Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shifter

by milano23 - Jam Entry

Shape Shifter is a racing game. Your speed is controlled by how accurately you choose the shape that was flashed. Guess correctly and shift into high gear and win the race.

Controlls: W, A, S, D = Up, left, down, right.
Mouse turns left or right.

Press W, A, S, D when you see the shape in that direction flash to go faster. Guess incorrectly or not at all and you will be slowed down. Hit anything on the track and you will be slowed down. Good luck!.

Thank you for voting!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#723Humor(Jam)2.03
#1015Mood(Jam)1.95
#1052Innovation(Jam)2.23
#1077Theme(Jam)2.21
#1124Fun(Jam)2.10
#1175Overall(Jam)2.17

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22pm

You have to include the Data_ folder for the game to work. I made this mistake last time :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:32pm

I won, but I do not know how or why?

milano23 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:57pm

The data folder is included. Weird that it did not download for you. Sorry about that.

DRGY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:02pm

You should make tutorial or at least include controls in the description and also you can delete those *.pdb files from windows build.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:10pm

I dont'get it is it for controller only?

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Good game

milano23 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Sorry about that i added a better description, which includes controls. Thank you for voting!

Fierceshadow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Pretty interesting idea, the bots seemed a little buggy at times

homeworld says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Speed seemed to disappear at some point and AI cars a little clueless, take on the theme was a quite literal with the shapes shifting you into higher gear :? had fun winning though, nice game

orukinawa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Nice twist on the theme

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Interesting take on the theme!

tower07 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:25pm

The best part was when I got rear-ended by a bot going at least a bajillion miles per hour!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:25pm

In definite need of a tutorial/set-up and I wish you would have made the 3D models more detailed. I applaud the effort in trying out a new mechanic though.

Jerre says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Very difficult to steer with only mouse. Would've been nicer if the vehicle shifted into the chosen shape. Congrats on finishing a game tho!

allstar602 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:34pm

I enjoyed when the bots started crashing into one another. Nice take on the theme.

Brice says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:46pm

It was pretty frustrating that hitting the walls negated 10+ correct choices and send me back to 10 sped. :-( The racing was fun though!

JALgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:49pm

You don't see racing games often in Ludum Dare, so kudos for making one anyway. The cars (?) feel very floaty though and the game overall has an unfinished feel to it.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:49pm

It's a different interpretation of the theme for sure. It's a bit hard to maintain a high speed, but games are not always meant to be easy :-)

marod says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:39am

Nice game!

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:11am

interesting idea for a game :)))

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]