Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shift City

by TLansdale - Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#112Fun3.69
#130Graphics3.84
#135Overall3.69
#165Innovation3.66
#266Humor2.78
#321Mood3.12
#351Theme3.53
#508Audio2.57

Comments

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:24am

Nice game :D Graphics were really solid. I recommend making your game go on windows, linux, and mac as well as web.

mennchen22 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:24am

Like this Game , great work and nice tiles!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Loved this game. Death can be very frustrating when you forgot to connect just one tile while trying to please this bastard duke.

Some requirements can't be fulfilled, like the ratcaller when your city contains only 3 tiles of slums.

That's a great game and I found myself play a bit longer than I should.

Very good entry.

AnotherZero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:15pm

Very nice game

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:04pm

The ratcatcher is a weird one because he only spawns when you have 6+ slums and satisfying him quickly upgrades your slums to villas - so he may actually make himself impossible to please!

If I had more time, I'd definitely have put time in to try to make sure you always had something new to do every round, and you could always please all of your visitors. Even so, the "core path" of key visitors are the only ones who will win/lose the game for you so it should always be winnable if you focus on them.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:05pm

i like the concept of this puzzle game and the little building look adorable, however it really stressed me out, just not the game for me. but it is unique and should definitely not go unnoticed. 7/10

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Very nice idea! I like it. I tryed few times, but this is hard. Kind a like puzzle with time limit. Tiles are very vel done. Solid entry!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:37pm

I really liked this game, but I found some conditions impossible to complete, like the artist kept spawning on tiles with two road, but wanted to be connected to four

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Really cool concept. I had a hard time knowing what I was supposed to do about visitor satisfaction at first but once I figured that out it became a pretty cool little puzzle game.

cgriff says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:06pm

I hate the Royal Poet! But, demanding artists aside, great game. It is revoltingly polished and feature rich.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:18pm

It seem to be hard work. And in 48h make that is really grate. Different and interesting.Also good explanation. well done.

ceosol says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Thanks for the feedback on my game. I'll try out your's in a little bit :)

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Wow, a lot of work went into this and it looks great. I wish I was better at playing it :) Definitely one to come back to.

Wevel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Great game, seemed a bit odd at the end of a level as lots of people arrived and the left again

Wirdo91 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Awesome little game, though at one point i had the royal bard, but only 2 gardens and the palace, so he couldn't be happy

Gemberkoekje says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:26pm

That was intense. Sometimes it was a little confusing what I was supposed to do. I had the artist on a piece with 2 road connections, and he wanted to see 4 towers or gardens? But I only have 2 road connections? Maybe you can resolve this by a little tutorial or a little diagram.

Other than that it could be nice if you could add a little text to each tile what kind of tile it is, and then maybe turn it on or off with a shortcut, so you don't need to guess/check from your description which is which.

All in all a solid entry.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:35pm

well Tlansdale.. IF that is your real name. This was a solid entry that was super fun to play. I am impressed. Keep up the good work!

tayl1r says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Nice stuff!

A bit too easy, I guess.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:09pm

It took me a while to get a good initial setup, but was awesome to see the range of people and the things they say. Controls were solid and lovely clean gwafix!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Had a few tries before I got the hang of it. I pleased 2 inhabitants, then it got too hard.

The graphics are real nice and simple, just as it should be!
And you have a real nice and innovative idea!

Great game!

Hope you had a fun time making it =)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Really really neat. The interface is a bit difficult to read, specially telling what the sides of a tile are. However,the core of the game is extremely good (if a bit reminiscent of Carcassone). The gameplay loop is compelling and I felt satisfied by completing each task. One thing I would do is focus on an algorithm that made the game more challenging as you went, since often situations would resolve themselves or require one change, then boom massive ovehaul.
Oh, and as a red/green colourblind person I should point out that I had a great deal of trouble telling satisfied citizens from unsatisfied ones.

Great job!

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Sorry for the red/green unreadability, nintendoeats! Do you know if there are commonly-accepted high contrast colours to go for as an alternatives in the future?

Thanks all for your comments.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:00am

Pretty decent puzzle game. Took me awhile to understand what was happening, but not too bad after a few go's.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:59am

I had a problem with the artist who wanted 4 gardens but I only had 3. This was a lot of fun though and I keep playing it! Make this a real game!

Asturk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:41am

Very good game! just got little confused with of how or to put the tiles of some visitors in town, i think any tutorial for these visitors was kinda missing. But good job, i really liked the idea of building the city there!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:01pm

NIce game, but i couldn't satisfy the artist and the architect at the same time

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:22pm

I really loved your game, very simple in it's execution, but a really involving and somewhat nerve wracking puzzle game! The introduction of multiple visitors at once was fantastic, especially when some of them had very similar wishes.

I also really liked how when the tiles had a side that wasn't joined up that there was feedback to inform the player, however the reason I lost was I couldn't see what tile wasn't connected to another one, my bad.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]