Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Deershifter

by bluszcz - Jam Entry

Deershifter is a story about a game designer - who after seeing the voting results of his favorite game jam - decided to transform himself (shapeshift) into a deer and payback the voters ;)

Team:
bluszcz - code, audio
ukata - graphics

Our first game made for Ludum Dare.

Game can be playable on any of the platforms:
* Android
* Linux
* Windows
* OSX
* HTML / WEB

The game is using libgdx library.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#122Humor(Jam)3.50
#449Audio(Jam)3.04
#758Graphics(Jam)2.96
#849Mood(Jam)2.65
#1080Fun(Jam)2.27
#1097Innovation(Jam)2.04
#1102Theme(Jam)2.08
#1115Overall(Jam)2.50
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

goodbadokay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Ha-ha, this game describes my life perfectly! :D

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Aw hell yes, the A600 was what all the *really* cool kids had. This would be the perfect deer simulator if you added the ability to shoot the potted plants!

bluszcz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:57pm

We will address potted plants in Deershifter II :) Thanks for having a look!

CtrlAltTea says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:49pm

This is certainly therapeutic, pretty fun too! Now all I need is a work-themed one...

tompudding says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:00pm

It was super slow on Android with only one enemy every now and again, was that intentional?

Mr.Chippy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:04pm

This is relate able.

bluszcz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:19pm

@tompudding thank you for playing :) To answer your question, could you please provide more details regarding the issue.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:02am

At first the cards seemed to not matter, but then I died on level 4 without warning (I think because of them?); I'm not sure why, or what I was supposed to do in regard to their attacks other than shooting them. I also missed a target early on, and had to wait to scroll back through all of level 1, which was pretty frustrating. Nice artwork, and I appreciated the Karateka and other references in the background.

Very silly game. Thanks for putting this together!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:09pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

bluszcz says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:26pm

@Solifuge thanks for dropping by! Kitsch / silliness was our answer for this theme, which we didn't like at all ;)
In sequel we will put references to other games from ludum dare ;) Cheers!

bluszcz says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Also, we wanted other people to experience our frustration ;

blackname says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Simple game but I think that can represent perfectly your frustration and you shared that with me when I miss the first developer of the game and I must wait until the camera reach him again XD

I don't know when the cards hit me, I need more feedback than change my life counter.

Tijn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Congrats on your first LD! The backstory is kind of crazy, so that's cool, haha. The game itself is quite simple, but it works :) It looks & sounds alright, so all in all, good job!

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:10pm

I liked the background music and the sound effects. :)

Somnium says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:29am

Interesting concept, with nice graphics and sound :)

Pretty fun concept too, I can honestly say, that this is the first time I have played a game as a shapeshifted laser-beam-blasting deer on a mission of revenge ;)

Tegu says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:27am

Intensive tapping action! So, the goal is to destroy developers before voters hit them too much? :P That deer really got mad, poor developers. Managed to just get through the game on second attempt with one critical life left and voters around. The music set some nice sci-fi mood along with lasers cutting the air.

However, I don't know what the cards value was, what changed it or what effect it has. I tried to hit the posters on the wall but didn't notice it would have done anything. Anyway, the graphics were polished and had interesting subleties like moving toes. The explosions were also satisfying.

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:15pm

This is a premonition.

I think I will come back to this game after LD is over XD.

Fun game!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:26pm

didnt except a rail shooter, had fun for 2 minutes, did 1146 pt :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]