Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Punter

by Obvious_San - Jam Entry

Instructions:

Kill an infinite onslaught of monsters.
Every monster has a specific weakpoint and is vulnerable to specific weapon types.

KEYBOARD Controls:
Q - Mantis arm
W - Elephant arm
E - Crab arm

GAMEPAD Controls:
A - Mantis arm
X - Crab arm
B - Elephant arm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#78Humor(Jam)3.73
#445Graphics(Jam)3.50
#470Innovation(Jam)3.15
#485Mood(Jam)3.17
#704Fun(Jam)2.93
#776Theme(Jam)3.00
#842Overall(Jam)2.93

Comments

bluszcz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Looks nice, but bug... BTW works with Linux Chromium :)

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Great entry. This is probably the game I've played the longest so far. So kudos for that! The cleverly placed hints were great. You really should make more content for this one.

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Wheeeeye?! :D
Interesting little game, and nice execution. Seems a bit easy for me 1400 points and could have got more. Funny game! :)

Pusty says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Nice sounds and visuals! Had fun playing it! :D

cudabear says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:24pm

This game looks, feels, and sounds great. It's really interesting to try and figure out what the weakness of each monster is, both location and type of attack. The only real complaint I have about this game is that it feels a bit unforgiving, and it's easy to die several times upon encountering a new enemy before killing them. After that, not much changes the next time you encounter them. I made it to 900 points! Well done.

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:39pm

pretty cool! i liked the mechanic

lanestp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Reminds me of a streamlined punch-out. I think this one is pretty cool. The tells were a little tough at first but there seems to be some logic and consistency to it. Good job!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Simple idea but great execution :D I really like the enemy designs ;) I might have to play it some more to get good at it.

Robber says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:38pm

epic fighting game with instant cult status! it needs some special moves, my high score 125!

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:39pm

This is little creepy, but concept is nice.

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Oh noes, your game is not azerty friendly at all XD think about it next time! Cool graphics though :)

xandy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:45pm

very funny and entertaining take on the theme and nice work with the intro! the game feedback was a bit lacking, maybe add several lives or tips at the beginning what the player did wrong

Drury says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Kinda lacks a difficulty curve, otherwise nice.

The frames should last a bit longer though, it's hard to see what you're even using.

curtamyth says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:35pm

I noticed a minor bug, when you get a game over and restart, your new score is added to the previous scores when showing your final score at the end. Pretty neat little game though, I liked the intro :)

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Really well made game, the gameplay gets a tad bit reptitive but the challenge stays, there's not much going but it feels really satisfying to keep playing, you nailed the RPG feel for sure. Good job!

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Awesome :D

The ui reminds me of Final Fantasy V

Thomas Olsson says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:21am

was interesting to understand, not only what to use, but where to hit on each monsters
after a while, it was repetitive and non challenging but i liked the main core of the gameplay
nice work

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Cool game! The intro is really amazing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]