says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Nice entry. Simple yet effective mechanic. I think it could be easily expanded by adding some levels and increasing their complexity. Even a level editor could be implemented... y'know, give the community the tools and they'll do the work. Well, maybe I'm looking away too much :D

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Great and easy to understand concept. You have done a great job.
I think there are few easy things you can change in order to inprove the gameplay:

1 - Posibility of undo a shapeshift and recover a movement. It turns a bit tedious to have to restart an entire level because of a mistake.
2 - More levels. It's known that there is not enough time in a game jam for including many levels but you can take it into account for a post-jam version.
3- And if it is that the case: Try to include different materials (ice, sand...) with different behaviours.

JoseArias says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Muy buen juego, bastante entretenido y aunque no haya muchos niveles se capta la idea y lo que puede llegar a ser.

Muy buen trabajo :)

Xanjos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:54pm

You can actually pass the last two levels using just one shift but other than that this was pretty fun to play and would definitely love to see some more levels.

axoona says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:12pm

short but interesting, there's a good potential if you add some more levels.
I really liked the graphics

jakkarn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Good music, just enough challenging to make it fun. With many levels it would be a nice and addicting game, especially as a mobile app!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Nice concept. Was a bit too easy because there wasn't much variety

Fonserbc says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Even though there are not many levels, I enjoyed the design of those. They made me smile :)

Buen trabajo!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Interesting mechanic and nice art/music. I'd like to see more elements than just boxes that turn into triangles, like things you have to rotate or circles that turn to ovals, etc. Some pachinko ringing style sound effects would really add to it too.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:22pm

My daughter Jasmine played your game and loved it!! She was able to finish all the levels and had no problems with the controls!!! She said your art was amazing!!!! Fantastic job

Ithildin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:35am

Nice idea! Levels were well thought of, you need to add more!

Graphics are a bit trickier to rate, the background drawing and the materials alone are good, but the mix feels a bit odd.

Good entry, congrats!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:43am

Lovely little pachinko game. Nice simple use of shapeshift. Cute yet really nice art.

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:59am

When I was kid I played similar games. It's very fun! I love the background :D

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Nice entry, a little bit too short, the music is great, it's a cool idea overall, good job :)

Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Really good game, simple and addictive. I felt sad when i completed all levels hahaha. Nice work ^^

APantaloni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Short but enjoyable puzzle game. I'd love to see this developed further

pjimmy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Nice, clever game

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Nice work on this! I like how the solutions are rarely what you'd first thing when looking at each level.
It would be a nice feature to be able to see which blocks have been shifted. And of course I'd love to see more levels!

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Hey I really enjoyed this, I only wish it was longer :)
Some sort of scoring might of been nice and if you could come up with a way to randomly generate the layouts would be really cool but always leave your fans wanting more I guess :)

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Enjoyable puzzle game! Funny songs, fit the game mood. Keep it up!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:20am

Very nice idea and graphics!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:28am

awww I was hoping for more levels

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:33pm

I like the idea.

The graphics and music are good. Physics works well. Sometimes I have the feeling that the levels could have been thought out a little better. For instance, I was able to complete the last one with two balls left.

All in all, a solid entry. Maybe you can polish a bit and release it on an app store?

Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:33am

Just about the perfect entry. Nailed all the categories, and there's really only nit-picks to make about the details, solid entry.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:45am

Surprisingly addictive!

Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:40am

Good physics puzzler, the mechanics works well and the execution is nice. The graphics and especially background image is eye-candy and the audio fits the rest of the entry well. Enjoyed it a lot and played until the end, you could add more levels without any problems I think.

ployer says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:22am

fantastic. I would add, if you click on the same object it shouldn't count as using a shift. clicking it again would be like an undo. great concept, alot of potential. add more levels with some other shapes and this could be great

Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:42am

Great game. Well done. Reminds me of the old game "The Incredible Machine".

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:48pm

simple mechanic. would like to see more to it, like scoring if you didn't use all shifts, etc. keep fleshing this one out more and you may have something here

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Great game! Love the music! Keep up the good work!

Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Very short game, I think the mechanics were too basic to make more levels, it would get repetitive and unexciting quickly, maybe add different shapes or multiple balls. Over all pretty good. I liked the music too it suits the game.

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Nice to play! Would have loved to try more levels with increasing dificulty, thanks!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:55am

A bit short but it is pretty fun. A variety of different types of blocks could make it a good candidate for a full project.

