Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Experiment

by Oliver_MB - Jam Entry

This is a experiment for Ludum Dare 35.

I'm not programmer.
I'm not graphic artist.
I'm a musician who has made a game.
An unusual game.

You will love it or hate it.
But I don't care.
I've done alone!

@Oli_mus

[There is more than one possible end]

Simultaneously, I composed music for:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=22111

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#117Humor(Jam)3.53
#498Audio(Jam)2.93
#743Mood(Jam)2.83
#827Innovation(Jam)2.70
#967Fun(Jam)2.54
#1021Graphics(Jam)2.29
#1119Theme(Jam)1.90
#1130Overall(Jam)2.48

Comments

mard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:48pm

I dont understand what is going on here

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03pm

What...wait...WHAT?

I still don't know whether I loved or hated this gam,e. But I lol'd trying to figure it out.

Interesting entry

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:26pm

I really like, is a bit different :)

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Stupid sexy Oliver.

KappaIX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Aaaaaaargh! You made a game alright man... I'm going to digest this for a bit.

Well done!

docteurSid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Awesome !

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:32pm

This does not fit the technical definition of a game. There is no goal and the player has no basis for making decisions. Ok, that's fine, I'm down with art pieces for LD. I made one for my first LD in fact. But this didn't appear to be trying to make me think about anything. So the question is...why did you spend time making it and why did I spend time playing it?

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:58pm

During the game i was like "wtf?"
When I quit I was lmao.
Well done!

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:49pm

I can't believe this, it blew my mind literally

o________________________O

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Our mortals minds are not ready for this game... Incredible!! Seriously, I really like the game's humor :)

ployer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:52am

well that was something... good job making a game by yourself. not sure what just happened, but good job anyway lol

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Definitely a weird "experiment"!

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Brilliant.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:42pm

I'M GOING I'm still laughing!!! Very nice

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Mmmh ok well... for sure it was different ;)

macronoid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Dude, you are really crazy xD

You are right, this is uber weird but it put a smile on my face from the beginning to the end and that's quite something ;)

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:18pm

I have to admit, your "game" is indeed weird! Nevertheless, you seem to DO know code ;-) Keep working and someday you will be able to make less weird and more interactive games! :P And hey, you at least got me to try out every option, ha!

Would be great if you check out our game as well!

Venneque says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:34pm

I feel ... experimented LOL (don't hit me q.q)
Anyway, humour is here, so I guess that makes the day.
No, clearly, I expected a more complex system of wtf question/answer, I'm rather disappointed because it could have been so much better with a little more :(
As expected the audio is 5/5 xd

AnaGF says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:22pm

I laughed ot hard, man. VERY HARD.
Since you used Fungus, I think one improvement to the game would be to add some sort of "consequences" to the choices. Maybe a little side story. Not much, because it can become a real design madness, but when I finished the first thing I wanted was to try again to see if I could have other talks! So my opinion it is that would be something technically easy (but challenging in design).

Well, I liked it. You have been brave to trying it alone!

celia14 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Weird, interesting, and made me laugh. Also weird. :)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:58pm

That was... surreal, haha. Very unique take on the theme.
Love the menu music, by the way.

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:03pm

A quirky little game that is oozing with humour.

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:18am

Kinda funny, Kinda weird.
The music was nice, but it only lasted a little while so I'm gonna drop a star.
That first game(and music) actually seemed pretty interesting. Especially the music.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]