Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapetrak

by RoadToSalvation - Jam Entry

In Shapetrak you change your shape to fit the track, you dig? Use 1234 or ASDF. Click the button in the top right to quit.

Can you beat the dev highscore of 4274? Play it FULLSCREEN for the full effect!

Programming, Unity Stuffs: Mike Burns
Models & Sprites: Brian Thuringer
Sound: Both

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#125Theme(Jam)3.94
#128Fun(Jam)3.68
#148Audio(Jam)3.68
#260Mood(Jam)3.48
#276Overall(Jam)3.53
#287Graphics(Jam)3.79
#811Innovation(Jam)2.72

Comments

iossif says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:38am

that felt really great. love the music and the graphics!

docteurSid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:44am

I would like to have more variations in the music because it turned me quickly mad

serp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:00am

The game play is solid, but that music is driving me nuts.

matt beckett says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:02am

Perfect!

Crosstales says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:03am

Yeah, a great entry - we did nearly the same ;-)

But was fun and challenging and it looked quite polished.
Good work!

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:37am

Nice! It has a smooth learning curve to it and feels satisfying when you do well on the harder difficulty. I had fun. The music was a missed opportunity, would have preferred an upbeat number to keep me pumped!

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:43am

Looks amazing, awesome visual style. I love all the polish that's been put into it. Gameplay reminds me of those Japanese game shows where the dudes need to fit into the right shape before the moving wall hits them.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:04am

Nice! Very similar to our idea so I loved checking out how you did it. Nice pass through effects!

methodmissing says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Nice job! Had a hard time getting used to looking ahead, not at my shape. Made it into the final stage

Per says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:42pm

A simple idea with awesome implementation. Looks and sounds fantastic.
I would probably make the pitch shift a bit less for the music.

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:12pm

great entry! lot like my compo entry! so thats what ill give all 5 stars haha :D

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:44am

this is a great game, even though i can only do the 3 shapes, i really like this game.

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:53am

Fantastic job. I used the same concept, but your use of color grading (I assume), good UI, and clever "play it again" techniques, like the local high score, are all very, very good additions.

OttersDen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:54am

Simple, but effective. The gameplay is solid and it starts right back up so you can just try and try again.

maartene says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:00am

Kind of like my own game! (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=63679) But executed differently.
In particular I like how the difficulty ramps up by introducing extra shapes over time.
Looks well, plays well, sounds well (the speed-up audio is a cool touch),.

orukinawa says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:49am

I like the atmosphere with the psychedelic colors. Btw nice choices for the shapes (I chose the exact same 4 for my game xD)

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:41am

Very nice little game. The audio in particular was great. Good music and awesome sound effects. I enjoyed this one.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:43pm

I have seen many games like this, but yours is very polished. Effects, colors and sounds are great. The music speed which is modified during a game is a good idea. You have chosen a good perspective so as to clear gameplay. A solid entry. Well done ++

s0wbear says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:16pm

The effects and visuals give that one a really nice feel, good work!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:48am

I've played a couple of variations of this concept so far, but this was the trippiest and most satisfying to play. Very well polished, one of my favorites.

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:56am

Awesome entry!

Really well done arcade game. Congratulations. Interesting and gripping albeit simple gameplay, good music and nothing to complain about the graphics.

The only thing it missed, really, was innovation, BUT...
You were able to give us an incredible, well-polished entry, and that's great.

ragnta says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:11am

Nice game and music, but a little bit fast :)

suurin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:21am

Fast, challenging and addicting. Nice!

Goutye says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:50pm

2436! Solid game, and pretty cool. The only downside is the "pause button" that is located where the new shapes are coming. Otherwise pretty cool sounds/music with the acceleration!

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Great game. Good job.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Nice game! Perhaps music is a tad too repetitive, graphics are well done!

Red15 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:18am

Nice work, the camera was a little shaky and the point of view shifting back a little as you get faster would be nice.

Nice touch with the audio speed increasing as well.
Funny how we got quite similar ideas!

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Fun game. Very juicy and nice to play.

mkghoster says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Wow!

bjorn says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:31am

Fun, solid game play. The audio ramping up with the speed was a nice touch. Addictive, too!

rhastapunk says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:39am

Simple but nice entry, nice music even a bit repettitive after a few minutes

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]