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:32am

Good game, although a little too easy. The music was really good, but too fast for a contemplative game like this. I also liked the graphics.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:58am

Yours right there is a GREAT puzzle. And your musician did an AWESOME job on the soundtrack, this is easily one of my favorite entries so far :D

Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:00am

Viendo los créditos os contesto en castellano :). Me parece que habéis aprovechado muy bien la jam para terminar sacando un producto nuevo. Nos agrada mucho la idea y os animo a continuarla. Único tip es que resulta curioso que se pueden acabar las pantallas con menos intentos de los que se ofrecen, se comprende porque es un juego de jam y no hay tiempo para afinar. Pero pensad simplemente en poner un sistema de estrellas 1-2-3 para que el jugador lo termine y para que se autoexija a posterior a completarlo del modo optimo. Un saludo, enhorabuena por completar el juego.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Interesting idea! I like it... it's simple and funny. Perfect to play in the metro! ;-)

OrangePop says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:54am

This satisfies that human need to play more Pachinko. Nice job

flummox3d says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:17am

Really liked the puzzles, solved two of them without using all available shifts. The music is really catchy. Nice work! :)

Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:41pm

80 is maximum points to get Innovation: 4/10 Fun: 6/10
Theme: 5/10
Graphics: 6/10
Audio: 5/10
Humor: 0/10
Mood: 0/10
Coolness: 5/10
Overall: 31/80
Good Game

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Good arcanoid with limited platform shifting.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:07am

Nice pachinko :)

KairosXIII says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:03am

Clever puzzle game, nice take on theme. Love the art in the background.

medidog says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 5:48am

Short and really nice game, would be much better if shapeshifting could vary in terms of just block to triangle. Right now, everything feels like it is average, but normally the game has a better potential than what it is right now. Overall, great achievement!

Uson Chen says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:08pm

It's pity that the background "animal" is just a background~

abuzreq says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Nice game,you need to add more levels though !
Also could add things like two balls from multiple sources,
and a bonus if the player managed to win a level while saving some of the shape shifts.
The music was good and so was the art.

josemwarrior says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:24am

Veamos... el juego ha sido divertido, lo suficiente para no despegarme de el, y olvidarme de todo hasta que me lo he pasado. Así que objetivo cumplido para una jam. :D

Quizá el "tema" no ha sido demasiado original. Puesto que he visto varios juegos usar esta misma idea, pero en este caso esta muy bien ejecutado.

Cosas que me han gustado:
- La elección de la música.
- El dibujo del pulpo, y el diseño de todos los elementos, parece una maquina de verdad.
- El diseño de niveles ha sido lo suficientemente inteligente para jugar con mi inteligencia.

Cosas que no me han gustado:
- Muy corto :D (Pero no es exigible puesto que es una jam y no se puede pedir más.)
- El tutorial, el texto esta semitransparente, no indica bien como jugar, me ha costado entenderlo.

Cosas que me gustaría ver en un futuro:
- Muchísimos mas niveles. :DD
- El fondo de la maquina animado, con 2 o 3 frames.
- Efectos de sonido.
- Cuando la bola toque un elemento que este se encienda. Emita luz y sonido.
- Mas elementos de coordinación, como bloques que se muevan.
- Que por donde tiene que caer la bola forme parte del decorado de la mesa, como la boca de un monstruito o algo así.

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:08am

The game is really nice, the level design is really clever too. It's a shame the game's short :<, more levels would make it even better! :)

Gotta say I like the graphics and the simple, direct-to-the-point, mechanics. It makes playing simple, fun and more open to everyone. ;)

Needs more levels! :P

euske says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:03am

I wish it had more levels.

RealityCheck says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Nice but short game. Kinda wish there were a few more levels. Also, it wasn't clear which way the ramp would go sometimes, as I wanted it to go one way, but it turned out to go the other so I had to retry. On one of the levels we had three shifts available, but I only did one and that was all that was needed. I don't know if that was by default, or I just found an exploit. Still it was fun while it lasted.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:46pm

full of brainwave power!very interesing!
it let me remind a old game which i play when i was a child, and the how great the decorative art,everything was fit together much innovation and harmony! espically the break down of the sense of rhythm,very cool and fantastic.
( third level & final level are the most cool level i feel,all not to hard but fun enough)

AnaGF says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:18am

Thank you all for the votes and feedback!
It has helped us to learn a lot. We have enjoyed this LD, we are thinking about making a post-jam version, though we have not much time.
Ratings are good, we thought we had worse results since this edition has had a really good level, when I was trying and voting I rarely found a game which rating should be less than 3 stars. Thanks to all the people who played and voted :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]